We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent week. Very impressed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #29 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent week. Very impressed.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Ft. Lauderdale Beach Westin for a week starting Nov 16. We had a partial ocean view room. The room was a nice size, we loved opening the sliding door and watching the ocean and hearing the waves. The room was very clean and the bed oh so comfy! Loved the complimentary starbucks coffee and coffee maker and my favorite tazo awake tea and the free water. It really is the little things. We stayed in the South tower and found it very convenient to visit the real starbucks and the gym and get to the street easily. It was not much more effort to get to the pool and beach. We also loved the complimentary umbrellas and chairs at the beach and the sky bridge to get there. That's a BIG plus. We used to stay at "another hotel in the Harbor Beach area" each year but we decided to try something new and are glad we did. Each and EVERY employee we encountered was friendly, helpful and had a smile on their face. It was really mpressive. This hotel is doing something right to its' employees. From the housekeepers to the valet parkers whom we came in contact with every single day for 7 days, they had smiles on their faces and wanted to help in any way that they could. The only thing I would change were I this hotel is that the bathrooms had the louvered door and window which didn't give us much privacy when 2 people are staying in the room. We got around it. Also the gym could use a few more machines and were missing the 10 lb weights which are kind of common. We are a couple that happens to work out a lot though so probably not such a big deal for most people. All in all we were thrilled with our week at the Westin though. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we liked the south tower and we got a partial ocean view so we could see the ocean and the intracoas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear gigigo: What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us from your recent stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience at our resort. I have also shared this review with the rest of our hotel staff, as its seems they have greatly contributed to making your stay even more relaxing and memorable. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,538
    1,088
    474
    203
    144
See reviews for
912
1,148
160
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I love this hotel and location! I thought the parking was convenient. $28/day but you could come and go as you please. Wifi isn't free it is $9.95/day. They provide you with a chair and towel up to 2 guests to use at the beach or the pool. Love this, since there was only 2 of us it worked great. Great staff. From the check-in to the outdoor bar everyone was so friendly. My only dislike was the bathroom... There was like a peek-a-boo window from the bathroom to the room....I preferred a bit of privacy. LOL. But if you do go to South Florida beware EVERYONE charges 16% gratuity no matter what. I would highly recommend to business travelers or couples. I thought it was cute and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront room! We were upgraded to the 11th floor with an oceanfront room, it was gorge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephMarie8504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear StephMarie8504: Thank you so much for staying with us and choosing our hotel as your travel destination. We appreciate you mentioning your opinion of the bathroom doors, as we are currently discussing ways to improve the privacy and functionality of this feature with our Engineering team. Thanks again for taking the time to share your review and we hope your travels will bring you back soon to The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here for our honeymoon and had the best time! Omar at the front desk is awesome!!!! He checked us in and was super friendly!! He sent a bottle of champaign and a hand written card to congratulate us!! So sweet!!The first night we went out to dinner by the pool. Julio was our waiter and he was super nice. They found out it was our honeymoon and sent us a desert. The next day we went to Shula for dinner and Terry waited on us. He was super helpful and had a lot of suggestions for things to do while we were there. Oatis was the manager and he was great! Very friendly and welcoming! We saw him all week and always has a smile on! Molly who works at concierge Really helped us out by printing out Heat tickets up!!She even hooked us up with directions and remembered us by name the next day!! we ended up staying a few extra days because of how nice everyone was!! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsancezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for the first time with my boyfriend and had the best stay and service ever. Staff went above and beyond to make our stay the best. Ray the pool manager and Storme with the front door staff were awesome. recommended us toa delicious dinner and even hooked me up with s $20 Spa discount. Kevin and Steve from the pool were also just as helpful. Highly recommend this hotel just for staff itself.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarahdipity85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear sarahdipity85: Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are thrilled to hear that you and your boyfriend had such a great stay at our property and enjoyed our wonderful amenities; including our signature Heavenly Spa by Westin. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful beaches and The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Westin bch Fort Lauderdale. I could not have imagined a more perfect place to have our wedding. The ceremony was on the terrace and all of my guest loved the view of the beach and was so surprised to find such a relaxing and beautiful place in Fort Lauderdale. Our family and friends mingled on the terrace for the cocktail hour and they all raved about how great the food and how beautiful the sunset was. They were escorted down to the hall were they had another wonderful veiw of the beach. Our guest were able to select their entrées at the reception. We worked with Rosanna Cintron and she was amazing to work with. She returned every call in a timely manner and she took take of us like we were VIP's . She made us feel like she always had everything under control. I highly recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for an outdoor/indoor , classic, spectacular view an a amazing
wedding. If I could give 6 star I would. Thank you to Rosanna and all the staff at the Westin for making our wedding day remarkable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Erica H: Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your recent wedding experience at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time at our resort, celebrating your very special day amongst friends and family. Rosanna is truly an amazing asset to our team and she will be very excited to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful beachfront hotel.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orion, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Called the desk and requested a new box of tissues for the bathroom. 30 minutes later went to the desk with same request only to be told they would have house keeping respond. Found box in the convention area bathroom and borrowed it. We had an early flight out (checked out at 4:30 AM) and were amazed when the shower would only provide scalding hot water. When the desk was informed of this as we checked out, we were asked if we called the desk about the problem! How do you call them and still get out in time for your plane. I suspect that they knew there was a problem with this room as the hand held portion of the sprayer was partially unscrewed when we first started the shower. I am listed as a preferred guest at the hotel but their poor service and unsafe shower will guarantee that we won't stay there again. Attitude at the desk is anything but helpful. Lot's of other hotels in area. Stayed 11/12/2013, room 812.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dachelpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear dachelpo: Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent experience with us at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. First and foremost, we sincerely apologize for the difficulties you encountered at the Front Desk and rest assured we have shared your review with our management team to ensure our team is communicating properly. Your comments are very much appreciated, as this will help us to improve the quality and service of our product. Thank you for staying with us and informing us of your recent experience.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived at this hotel with high hopes for a pleasant stay and some good times to go along with some business. We got a deal on the room, pay for three days, get the fourth free, and upgraded to an oceanfront room. We got there on a Wednesday during a time that wasn't busy. The valet parking and service by the bellman were both very friendly and efficient, a good start. We then arrived at the front desk and asked for a minor change that we had called Westin to get approved before coming to the hotel. We explained this to the person who was checking us in, and he was not at all cooperative (to put it mildly). Initially he curtly said he couldn't change anything. We explained again that we had already had the change approved, but were told that we had to have the change made when we arrived at the hotel. When we repeated this a second time, he stood silently and glared at us (i'm not kidding). I then asked to speak to the manager and the person checking us in, after some more glaring, said he could make the change, but it would take several days to make all of the arrangements. We said this would be no problem. He then checked us in, a rocky beginning, but we figured all would go well from there. Our hotel room was very nice, spacious and comfortable, although it was on a low floor for an ocean front room. In spite of some positives, over the next three days a series of things happened that led us to cut our trip short. This started when we tried to close the door to the bathroom for a little privacy, and the door was next to impossible to close (it was a sliding door that stuck). We then tried to use the internet (we got the speedy upgrade) to find a restaurant and directions to get there. However, upon signing in to the hotel's wireless internet, we spent over an hour trying to complete this task .This happened because the internet was so slow, and the connection was frequently dropped during the hour we were online. We finally found a restaurant that was a short distance away and very good (Casablanca Cafe), so settled for that. The next day we decided to eat dinner early and come back to our room and watch a little TV. When we arrived back in the hotel room, we found that half the TV channels (most of the prime channels) were down. (This happened again later, and at other times the TV channel would change for no reason). By this time, we're wondering about our choice of hotels, but figured a good workout the next morning would help us feel better. We arose early and went to the empty workout room, and found that all three elliptical machines were available. My wife's initial selection didn't work appropriately so she switched to another machine, which also didn't work (what else can go wrong!). She made do with a treadmill that did work, but this was the last straw, and we decided that we would give up our free night's stay and depart the next morning. The next morning, we called for a bellman, and were told someone would be up shortly. After a half hour we called again. The bellman then arrived quickly, and told us that the concierge forgot to call for a bellman when we called previously. The bellman was again very friendly and efficient, loaded our suitcases in our car, and we were off. I've never had such an unpleasant stay at a hotel, and I've stayed in many. There are many good things about this hotel (great location, nice rooms, good service from the bellmen and guys handling valet parking, Starbucks on the first floor, good restaurants nearby, and a great beach across the street). However, on our next trip to Ft. Lauderdale, we'll find another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback from your recent stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. First and foremost, please accept our sincerest apologies for the challenges and difficulties you encountered throughout your stay, as this is certainly not the experience we aim to provide our guests. Your comments are very much appreciated, as this will help us to improve the quality and service of our hotel and the products we offer. We do take all reviews very seriously and have notified our Management team, so we can work on resolving the issues you experienced. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing