We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #22 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is updated and convenient. The restaurant (Indigo) was fine for breakfast (not included in the room rate) with standard items, but the menu was a little limited. The bar (Golden Lyon) was fine, but pricey. A bottled beer was just under $5 and a soda was just under $3. There was a man singing Friday and Saturday night.

Valet is apparently required and charged to the room. You have to pass the hotel and swing around to the back side for the valet station. I did not see that self parking would be an option.

The pool is across the street from the hotel, along the river, the opposite direction of Las Olas. You cannot bring any beverages or food of your own since they have a small bar there. The deep end was around 8 feet. There were a lot of chairs, including tables under an awning.

We stayed two nights for a concert and the hotel worked out well. The beds were a little firm for my taste.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TampaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi TampaJules,

Thank you for your feedback and tips to future guests! We're happy you had a nice visit with friends and truly look forward to your next stay! We suggest you take the opportunity to visit our restaurant Wild Sea for happy hour next time :)

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,545 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

I travel to the area for business, but always have a couple hours of down time. This is a great hotel right on Las Olas Blvd. I've stayed twice and gotten good rates on-line both times, so don't know if the regular prices are reasonable or not. Reminds me a bit of the Biltmore in Coral Gables...on a smaller scale. Haven't eaten in the restaurants yet. Rooms are big, comfortable and clean. Very quiet in the tower rooms. Very pleasant front desk service.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a tower room...with a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJGordon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi PJ Gordon,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! What a compliment to be compared to the Biltmore! We're getting renovations on our rooms this year, projected to be done by late October. We hope to see you back to get your feedback!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Purchased on Priceline for the night before sailing from Port Everglades. This came as a pleasant surprise. Excellent value for money with a surprisingly large room and bathroom.
The room service was excellent.
Cons: Facing Las Olas means noise, even many stories up. The hotel bedding could use an update. The grout in the bathroom needs attention.
Pro: The hotel staff is excellent and cheerful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnarfle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi Gnarfle23,

Thanks for your feedback! We love entertaining Cruise guests and hope you had a fantastic trip! We will be getting renovations this summer and hope you will join us for your next cruise to check them out!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at the Riverside the night before our cruise. We usually stay closer to the cruise port or on the beach but we thought we would try the Riverside on Las Olas this time. I'm glad we did and we will stay here now all the time if it's just one night before a cruise. The decor is lovely and the atmosphere is very old Florida. We stayed in a tower king room overlooking the river. Service was excellent. We took a cab from the airport and their shuttle next morning to the cruise port. Both were very reasonable and fast. We had both dinner and breakfast outside at a little restaurant within a block and enjoyed the evening of window shopping. By the way, their bathroom amenities were awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moltrasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi Moltrasio,

Thank you for your kind feedback! We are thrilled you had such a lovely experience. We truly look forward to your next stay & hope you enjoy our renovations that will be completed late October 2014!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Be sure NOT to get a room on the NORTH or WEST sides....it'll sound like you're sleeping right ON the highway.

The rooms are nice...the suites are nicer! The bar in the lobby (inside) is a little gem, too. Wild Sea Oyster Bar makes the most AMAZING cocktails and I enjoy them even when not staying at the hotel.

DO stay here. But DO get a room on the EAST or SOUTH side.

Room Tip: EAST or SOUTH facing only... unless you enjoy hearing traffic all damn night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElizabethR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi Elizabeth,

Thank you for your feedback! We have to agree, Wild Sea has incredible cocktails & Preston's is for sure a gem! Your tips are appreciated and we truly look forward to your next visit! Be sure to check out our new renovations that will be finished in October!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I love staying here. It is so convenient and quaint. The pool is very relaxing and peaceful. The staff is fabulous. Especially Deborah and Carlos at bar. The toiletries could improve. There are no robes in room. Bed is super comfortable. Food is great at all restaurants. This is best option not on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miabella1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hi Erica B.,

Thank you for your awesome feedback! We appreciate the kind words & toiletry tip - I'll pass along to our Housekeeping :) We truly hope to see you back soon - especially to check out our new renovations come Oct 2014!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by my stay at the Riverside Hotel. I had a Tradirional Room in the older wind and it was absolutely gorgeous! I was hesitant when I made the booking due to some negative reviews, but I couldn't have been happier with my room. It had Tommy Bahama furniture by Lexington. I used to sell furniture for a living so I know this was of the finest quality. The room was also so immaculate that it looked like I was the first guest to ever stay in it.

The staff was wonderful and went above and beyond to make sure my every request was fulfilled. I never had to ask twice for anything, and the service at the Indigo Restaurant was equally great.

This hotel renewed my faith in privately owned properties. I will be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 121,347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

HI there,

Thank you for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor! We truly look forward to your next visit and hope to see you back soon - especially to check out our renovations that will be ready October 2014!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,799 reviews
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,730 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#38 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,168 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £118 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing