We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandeur of bygone era, modern amenities”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #23 of 132 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had to arrange a one-night stay on short-notice, were tired after a trip. This hotel has all the elegance of an older hotel in a city, but with modern upkeep and services. It was nice to walk through the beautiful lobby and hallways with polished dark wood and murals. It reminds me in some ways of the Boulderado in Boulder CA or the Hotel Coronado in San Diego. Our valet was gracious and formal, made me feel like I was in Cuba circa 1955 and this was not an act. It is on a block in the center of the area with shops and cafes and you can walk to the river. (There is a river in Fort Lauderdale- who knew?) So glad to have stayed here instead of one of the boring chains out by the airport, and it was not more expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klrklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

924 - 930 of 1,642 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I and another couple recently spent 8 days in Fort Lauderdale staying at the Riverside Hotel on Los Olas Blvd. The location of this hotel is perfect as it is surrounded by many great places to eat and drink. Some favorites: Royal Pig, Big City Tavern,and American Social. Nearby is the Riverwalk where the Downtowner is located--a local and friendly establishment. Quiet and lovely pool. Beach is only a couple of miles away. The hotel was wonderful and the room (in the Executive Tower) and staff were fantastic. One staff member really stood out. Chelsea Litos was helpful and engaging. She answered all our questions and made great suggestions to enhance our visit. Her professional manner and personality made our vacation memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Stay in the Executive Tower which is a newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

HI Marilyn,

Thank you so much for your very sweet feedback! We're thrilled you were able to stay for so long and had a great time :) We (including Chelsea) truly look forward to seeing you back soon! Next time, we highly suggest you try the Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille for dinner as well as Indigo's new menu!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My sister and I were staying for one night prior to our cruise. The hotel is in a great location with a lot of activity in the area. If you are looking for peace and quiet this hotel is not for you. Our room was in the older 3 story section and was very small, but functional. The dark carpeting in the room was in need of vacuuming, especially along the edges and the room had a musty odor which didn't seem too bad until we unpacked our suitcases the next day on the ship and had to have all our clothes laundered to remove the musty mold smell from the hotel room.

Room Tip: Request a room in the new tower section as the older section was small, old and musty smelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruiserpam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi Cruiserpam1,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your kind ratings and we are very sorry for any inconveniences. We truly hope you enjoyed your cruise!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here on 3/14 for one night so we could catch our cruise the next morning. My awesome travel agent recommend we stay here since it's on Los Olas blvd, which is a great section of Ft. Lauderdale to stay! Our room was in the newer tower section, which included a balcony. The room was amazing! Very well appointed! It was nice to sit on the balcony at night and enjoy the sights and sounds of Los Olas. We both agreed we could of stayed longer at this hotel due to our experience. We didn't eat at the restaurant on location, but it looked fun and appetizing. They had a man and woman singing at the restaurant and it attracted many people! Nothing like eating and singing. The only negative I found was the sheets on the bed. The sheets on our bed were not fitted, which means all night they kept sliding around. For one night didn't bother us, but if I were to stay here longer, I would not enjoy this. If you are looking for a good time and staying in the hip part of town, stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi Chris,

Thank you for your kind words on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled you got to experience so much of what the hotel and Las Olas Boulevard have to offer! We'd love to see you back again and hope you get to experience the Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille.

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife And I came from Texas. My son and daughter came in from Chicago for a wedding.
I cannot comment on the older side as we were in the newer tower rooms( $25.00 extra per room per night but worth it) The rooms were spacious, clean and charming with a great view of Las Olas and the river. The beds were maybe the most comfortable I have had at a Hotel.(soft,clean and big).Saturday I slept till 9:00( I almost never sleep,past 6:30 even on vacation)
Great curbside dining ,2 bars, super staff,clean, neat, easy self parking, great valet ect. Pool is across the residential type street(no big deal-really) Nice pool area on the river with a bar, attendent and towels. Perfect location on Las Olas blvd( you will see many a Rolls Royce, Porche, Maserati, Mecedes,you name it. A trolley comes down Las Olas about every ten to fifteen minutes right in front of hotell($1:00 and wiil take you straight down Las olas to the beach, maybe 10 minutes) My experience was exellent and would go out of my way to return.

Room Tip: tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi Jack T,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We cannot be more thankful for your kind words and are thrilled you had a fabulous stay! We are getting renovations this year on our rooms/decor and would love for your business and feedback next time you visit Fort Lauderdale!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just spent two nights on business.....booked on Priceline express for $153/nt.
Pros: outstanding location! Staff very attentive with smiles. Great resturants with outdoor seating ... music, bars, views, boutiques etc.
Cons: the room. The door for room #316 had an outside metal plate by the dead bolt lock looked like someone had tried to jimmy the lock.. The chairs in room were so stained no one in their right mind would sit on them. NASTY! Wood furnishings old...room small.

Riverside is an old hotel in a fantastic location they just need to spend some money for renovation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank 111vols111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi 111vols111,

Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We thrilled you enjoyed your time and love the location and atmosphere as much as we do. As far as renovations go, we're doing a complete remodel/renovation on all rooms in both towers THIS year! We would love for you to join us again after to give us your personal feedback. All concerns from TripAdvisor are always shared with upper management, if you'd like to speak with our Guest Services Manager, please contact Michael at mdimartino@riversidehotel.com.


Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Hubby and I stayed here last week for four nights. It's a lovely hotel that could be so much more. Decor is fine, rooms are clean and well appointed.

But service is so lacking. They're just not trying to be anything more than ok. Being "not rude" isn't enough in this age of customer service.

Never a "hello" from a staff member. When we complained that at 4:00 our room wasn't clean yet, there was no apology. There was no offer of a drink at the bar. There was not a smile or anything. Really?

Then the restaurant. No customer service. None. No greeting. No invitation to dine as you walk past. And no smiling. I think this place could do so much more with a little training.

Two wastes of good opportunities to make cash: Drinks and snacks in the garden and by the pool. These would be a cash cow.

oh, and redo the book left in the room. There is no information about things that matter: the pool, the restaurant, the bar, internet, etc.

Room Tip: We were in the tower. It was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvnCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi LuvnCouple,

Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We're happy you had a nice stay and enjoy the area! Although we are surprised to hear the comments on our service we take all criticisms very seriously and your comments were shared with upper management and staff. We truly hope to see you back for an exceptional experience.


Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Down...
#32 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,341 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#12 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,063 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,427 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
2,949 reviews
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#44 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
5,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £102 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing