We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bummed on 33”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #29 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Westin is in the perfect place.....right on the beach with allot of restaurants within walking distance. Very nice rooms, little confusing getting to the west tower. We celebrated our 33rd anniversary and asked for a room with a beach view. We were told they would see what they could do. Our room was great except we got a view of the roof air conditioners. I was disappointed with registration they didn't tell us the room wasn't available. We expected to see the beach or a glimpse of the beach; but it didn't happen. I wish they would have said something at check in. We had a wonderful time; enjoyed our stay and will return to the hotel!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Debbie R: We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share with us your review about your recent stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We apologize for not providing you with the view you had expected for your anniversary and do hope we have the chance to welcome you back, so you may stay in one of our ocean view guestrooms. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed your stay!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,938 - 1,944 of 3,611 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have been at this property for 5 nights and 6 days and I am simply amazed on a daily basis at how awesome the staff here is. The housekeepers, the convention staff, the food is top notch and then there is Storme the doorman. WOW! Storme greeted me by name every day in the hallways when I saw him, and left me a voice message every day on the room phone making sure that I knew that if I needed anything, he was on duty.
I cannot say enough about how pleased I am with this hotel. And I didn't even mention the view!
Kudos Westin staff! You were great!

Room Tip: I was in the south tower, a nice view but a bit of a walk from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloomingtonchecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear bloomingtonchecker: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay at our resort. We are so glad to hear that our enthusiastic staff went above and beyond to make your Westin stay even more enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit to Sunny Fort Lauderdale Beach!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stay over 125 nights a year in hotels. Over 100 of them are at Starwood properties. Beside a clean room guest service is the most important thing to me. The VIP Hosts Ronavia and Akeen are there to make sure everything is perfect. Located on the beach with a great swimming pool and great restaurants it is tough to beat this hotel in Fort Lauderdale.

Room Tip: Beach view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Terry G: To begin, we are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We have a fantastic team of associates, who strive to go above and beyond all guest expectations! We hope to see you again in the near future shall your travels bring you back to Sunny Fort Lauderdale Beach!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. It was for one night. Everyone who worked here was helpful and polite. I upgraded to a room with a bit of harbor view. I was a little disappointed at the location of our room. We were one flight above, what I assume, from just being only able to see the walls of another building. If I opened my sliding glass door all I heard was the loud A/C units, so we kept them closed. And looking onto the top of an ugly building was not my idea of what I signed up for but I did see a little bit of the harbor. I think if we had been moved up a few floors we would have saw all harbor. But oh well....

The room was comfortable, our only complaint is that the bathrooms are very strange. No solid doors. It's more like a window shutter, plus there is a window in the bathroom. This makes privacy when having to go to the potty very interesting. Thankfully it was just my husband and I. The bed was awesome. No way to close the shower it was half way open so there was a breeze. The room was clean and everything worked.

The walk to the beach was made very convenient by a walkway that was out by the pool. This was a very nice amenity. The restaurant downstairs was pricey so we walked around and found lots to eat in a short distance.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the harbor, ask what level is best for this view. Too low and you could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray-Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Ray-Ray C: We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your one-night stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale and all of our signature Westin amenities. We have received other guest comments about the functionality of the bathroom shutters and will be sure to address with our Engineering team. We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach for your next stay!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Was expecting this hotel to be a bit more high end with the Westin name. Hotel room was OK but is in need of updating, side tables are nicked up and computer chair had a hole in the back, also marks on the walls showing wear. Phones in room did not work took two repairs before it was working. What saved the hotel is the staff and the location. Friendly front desk employees, repairmen and my waitress at Shulas was excellent (she had braces didn't get her name). Food was really good at Shulas as well ate there for breakfast and dinner (try the Greek Yogurt Blueberry Pancakes). Also the Gym was fairly large and well maintained. Didn't have a chance to try out the Spa but it did look inviting. Liked that there was water available at no charge in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cudiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Cudiva: Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay, it sounds like you had a wonderful time with us and a great experience at Shula’s on the Beach! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future to the oceanfront Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here in April while attending the conference. The hotel has a great location on the Fort Lauderdale Beachfront area. I would give it three stars on an American scale. As reflected in previous reviews, the property could use some renovation. It is clean, and the customer service is very good. Beds are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ocean side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vista30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Vista30: Thank you for your review and taking the time to post your feedback during your conference. Again, thank you for your comments, as we proactively take measures to ensure the quality of each guests stay.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great location. Our room with a view was perfect. But the staff made our stay all the more enjoyable. Special thanks to Stormin the Dorrman....you rock!!!!!! He went out of his way to make our stay memorable!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsiemaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear gypsiemaya: Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay; including our wondeful staff. We look forward to your next visit to beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,142 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,793 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,988 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,015 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £148 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing