We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners = bad service”
Review of La Casa Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
13
Reviewed 12 April 2005

I made a reservation for 4 rooms a few months back for a special reunion of female friends. At that time (with previous owners) they told me I could cancel up to two weeks ahead of time. I called two weeks ahead of time, and the new owners tried to tell me that they couldn't find my reservation. They did find it, but told me I would have to pay for not canceling three weeks ahead of time. We agreed on the pre-3-week fee of $25, just because I didn't want to deal with finding a new reservation.

When my friends and I arrived, they again said they couldn't find the reservation, although I clearly saw it in the books. He then said I didn't put any money down for the rooms. I pointed to my credit card number in his book and said that should have been sufficient. He then tried to tell me they didn't allow babies (one friend brought her 6-wk old baby), but I had told them the entire time that there would be a baby in our party.

Bottom line: they didn't want to honor the previous owner's reservations. We found another room at the Best Western Pelican Beach Resort just up the road. It was fabulous. So glad I didn't have to stay at La Casa Del Mar, where the service was really surly.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 302 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, CA
14
Reviewed 10 April 2005

My friends and I planned our annual weekend away/reunion in Fort Lauderdale and booked at La Casa Del Mar. Unfortunately, 2 weeks before we arrived, this B&B had been purchased by a new owner. When we arrived on Friday night, the owner informed us that he had no record of our reservation which had been confirmed with a credit card. Rather than acting as you would expect a new B&B owner would towards new guests with courtesy and respect, he treated us rudely and eventually refused to accomodate us for the weekend. We are 4 well-educated women who travel a lot. We have never been treated so rudely by any service professional. I recommend anyone wishing to have a nice vacation in Fort Lauderdale stay elsewhere.

Luckily, we were able to find a beautiful, brand new Best Western hotel 1 mile down the road right on the beach. They had a great breakfast buffet, pool and lazy river. The staff there was more than happy to accomodate us and treated us in the manner anyone on vacation should expect to be treated.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2005

My Husband and I were in Fort Lauderdale over Superbowl and stayed at La Casa Del Mar for 3 nights. We did not want to stay at a hotel because it is so over-whelming. This B&B is a block from the beach and the main highway. It is 4 blocks from Beach Place. Great restaurants near by. Tom and Sunny were great hosts and made us feel special. They were very accomodating. My husband and I highly recommend it. It was clean and close to everything. Very Peaceful. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cuisine648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Queensland, Australia
14
Reviewed 9 August 2004

Just wanted to say what a great place this is. Stayed for a week from June 11 2004 and enjoyed my stay. Had room 9 on the second floor, large with a fully equipped kitchen, nice bath and plenty of closet space for luggage. Great location one block back from the beach behind the Sheraton hotels. Has a nice pool area and balcony overlooking it from the second floor. Recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2004

We just came back from a week at La Casa del Mar and had a fantastic stay. My wife and I travelled with our three children (ages 5 - 8) and could not have been more pleased. The proprietors, Tom and Sunny, were very accomodating and made the vacation truly memorable for our children. The location was also superb - a very quiet street one block from the beach. If you are looking for a sterile hotel room and all of the amenities of a luxury resort, don't stay here (and be prepared to pay a lot more.) If you are looking for a very nice place to stay with some real personality, you cannot beat La Casa del Mar for the price.

4  Thank pf555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Audrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dora I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#27 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
104 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,826 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
snooze
#4 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
683 reviews
Granada Inn
#3 of 25 in Fort Lauderdale
227 reviews
Oasis Hotel
#1 of 25 in Fort Lauderdale
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Del Mar

Address: 3003 Granada St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4317
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £102 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Casa del Mar: a charming Spanish-Mediterranean style accommodation located on Fort Lauderdale Beach, the "Venice of America", where you can enjoy the sub-tropical climate, ocean, beach, sun and fun! La Casa Del Mar is situated in a charming, two-story Mediterranean villa, built early in this century by the famous architect William Vaughn for the Francis Colter family who resided there until it became a small hotel in the 1950s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Casa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Mar Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing