We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pre or Post Cruise stay”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
kamloops
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Pre or Post Cruise stay”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

this was an unexpected stay due to a flight cancellation. I chose this hotel for the price and quality I experienced from my last stay. The rooms in the tower are large, and I splurged for a king room with balcony, very worth it being on the top floor with amazing views. The room is huge, very comfortable king bed, very clean.

I always assumed since it was further from the airport and cruise port the taxi would be more expensive, but not really it was approx $16 usd with tip from the airport. Again, I never take hotel shuttles, even if they are free, I can't be bothered to wait for them, usually 30+ minutes at a time.

I prefer this area to cruise port as you have way more shopping and restaurant options within walking distance, Los Olas Blvd is the place to be.

Room Tip: Any room is great, I feel the rooms with a balcony in the tower have the best view and are worth eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hi Chris!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We're happy you had such a great stay and we truly appreciate the tips to those looking to stay here. We can't wait to see you back and suggest you try Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille for dinner!

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    504
    166
    77
    48
See reviews for
217
563
88
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My family and I stayed here for one night post-cruise. The hotel is lovely - everything I could have wanted. Unfortunately, it rained much of the day (was told by shop keepers it seldom rains in early December!) so we couldn't enjoy our large balcony, the outside patio or the hotel pool. It was pouring much of the afternoon and evening, so didn't get much shopping done on Las Olas Blvd, either. Needless to say, I was extremely disappointed in Mother Nature.
On the positive, the Riverside is clean, calm and convenient. Service was excellent (quick check-in, efficient front desk staff) and dinner at the hotel restaurant was very nice. Our room was large (bathroom was amazing) and I wished we could have stayed a few more days instead of heading back to the frigid north. Will definitely make a point of staying at the Riverside Hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower and the room was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
HI NanaCathy!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We're so sorry Mother Nature was in a bad mood that day but we're thrilled you had a great experience at the Riverside! We can't wait to see you back when there's hopefully a much nicer day outside.

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here Jan 2013 for 1 night before a cruise. I'll never stay at another hotel in Fort Lauderdale! It's right on Las Olas Blvd, which has everything you need - shopping, dining, art galleries, etc. After a great night of wine tasting, we stepped out for breakfast the next day to see Las Olas was totally shut down for an art festival...tons of vendors selling all sorts of beautiful art. It was a great surprise!!!! The room was also great...quiet, clean and comfortable. We also visited the rooftop terrace and enjoyed the gorgeous views at sunset, so many million dollar yacht s and boats to see! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue_asselstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hi Sue!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and got to enjoy the Art Festival on Las Olas! We have to agree, that rooftop view is our favorite in Fort Lauderdale. We cannot wait to see you back and suggest you try our the Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille for dinner!

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is the only hotel on Las Olas Blvd, we stayed here 1 night prior to a cruise because we wanted to be in a location that had restaurants and some night life.

The hotel has large clean quiet rooms with a basic large bathroom (tub & shower). The front desk staff were friendly and efficient (quick check-in). There’s a small convenience store inside the hotel (open until 10:00 p.m.) where you can buy snacks, coke. This hotel recycles plastic and cans.

To access the pool you need to exit out of the back of the hotel, go left across the a quiet street (it sounds far but it’s very close by). You need your room key card to get through the locked gates, to the pool, which is small but it’s surrounded by trees with a view of the waterway and is surprisingly private.

There are lots of restaurants and shops close by but many (not all) close by 10 p.m. on weekdays. The Cheesecake Café is next to the hotel, we had dinner there (nice outdoor patio). The #11 bus runs right down Las Olas Blvd.

The hotel offers a shuttle to Port Everglades for a flat rate of $20, so you don't have to worry if you get stuck in traffic. We left the hotel at 1:00 pm and got to cruise ship terminal entrance in 12 minutes. We arrived at ship port entrance 3 minutes later and got onboard the ship (processed) by 1:35 pm.

This is a great hotel for adults who want dining/nightlife options nearby, staying a couple of days or for a pre/post cruise stop-over.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi Keller3,

Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We love all of your suggestions and are so happy you were able to enjoy the hotel amenities. Next time you visit us we suggest you try our new seafood restaurant, Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille!

We hope to see you back very soon and.. Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDIANA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

what a great hotel ... rite on one of the best streets in Ft Lauderdale!.. excellent service, nice bedding in the newer remodeled tower.
water taxi stop very close to hop on & see the million $ homes on the intercoastal.
would definitely stay here again!
Evis was the driver/taxi to /from port & airport,, good job!

Room Tip: new tower is remodeled.. great service
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DONNAKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi Donna!

Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled you had a wonderful stay and got to experience the Water Taxi! We can't wait to see you back and we hope you have a wonderful Holiday!

Warm Regards,

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We also purchase our hotels early on Booking.com to get special deals. .Always look for 4+ star Hotels .We have always been very happy but this time Riverside Hotel in Ft Lauderdale has changed that Nov.20 to 23/2013. We booked 3 days at the Riverside hotel for 100$ a night. Beautiful Hotel right on a very nice area before we went on our cruise. The young lady at the front desk was surprised at the price. I informed her I purchased a special deal. We were put on the fourth floor in the back, there were about 4 rooms on that floor. It looked like the staff area. Rooms in the dungeon I called them. I went to visit the other floors very nice, not at all like mine.
The room was not very clean, bathroom even worse. 3 star. I will never go back to that Riverside Hotel again and I will advise my friends to keep far away. I was never treated like that before by any other hotel in my life. When a hotel makes a special deals and offers you 5stars they should honor it. very unhappy and disappointed in this hotel.

Room Tip: Never go for their specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi Elaine,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. Your concerns were passed along to our team and we apologize for the inconvenience it caused you. We truly hope you return and we can change your mind with more tailored reservations for your taste.

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Level Contributor
237 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed 5 nights over the Thanksgiving week. We had a very nice, spacious room in the tower (the newest part of the hotel) on the 12th floor with a balcony and a wonderful view. The view at night is particularly nice with all the high rise buildings and their lights. We faced the Bank of America tower with it's pyramidal top with very interesting lights most of the time. The first few nights it was lit a soft pink which I didn't find very attractive but later in the week it was yellow and orange, with the pattern changing regularly. Very nice.

We could also see the New River with all the monster yachts moored or going back and forth.

The hotel is right on Las Olas Blvd. with all it's spectacularness.

The staff is wonderful, couldn't be nicer or more helpful. We left a note for the maid to leave us regular coffee instead of decaf, and extra creamer. She didn't so when we got back late that evening we went down to the desk. They gave us two packets of regular coffee but couldn't get to the creamer. That area was locked. So we went up to the room and a few minutes later the desk clerk himself knocked on the door. He had gone to the kitchen to get a cup of milk for us and brought it up himself! We put some ice in the ice bucket to keep it cold and had plenty for the next two mornings. That's service above and beyond!

Two minor gripes:

The TV is set on the full screen setting which makes normal dimension pictures wide and squatty. The people look short and fat. We could not find any way adjust the picture to normal setting.

The coffee: A coffee pot in the room is a must for us, we can't get out the door without two cups of coffee in the morning. The Riverside provides packets of coffee from RoyalCup, "The World's Most Passionate Coffee Roasters". It's horrible. Apparently no one from the hotel has tasted the stuff; it's bitter and sour and quite unpleasant.

If you are like us and really need your coffee before you can function, bring your own instant, and some creamer, and just use the pot to heat the water.

Other than those two (very) minor things, a magnificent hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The tower's rooms are newer. We didn't go into the old section but from some other's co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Temblor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi Temblor123,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we're thrilled to have had you here from Alabama for 5 days! We're also very pleased to see you enjoyed our locations and our staff was able to go above and beyond for you! We passed along your tips to our management and we truly look forward to your next stay.

We hope you have very Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing