We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-cruise stay”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pre-cruise stay”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My sister and I were staying for one night prior to our cruise. The hotel is in a great location with a lot of activity in the area. If you are looking for peace and quiet this hotel is not for you. Our room was in the older 3 story section and was very small, but functional. The dark carpeting in the room was in need of vacuuming, especially along the edges and the room had a musty odor which didn't seem too bad until we unpacked our suitcases the next day on the ship and had to have all our clothes laundered to remove the musty mold smell from the hotel room.

Room Tip: Request a room in the new tower section as the older section was small, old and musty smelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruiserpam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi Cruiserpam1,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your kind ratings and we are very sorry for any inconveniences. We truly hope you enjoyed your cruise!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    510
    167
    77
    49
See reviews for
222
567
89
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here on 3/14 for one night so we could catch our cruise the next morning. My awesome travel agent recommend we stay here since it's on Los Olas blvd, which is a great section of Ft. Lauderdale to stay! Our room was in the newer tower section, which included a balcony. The room was amazing! Very well appointed! It was nice to sit on the balcony at night and enjoy the sights and sounds of Los Olas. We both agreed we could of stayed longer at this hotel due to our experience. We didn't eat at the restaurant on location, but it looked fun and appetizing. They had a man and woman singing at the restaurant and it attracted many people! Nothing like eating and singing. The only negative I found was the sheets on the bed. The sheets on our bed were not fitted, which means all night they kept sliding around. For one night didn't bother us, but if I were to stay here longer, I would not enjoy this. If you are looking for a good time and staying in the hip part of town, stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi Chris,

Thank you for your kind words on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled you got to experience so much of what the hotel and Las Olas Boulevard have to offer! We'd love to see you back again and hope you get to experience the Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille.

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife And I came from Texas. My son and daughter came in from Chicago for a wedding.
I cannot comment on the older side as we were in the newer tower rooms( $25.00 extra per room per night but worth it) The rooms were spacious, clean and charming with a great view of Las Olas and the river. The beds were maybe the most comfortable I have had at a Hotel.(soft,clean and big).Saturday I slept till 9:00( I almost never sleep,past 6:30 even on vacation)
Great curbside dining ,2 bars, super staff,clean, neat, easy self parking, great valet ect. Pool is across the residential type street(no big deal-really) Nice pool area on the river with a bar, attendent and towels. Perfect location on Las Olas blvd( you will see many a Rolls Royce, Porche, Maserati, Mecedes,you name it. A trolley comes down Las Olas about every ten to fifteen minutes right in front of hotell($1:00 and wiil take you straight down Las olas to the beach, maybe 10 minutes) My experience was exellent and would go out of my way to return.

Room Tip: tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi Jack T,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We cannot be more thankful for your kind words and are thrilled you had a fabulous stay! We are getting renovations this year on our rooms/decor and would love for your business and feedback next time you visit Fort Lauderdale!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent two nights on business.....booked on Priceline express for $153/nt.
Pros: outstanding location! Staff very attentive with smiles. Great resturants with outdoor seating ... music, bars, views, boutiques etc.
Cons: the room. The door for room #316 had an outside metal plate by the dead bolt lock looked like someone had tried to jimmy the lock.. The chairs in room were so stained no one in their right mind would sit on them. NASTY! Wood furnishings old...room small.

Riverside is an old hotel in a fantastic location they just need to spend some money for renovation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 111vols111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi 111vols111,

Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We thrilled you enjoyed your time and love the location and atmosphere as much as we do. As far as renovations go, we're doing a complete remodel/renovation on all rooms in both towers THIS year! We would love for you to join us again after to give us your personal feedback. All concerns from TripAdvisor are always shared with upper management, if you'd like to speak with our Guest Services Manager, please contact Michael at mdimartino@riversidehotel.com.


Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Hubby and I stayed here last week for four nights. It's a lovely hotel that could be so much more. Decor is fine, rooms are clean and well appointed.

But service is so lacking. They're just not trying to be anything more than ok. Being "not rude" isn't enough in this age of customer service.

Never a "hello" from a staff member. When we complained that at 4:00 our room wasn't clean yet, there was no apology. There was no offer of a drink at the bar. There was not a smile or anything. Really?

Then the restaurant. No customer service. None. No greeting. No invitation to dine as you walk past. And no smiling. I think this place could do so much more with a little training.

Two wastes of good opportunities to make cash: Drinks and snacks in the garden and by the pool. These would be a cash cow.

oh, and redo the book left in the room. There is no information about things that matter: the pool, the restaurant, the bar, internet, etc.

Room Tip: We were in the tower. It was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvnCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi LuvnCouple,

Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We're happy you had a nice stay and enjoy the area! Although we are surprised to hear the comments on our service we take all criticisms very seriously and your comments were shared with upper management and staff. We truly hope to see you back for an exceptional experience.


Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for business travel. Corporate rate so I wasn't surprised to end up in the older part. Room was small, bathroom was even smaller. Furniture and fixtures very dated. Everything was very clean, bed was very comfie, and the staff was warm and professional, a nice blend that is hard to achieve sometimes. I seem to remember a comment in a reply from management to another review about an upcoming renovation/remodel. The non-tower section needs it, bordering on badly. Great location in the heart of the Las Olas area, with a number of great restaurants within easy walking distance. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was delicious with wonderful service.

Room Tip: Go for the tower, avoid the other rooms if you have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzCat225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
HI Rappin Ricky B!

Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we're thrilled you had an enjoyable stay! Yes, all rooms in our old and new tower will be completely renovated this year. We'd love for you to join us again and give us your feedback! We also suggest you get the opportunity to try our seafood restaurant, Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille.

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This was my 2nd visit, two weeks last year one week this year. The staff are excellent food was ok, the rooms in the Tower were big but the walls are paper thin, heard a guy in the next room coughing all night. We had a double bed the mattress was like a board on springs, when you got in at one side the other side went up, I'm a little heavier than my wife and the twin beds are the best option. The pool is across the road, not a problem, but we only had drinks service one day.
This isn't a big moan, I will definitely stay here again, it's on the plus side of 4 but please, Riverside, invest in better mattresses

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi there!

Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We happy to hear you enjoy our staff and fabulous location. We also appreciate all tips and criticisms and pass them along to our management right away. We're getting renovations this year and are looking forward to your return to hear your personal feedback!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,657 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,791 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
802 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,661 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing