We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold uninviting property.”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #23 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March 2013. Currently we are looking to visit Fort Lauderdale again. This hotel is at the bottom of our list. Upon arrival we were checked in by a totally unwelcoming staff. We were given a room in the older section. Older is a kinder term.

The elevator can barely fit 2 people in never mind bags. The hallways to the rooms where dirty and did not look very secure. The room was almost as small as the elevator. You could barely move around without bumping into each other. THE worst was the condition of the bathroom. Dirt and hair on the floor, mold around the tub. Just a huge disappointment.

Staff seems unhappy with their jobs and made you feel like they were doing you a favor by answering your questions.

If you are looking to stay in Fort Lauderdale......move on, I have. I booked btw on their website and paid their rates........makes no difference.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Hi Nancy,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We are very sorry you did not have a pleasant stay. All of your concerns were passed along to management and if you do return we'd suggest you try our Executive Tower rooms.

Warm Regards and Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here pre cruising. Located at Las Olas blv. this is a nice hotel. Our room in the tower was clean and spacious. Lovely view over Fort Lauderdale. Had an afternoon drink on the terrace and that is nice watching all the people go by and the busy traffic later at the evening. Service was good. Breakfast on the terrace again was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willem999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Hi there!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled you had a great stay and got to enjoy the great view from our terrace! We have to agree that breakfast here is wonderful and we suggest you try the Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille for dinner your next stay!

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

this was an unexpected stay due to a flight cancellation. I chose this hotel for the price and quality I experienced from my last stay. The rooms in the tower are large, and I splurged for a king room with balcony, very worth it being on the top floor with amazing views. The room is huge, very comfortable king bed, very clean.

I always assumed since it was further from the airport and cruise port the taxi would be more expensive, but not really it was approx $16 usd with tip from the airport. Again, I never take hotel shuttles, even if they are free, I can't be bothered to wait for them, usually 30+ minutes at a time.

I prefer this area to cruise port as you have way more shopping and restaurant options within walking distance, Los Olas Blvd is the place to be.

Room Tip: Any room is great, I feel the rooms with a balcony in the tower have the best view and are worth eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Hi Chris!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We're happy you had such a great stay and we truly appreciate the tips to those looking to stay here. We can't wait to see you back and suggest you try Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille for dinner!

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My family and I stayed here for one night post-cruise. The hotel is lovely - everything I could have wanted. Unfortunately, it rained much of the day (was told by shop keepers it seldom rains in early December!) so we couldn't enjoy our large balcony, the outside patio or the hotel pool. It was pouring much of the afternoon and evening, so didn't get much shopping done on Las Olas Blvd, either. Needless to say, I was extremely disappointed in Mother Nature.
On the positive, the Riverside is clean, calm and convenient. Service was excellent (quick check-in, efficient front desk staff) and dinner at the hotel restaurant was very nice. Our room was large (bathroom was amazing) and I wished we could have stayed a few more days instead of heading back to the frigid north. Will definitely make a point of staying at the Riverside Hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower and the room was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

HI NanaCathy!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We're so sorry Mother Nature was in a bad mood that day but we're thrilled you had a great experience at the Riverside! We can't wait to see you back when there's hopefully a much nicer day outside.

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here Jan 2013 for 1 night before a cruise. I'll never stay at another hotel in Fort Lauderdale! It's right on Las Olas Blvd, which has everything you need - shopping, dining, art galleries, etc. After a great night of wine tasting, we stepped out for breakfast the next day to see Las Olas was totally shut down for an art festival...tons of vendors selling all sorts of beautiful art. It was a great surprise!!!! The room was also great...quiet, clean and comfortable. We also visited the rooftop terrace and enjoyed the gorgeous views at sunset, so many million dollar yacht s and boats to see! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue_asselstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Hi Sue!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and got to enjoy the Art Festival on Las Olas! We have to agree, that rooftop view is our favorite in Fort Lauderdale. We cannot wait to see you back and suggest you try our the Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille for dinner!

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is the only hotel on Las Olas Blvd, we stayed here 1 night prior to a cruise because we wanted to be in a location that had restaurants and some night life.

The hotel has large clean quiet rooms with a basic large bathroom (tub & shower). The front desk staff were friendly and efficient (quick check-in). There’s a small convenience store inside the hotel (open until 10:00 p.m.) where you can buy snacks, coke. This hotel recycles plastic and cans.

To access the pool you need to exit out of the back of the hotel, go left across the a quiet street (it sounds far but it’s very close by). You need your room key card to get through the locked gates, to the pool, which is small but it’s surrounded by trees with a view of the waterway and is surprisingly private.

There are lots of restaurants and shops close by but many (not all) close by 10 p.m. on weekdays. The Cheesecake Café is next to the hotel, we had dinner there (nice outdoor patio). The #11 bus runs right down Las Olas Blvd.

The hotel offers a shuttle to Port Everglades for a flat rate of $20, so you don't have to worry if you get stuck in traffic. We left the hotel at 1:00 pm and got to cruise ship terminal entrance in 12 minutes. We arrived at ship port entrance 3 minutes later and got onboard the ship (processed) by 1:35 pm.

This is a great hotel for adults who want dining/nightlife options nearby, staying a couple of days or for a pre/post cruise stop-over.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Hi Keller3,

Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We love all of your suggestions and are so happy you were able to enjoy the hotel amenities. Next time you visit us we suggest you try our new seafood restaurant, Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille!

We hope to see you back very soon and.. Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

what a great hotel ... rite on one of the best streets in Ft Lauderdale!.. excellent service, nice bedding in the newer remodeled tower.
water taxi stop very close to hop on & see the million $ homes on the intercoastal.
would definitely stay here again!
Evis was the driver/taxi to /from port & airport,, good job!

Room Tip: new tower is remodeled.. great service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DONNAKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hi Donna!

Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled you had a wonderful stay and got to experience the Water Taxi! We can't wait to see you back and we hope you have a wonderful Holiday!

Warm Regards,

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Down...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,327 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,053 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,409 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,489 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £105 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing