We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 6 March 2006

Previous reviews made mention of the poor condition of the rooms in the main hotel, they were exactly right. Unless you are guaranteed a room in the tower building, do not stay at this hotel. The room felt like a college dorm; cramped, terrible furniture, tiny bathroom, noisy, and dirty. While the location is good, there are other options in this area that seem much more worth the $200 this hotel charges. As a regular traveler, I've seen a lot of good and bad hotel rooms; this was one of the worst. The hotel informed us they are in the process of rennovating all the rooms, but when we asked to be moved they told us it would cost more. The one and only redeeming quality was the pool, which was pretty and sat right along the river. However, I will never stay at this hotel again and would discourage anyone else from staying here either.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 142Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    504
    166
    77
    48
See reviews for
217
563
88
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2006

Just stayed here on 3/2 to 3/4/2006. Was here about 5 years ago before it grew to 5 times the size! Let me go with the few good things first. Tom at the front desk, friendly even though he was confused by the reservation/point of sale computer system, he has a great attitude. Great friendly room service. Great courtious house keeping staff. Great swimming pool along the river. Now the bad stuff...bell staff very slow. Could not wait any longer so we pack muled out of our room, production equipment and all. I travel as a tour manager for a musician. Brand new mega story tower addition with no fitness center. Instead they tell you to walk 4 blocks away to a stinking little place with too many people stuffed in it and then you have to pay $7.50 use it plus .50 cents a towel. Not to mention that the walk to the place is through a bad scetchy neighborhood. Tells me that the Riverside has a disregard to your safety. I've been to Holiday Inn expresses that have free passes to neighboring fitness centers or they have one of their own. No late night valet parking. Front desk service very slow.

Will most likely stay here againg because I don't choose my hotels. The whole place is under staffed.

Helpful?
4 Thank HubieJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2006

the front desk staff seems a little unorganized but friendly. the room was small but comfortably furnished and clean. the bed was very comfortable. however the elevator is the smallest one i have ever seen. the pool is really heated and private it is across the street gated and locked poolside menu is available by phone at the pool. the hotel is a great location on los olas blvd. there is a gondola ride in the evenings available by the stork cafe. also a few blocks up is florida diner open 24hours good eats and cheap too huge portions. we ate at several of the restaurants on the blvd all were excellent. it is fun just to people watch and sit out front at the bar/restaurant excellent food. very nice staff. loved the bath toiletries they smell so good. would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura5969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2006

We stayed for 8 nights, part work, part holiday. The hotel was hard to book online, and I could only get a room by calling direct, so no really good deals. For the price you could expect a little more polish and attention to detail, though most staff made an effort to be friendly, I just had the impression they never spoke to each other to know what was going on, or were short staffed!

There was some noisy construction during our stay early in the mornning. I complained to the front desk and was referred to the general manager. He called back and arranged for the construction crew to start work later (9am) during our stay. There was an apology for the problem, but no compensation offer of any kind, despite the construction never being mentioned on booking or check-in. This seemed typical of how they handle complaints. In fact at check-in they had 'lost' our booking until I was able to find a booking reference on an email,(not automatically sent, just requested later) our names, credit card and word were not enough!

Overall we enjoyed our stay, the location is great and as long as you are aware that everything at this hotel is 'extra' and that though food is very good the service in Indigo is extremely variable, (friends waited 1 hour after ordering their breakfast, and we waited 30 mins for our coffee), if you can get a deal it is OK.

High speed internet is available in room for $10 a day (!) but is free (wireless) in the lobby only.

BTW we stayed in an old building refurbished room and it was fine. Bed was comfortable, linen clean and maid service excellent.

Plus points outweigh the minus, heated pool, plenty of fresh linen, lively bar, walk to loads of good bars and restaurants on Las Olas and Las Olas Riverfront, good shopping, good local spas, easy river and museum access, walk to beach in 30 mins or get Water Bus ($10 all day), plenty of parking and Floridian sunshine!

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thurschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, FL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2006

My husband and I spent two nights at the Riverside Hotel in Fort Lauderdale about a week ago. Our trip to Fort Lauderdale was for the express purpose of going to the King Tut exhibit at the Fort Lauderdale Art Museum - thus, our selection of this hotel which is within walking distance of the museum.

We drove from our home on the Southwest coast of Florida and had no difficulty finding the hotel on Las Olas Blvd., though we were a bit confused that the actual car entrance is on the block behind the hotel, not directly off of Las Olas which only has a pedestrian entrance. No matter, just a few extra turns. Valet parking was efficient and friendly. It may have been a mistake, but there wasn't a charge for valet parking on our hotel bill at the end of our stay.

Checkin was very quick, though the hotel lobby seemed to be crowded during our entire stay with pre- or post- cruise passengers and all their luggage. Our room was in the executive tower on the 10th floor, above what was a 7 or 8 story parking garage.

The room was spacious and decorated in the ever popular Tommy Bahama tropical style. The room was clean and had all the usual hotel elements - king bed, armoire with TV, mini bar, small table with two chairs, desk, etc. We had a small balcony looking out towards the Atlantic, though the actual view was more of the kitchen vents on the roofs of nearby restaurants. The bathroom was large and well supplied with towels and toiletries. Hot water and good water pressure in the shower.

The location of this hotel is excellent and was perfect for our needs. We parked the car and walked everywhere - King Tut exhibit, restaurants and shops right outside the front door. A very lively part of Fort Lauderdale, especially on the Friday and Saturday nights we stayed. Lots of outdoor dining on Las Olas and a wide selection of cuisines at the restaurants. If you want to watch the street scene, reservations for outdoor dining are a must.

My husband ran along the Riverwalk one morning, then headed off to nearby neighborhoods to finish his run. He enjoyed the beautiful boats and yachts in the nearby canals and felt very safe in the area.

We were somewhat disappointed in the housekeeping. Having left the hotel at 8:00 a.m. one morning, our room was not made up upon our return at 3:00 p.m. I suppose they were cleaning the "checkout" rooms first. We chose to gather the wet towels and exchange those with a housekeeper in the hallway and to not have the room freshened at that point. Also, the king bed only had two standard size pillows and there were no extra pillows or a blanket, which we had to request from housekeeping. The bed wasn't great - kind of hard and somewhat lumpy - so we didn't sleep too well. Nowadays many hotel chains pride themselves of the quality of their beds and bedding and the Riverside should follow their lead.

Starbucks is just down the block, so we brought pastries and coffee back to the room one morning. The second morning, my husband had a long wait at the hotel restaurant for a table and extremely slow service for breakfast. He thought the restaurant was OK for breakfast, not much more.

We considered beachfront hotels in Fort Lauderdale for this trip (at almost twice the price of the Riverside - $550+ vs. $259 a night) and felt the Riverside fulfilled our needs. It met, but did not exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aerofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2006

After reading some of the previous reviews I was a little apprehensive when booking a room in the older section of this hotel. But my fears were unfounded when we walked into a beautiful king room decorated in Tommy Bahama style. The room was immaculate, bathroom totally upgraded with nice amenities. Cost $160.00 a night. The halls were bright and always kept clean. The only negative part of the room was there was no view. but we were only here one night, pre cruise, and spent very little time in the room. Had I spent a longer time this probably would have bothered me.

As other reviewers commented the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank captfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2006

We stay here pre-cruise Jan 26 to Jan 29. I picked this hotel, because of it's location on Los Olas Blvd. Yes, at $205.00 American, it was pricey, but asked for one of the new tower rooms over-looking the inter-coastal waterways. Well, let me tell you, the room was well worth the price. We where on the 11th floor, and could watch all the beautiful yacht's going up, and down the river. We had two queen size beds, and the room was quite large. The bathroom, was very clean, and nice with marble through out.

The Breakfast in the indego was a little pricey, but you just have to try the freshly squeezed orange juice, mmmmmm, very good. The food was good as well. The cheesecake factory was just around the corner, but Thur, Fri, and Sat, be sure to make a reservation. Very busy.

The water taxi was just to blocks away, and I just loved it. You could go from one side of Ft. Lauderdale to other, and the beach, for $7.00 all day, off and on it. You don't have to paid the big dollars for the tours on the water. The staff on the water taxi's are very informative, and tell you all about the beautiful homes, and yacht's.

Los Olas Blvd just outside the hotel, is very pricey, but you can find a bargain, if you look. I felt very safe if this area of town, had no problems, and the blvd came alive at night. Wow, the people, and the outside bars, and restaurants will amaze you. The hotel staff was very friendly, and answers all our questions, and offered suggestion about things to see, and where to go. They have a heated pool out back of there hotel. You must try it, have to use your room card to get in, and very quiet. Loved it.

The only thing I suggest is, that if you get a taxi to take you to the cruise ships, or other, get it in the front, and not the back of the hotel. We took it from the back, and the meter was already 8 dollars and something, and then we were passing the front of the hotel. I think he took the long way around. It is about $14,00 to the cruise port.

Would definitely stay at the Riverside again. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love_child56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing