We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel on Los Olas”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #22 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2007

We spent 3 delightful nights at the Riverside Hotel. The room was large, clean, and nicely furnished. The bathroom was large, spotless, and well-equiped with lots of towels and toiletries (my only complaint was no shaving and/or make-up mirror). Try to get a room in the tower as the view over the New River is very nice.
We also ate one meal in the Grill Room-expensive but excellent and enjoyed breakfast sitting on Los Olas Boulvavard ( also expensive, but you pay for a great location). Overall, the Riverside is a very classy hotel in a very classy location and is to my knowledge the only hotel on East Los Olas which is often referred to as the "Rodeo Drive" of Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank primadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2007

We stayed one night at this cute, charming hotel. If you want to be in the center of Las Olas, this place was perfect. We stayed just one night, to enjoy the area. It isn't close to the beach and doesn't have a pool (at least that we could find), but it is steps away from shops and resturants and close to the river. The staff was great, and the rooms were nice (not high luxury), but very nice. Its next door to the Cheesecake Factory and close to other bars and resturants (we loved Mancotti's for dinner). They had live music and excellent food, as well as a great Italian wine list. We took a morning walk along the riverwalk, which goes thorugh the historic district and leads to the Museum of Art and Museum of Science. The hotel is very well located.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nikki-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2007

We recently stayed at this lovely property for two nights & found the location to be fabulous for walking to Los Olas shopping, and for dining and people watching. Both my husband & brother in law said next time they would be content to not bother leaving the hotel grounds as there are cozy indoor and outdoor "nooks" to settle into while sipping a cocktail or cup of coffee, a lovely waterfront pool, two classy (& fun!) bars, a fireplace in the lobby area & 2 restaurants with upscale sidewalk or indoor dining.
All staff we encountered were very polite & friendly but not snooty, which is a big plus in our book. This is a longtime family owned hotel & it seems they pride themselves on being an "anit chain" kind of place-old world charm & not that cookie cutter feel. Sadly, there aren't too many like this left in all of America.
We stayed in the original hotel (not the newer high rise) in a newly remodeled room. It was VERY clean and comfy.
The only down side was some traffic noise from the busy street ( we did have our windows open as we prefer fresh air) & there was occasional noise from the room next door. Next time I would try to find out where the quietest room in the hotel is. We hear the tower rooms are very nice w/ great views, but we prefer the historic old Florida charm of the original sturcture. All in all, this group of seasoned travelers found this upscale hotel to be a superior value at just under $300 dollars per night including parking. Note too that the hotel is conveniently located only minutes from FLL airport. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wannabfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2006

Stayed at the Riverside for 5 nights after booking a package on Expedia. The nonrenovated rooms are not too impressive and there is an unpleasant perfume-y smell that pervades, but it was kept clean and staff did a good job otherwise. Don't expect a free upgrade no matter how empty the hotel is. Great and plentiful hot water in the showers. Location is good -- right on E. Las Olas, amidst the tony little shops and restaurants -- but could be a bit much if you are looking for something low-key. Beach is nice and easy to get to -- not more than a 5-minute drive. I probably wouldn't stay here again but it's fine if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank linda528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2006

Stayed in an exectutive tower room in December 2006.

The hotel has a great location on Los Olas Blvd, close to many good restaurants and directly on the New River.

Rooms are large and comfortable, views are nice from the upper floors. The pool is located along the river and was rarely used when I was there - a great little retreat.

The hotel is convenient to downtown, the river and Los Olas Blvd. The beach is a 15 minute drive. I would pick the Riverside over any of the beachfront hotels that are at the same price point. The Riverside has a much better value and facilities and the beach is not far away.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JuanEsperanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2006

Great hotel, great rooms, great and very helpful staff. It's located in the heart of the paty zone, but the room was very quiet and cleen. Will definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank der_badener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2006

The Riverside is a great combination - nice hotel, good staff, good restaurants, and GREAT location.

We had stayed at the Riverside several years ago (before ronovation); it was nice the, and really wonderful now. And best of all is the location in the middle of Las Olas Blvd., and ten minutes from anything that you want to do in the Lauderdale area.

The Riverside Hotel is a must do at least once.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank livewell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,796 reviews
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,730 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,161 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £117 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing