We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location,says it all.”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #21 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Spent 7 days here after cruise 14-21april.hotel location fabulous for shopping,sightseeing.water taxi 2mins away.sun trolley on doorstep for beach 10mins away.rooms clean a little tired,but towels fluffy and replaced every day.entertainment Weston Phillips fantastic.reception staff very very helpful.would certainly recommend it.and go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi April,

Thank you for your nice feedback! We definitely agree that we have a prime location for those who are looking for an all inclusive experience. We truly look forward to your next visit - by October all of our rooms will be freshly renovated! We also suggest you try any of our restaurants downstairs - they are fantastic.

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Las Olas Blvd is the happening strip in Ft Lauderdale where a lot of the FLL night life takes places. The boulevard is full of restaurants and boutiques and is a fun to be headquarters, keep you mind this is not a beach location like a lot of the hotels are. The beach is easy to get to, but this is a more urban location - but perfect for those who wish to shop and enjoy the nightlife.
There are two parts to this hotel, the older part located on the street and the tower located more off the street overlooking the river.
There is an elegance and a sense of class to this hotel. There is a piano player in the evening in the lobby and the staff works hard to treat you as a welcomed guest.
My room in the older part of the hotel did feel a bit dated and my bathroom was extremely small. It was comfortable and clean, but there was little WOW factor to my room.
I would certainly stay here again, it's got a great location and is unique and a stand out from the cookie cutter hotels that dot this area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi James,

Thank you for your nice feedback! We definitely agree that we have a prime location for those who are looking for an all inclusive experience. We truly look forward to your next visit - by October all of our rooms will be freshly renovated! We also suggest you try any of our restaurants downstairs - they are fantastic.

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I booked this hotel for a day of fun before a cruise. The location of the hotel is amazing, right in the center of Las Olas close to great shopping and great food (eat at Johnny V's). I took the advice from the reviews on Trip Advisor about requesting a Tower room. I did, and was happy. The room was clean and neat. I also appreciated the professionalism and genuine care of the staff. They were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruisediva11228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Cruise Diva!

We're so happy you had such a fabulous stay and got to enjoy some of the night life on Las Olas! We truly hope to see you back soon and would love to get your feedback from our renovations happening this summer!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Here are the pros: hot showers with excellent water pressure, layout of the room affords privacy, furniture with character, spotless, staff is professional WITHOUT being saccharine sweet and phony, right on Los Olas, terrific views. Cons: NONE.

Room Tip: Don't look to the front door on Los Olas when arriving, drive around the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aineb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Aineb44,

Thank you for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled you had such a wonderful stay and got to enjoy the lovely area. We truly look forward to your next visit and suggest you get the opportunity to dine at Wild Sea Oyster Bar & Grille!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Located at main street in ft. Lauderdale (las Olas) this hotel has a very nice pool area right by the river (offsite) 30 m from the hotel. Bar at street level serves nice food. Be aware that you will be quite a distance from the beach and the bars/ restaurant at the beach. It is a 5 min drive. There are however many restaurants and shops at las Olas but there are generally more expensive and not as laidback as those by the beach area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank panzer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Panzer76,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled you loved the area and our location. We truly look forward to your next visit. :)

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I had read to the so-so reviews so I wasn't expecting much. The first room we were in was very old, the toilet wouldn't flush well and the water would just go cold. There was mold or black stuff in the windowsills. It was incredibly noisy at night and you could hear every car and motorcycle. Our room was tucked in a corner by the elevator and you could hear the elevator every time it moved. We asked to be switched to a tower room the next day and none were available. They moved us to a more updated room which was still very dated, but at the least the toilet worked. The exterior of the hotel looks nice, but it definitely needs a lot of updates on the inside. I heard they are updating this year, unfortunately we were there before that happened. Las Olas does have many restaurants, but most of them were always packed and very hard to get in to. The pool area was nice and we enjoyed watching the boats come through the canal. We stayed there 2 nights before a cruise. We were incredibly tired from traveling, so at least we slept but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank supersnookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi VP,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We apologize you did not have as great of an experience as we would hope for. We are getting renovations this year, especially in our Classic Wing that was built in 1936. A lot of people love the character of it but we understand it's not for everyone and wish you would have been able to stay in our Executive Tower. We truly hope you stay with us again and that you had a fantastic cruise!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great location. Close to a lot of restaurants and bars. Close drive to the beach. Has the feel of a very nice hotel and staff were very nice and helpful. Unfortunately, not all rooms in the hotel are created equal. I stayed in the old part of the hotel because it would be extra to stay in the new building. To be honest, I was disappointed when I entered the room. It was cramped. The king bed took up most of the space. There was no extra plug for your charger. I had to unplug a lamp to charge my phone. I've stayed in lower level hotels with rooms that are twice the size. The bathroom felt like a small closet. There was no counter space to put my toiletry bag. I had to keep it outside the bathroom. The parking fees were also excessively high and I didn't even do valet. I'm sure if you paid extra for the new room, you might be pleased, but be prepared for disappointment if you think you will get a nice room for the price you pay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Jackson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Jackson,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled you loved the area and apologize for the room inconvenience... did you ask to be upgraded to our Executive Tower? That wing includes our modern rooms. The classic wing where you stayed has rooms built in 1936 which is why they are smaller. A lot of people like them for their character but we understand they are not for everyone. This summer we are going about some great renovations! We would love for you to join us again next year and let us know what you think!


Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,799 reviews
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,731 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#38 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,168 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £118 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing