We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "staycation"”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great "staycation"”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Riverside Hotel staff are pleasant and professional. The location can't be beat either. After enjoying a stroll on Las Olas, got a great night's rest. The views from the room were lovely. Charming hotel, and I recommend their restaurant Indigo for brunch too. For the price and location, this is superb!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    510
    167
    77
    49
See reviews for
222
567
89
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights before flying out to Mexico from FLL after a trip to Orlando. Family of four from the UK.

It is ideally located for Las Olas Boulevard, the main spot for bars and restaurant in the evening, as well as for watching the yachts on the intracoastal waterway that runs behind the hotel during the day. The pool (which is over a road) is accessed with your room key and directly overlooks the waterway. The yachts pass by and you're sure to get plenty of greetings from the boaters.Pretty standard pool area with small bar, vending machine and small (one person) changing rooms. Not popular with the hotel guests, so we seemed to have the pool to ourselves most of the time.

Iguanas hang around outside in the gardens waterside, so be sure to have a look for those. They dive in off the decks into the water and some of them are a couple of feet long!

Parking is extra to the rate around $17 per night ,but you can come and go as you please.

This is an historic hotel, with lots of photographs around showing it in its prime and before Fort Lauderdale was built up. Don't expect cutting edge comntemporary rooms - think lacey beds and bathroms with small tiles, mediterranean mosaic style border tiles etc..Flooring throughout the hotel also similar - small terracotta tiles with mediterannean feel. Very much oldy worlde feel to this place but very clean.

We had two double beds, plenty of storage space, small basic bathroom by US standards, largescreen TV with premium channels (we watched Man Utd v Chelsea live from the prem league) wi-fi. Pay movies. Our room didn't have a balcony but had views towards rear of the hotel with an obstructed view of the waterway.

This hotel is popular with dog-owners who seem to think of their dogs as fashion accessories - in fact some bar events are specifically for dog owners and the dogs are allowed in the bar area on these days (Sunday afternoons I think). As a consequence you get a lot of locals using the hotel facilities.

It would be a long walk to the beach, but a nice walk. You have all the boutique shops, bars and restaurants, water channels with the multi million dollar yachts and some nice properties to view if you do decide to walk it.

Recommend the Cheesecake Factory across the road - nice restaurant . Our kids liked it so much they had to go back the following day for another dessert (using the takeaway service that they do). Huge portion sizes on the multitude of cakes they have on offer. Las Olas also offers tradition Ice cream shops, yoghurt and sweet shops, chocalitiers to try.

Pleasant enough place for a few days, especially if you want to party. Probably more suited to couples than families though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbm2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had a one night stay prior to our cruise. Very convenient location and good walking outside hotel. We were placed in old part of hotel and the room was old and musty. For the most part front desk service was good, although when I asked for a south or east view, based on other tripadvisor reviewer's advice I was ignored.

Room Tip: Apparently south or east views are best but I couldn't tell you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripDVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
244 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Located right on las olas blvd close to all the great restaurants and shopping. Great staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are big a bit too quiet, we could hear doors opening early morning and middle of the night. No white noise from the fan like most hotels. Overall good hotel . Higher floors have better view of the river.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideHotelFL, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback! We're so happy you had such a fun weekend on Las Olas! We truly hope to see you back to enjoy the new room renovations!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel is right on Los Olas street and the River Walk. Wonderful neighborhood to stroll, with lots of restaurants and shops. The desk staff was sooo nice and helpful, as was the staff at the restaurants associated with the hotel. They even loaned us a corkscrew for our bottle of wine. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The balcony door sealed well and it was quite quiet. Parts of the hotel are a little older, but the tower where our room was located seemed new and well kept. We were here with family for the 4th of July. What sealed the rating of 5-dots was the fact that our balcony faced the beach and we could see fireworks from multiple sites easily from the balcony. There is a parking garage that connects with the hotel, which was very convenient. The price was quite reasonable

Room Tip: All of the rooms for our family group were good. Ours faced east so we could see the fireworks. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideHotelFL, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Maurene,

Thank you for your kind feedback on Tripadvisor! We are so happy you had such a great stay and loved our locations. We truly hope to see you back and hear your thoughts on our room renovations!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked this Hotel for the end of our cruise as we were staying in Fort Lauderdale an extra 2 days and thought this hotel looked great from the pictures on their site. WRONG! The outside is beautiful as is the reception area. The room left much to be desired. There was hair on the bedspread, which we noticed immediately as the bedspread is white, there was hair on the sheets,the bathroom floor was dirty, black hair on floor and in shower. I was so upset that we went to the front desk to ask if we would lose all of our money for both nights that we had booked if we left and was told yes we would. We slept on clothes from our suitcase that night and my husband put a card on the bed asking the cleaning lady to change the bedding. The sheets were changed but the bedspread and pillow shams were not. We also received a call on the house phone the next morning telling us that their computers had gone down overnight and they needed to verify our info. I told the man on the phone that I was not comfortable doing that on the phone and would come to the front desk. He was insistent and I told him I would go to the front deskn to talk to him. We went down and the man at the desk said it was not him and did not appear overly concerned, but did say after my husband appeared angry that he would let security know. I wish we would have gone back to the Rodeway Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trick831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideHotelFL, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
HI Trick831,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We apologize for your inconveniences, we strive to give all of our guests the best experience possible. We'd appreciate if you would send details to our Guest Services Manager, Michael, at mdimartino@riversidehotel.com. We truly hope to see you back, especially to hear your feedback on our room renovations. :)

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The entrance is a bit obscure, but the location and the rooms are nice. The hotel is located along the main road of a trendy strip, but the main entrance faces a small street. The rooms were spacious and beds comfortable

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideHotelFL, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi OttawaFamilyGuy,

Thank you for your feedback and we're happy you enjoyed the location of the Riverside! We hope you had a lovely stay and look forward to seeing you back!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,655 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,788 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
801 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,659 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing