We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Excellent customer service! Have stayed at this location several times and highly recommend the Ft Lauderdale location. Must mention the professionalism and courtesy of Storme the doorman! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Angel O: Thank you for your review and your continued patronage to our resort. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, our location, and staff! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,595)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,837 - 1,843 of 3,596 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

It's in the details and they were mostly missing. Everything from the lack of a full length mirror in the room, one robe per every two guests, $20 charges per use for a single beach umbrella, lack of anything but basic coffee in the room service menu, exorbitant car parking fees, uninspired and chintzy "spa" toiletries as well a very small shoebox of a room that they have the gall to refer to as a suite and a "balcony" that is unusable as it is merely a window railing outside the sliding glass door. This hotel stay was less than stellar all around. We've stayed in many Starwood resorts in both the
United States and Canada and this one was the least impressive yet.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee10travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Lee10travels: Thank you for your review. We're very disappointed to hear about your recent stay at our establishment, and we are passing your experiences along to the relevant departments. Customer service is of utmost importance to us, and we are always striving to improve. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again, so that we may show you better hospitality.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent 7 nights at the Westin July 1-7. We have frequented the Westin Diplomat on several occasions, and although we love that resort, we have never enjoyed the Diplomat's beach. Thus we ventured to Fort Lauderdale. The lobby is a typical Westin lobby. As Platinum guests we were upgraded to a top floor ocean front corner room in the North tower. The hallways gave the impression that the hotel is worn, so we were prepared for a tired looking room. We were relieved to see that the room was very clean and although not "suite-like", was large enough to not feel cramped. The bathroom was extremely clean. The shower head did not work properly. The full length windows open (no balcony) to a perfect view of the ocean. There is furniture in front of the windows, including a TV, which hampers the view somewhat. The king bed was not as firm as I would have liked, and I felt that it needed to be replaced. We were pleased that as Platinum guests we were given the choice of a well stocked breakfast buffet with omelet station, or a credit toward a menued breakfast. At the Diplomat there is a club room, but quite frankly the attendant there is so snobby and arrogant that he has left an indelible impression on me. Every time I have visited the Diplomat he has been there. The Westin pool is inadequate to say the least. We noticed that all the pools in the area seemed to be above ground, and not all that great. No hot tub. The first 2 days we spent most of our time around the pool. The pool attendants worked their tails off, and were so pleasant. The lounge chairs around the pool would not dry completely, and were not that comfortable. On day 3 we chose to lounge on the beach and paid the $20 umbrella fee which was well worth it. The lounge chairs at the beach were much more comfortable. On the 3rd day there was entertainment up at the pool. Although the music was upbeat and fun, it was way too loud, and in my opinion, distracted from the beautiful beach setting. This entertainment went on for 4 days. The beach attendant was not nearly as dedicated to the guests' comfort as were the pool attendants. The greatest thing about this resort is the beach. Incredible! The water felt like bath water. One could walk out 100 yards, and the waves were so gentle or non-existent that guests from ages 2 to 92 could enjoy it. The clear water was also very nice. The last day we had some waves, but nothing like other places such as California, Hawaii or Cancun. We have determined that July is a great time to visit this resort. My husband and I did a "swim walk" mile both directions of the beach every day, and could stand and walk the entire distance without problem. There are a few cold pockets of water here and there, but the Westin, Hilton and W had the warmest, calmest water by far on this stretch. We both agree that if you want to enjoy the beach and water, Westin surpasses the Diplomat in every way. A bonus was that on the 4th of July, the fireworks were essentially right out our window. We enjoyed the festivities from the comfort of our room. If you are a pool person, and desire a very spacious room and balcony, The Diplomat would be your best option in the Fort Lauderdale, Hollywood area. If you love the ocean and beach, the Westin is the best. We will return to the Westin.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front, top floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 1HotNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear 1HotNana: Thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth review! We’re thrilled that to hear about your wonderful time with us at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. It’s great that you enjoyed our signature Westin amenities, service provided by our staff, and our beautiful location on the beach. We’ll be sure to pass your kudos along. Thanks again, and we can’t wait to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Westin was very upscale and customer service was immaculate. Family oriented and in an ideal spot to see Miami. Stayed for two nights. Check in was fairly quick and the valets were awesome. They offered late check out. Bag service was awesome soon as you step foot out of the car. If you want to feel like your getting more than what you spent this is definitely the Hotel to stay at.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank October's V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear October's V: Thank you for your kind words. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as our ambience and staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was here for a conference with my family and upon check in, I could not be more happy with the staff. It was a rough start for me as I had lost some cash that I had placed in my pocket, and my room was not ready, but Matthew at the front desk went out of his way to make me feel welcomed and more comfortable. You never appreciate the front desk staff enough until there is a problem, and it was truly remarkable how the staff, especially Matthew, can make you feel like their only guest. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanted superior customer service, from check-in to check-out.

We had an excellent room in the north tower on the 10th floor which was ocean front. This room was perfect view, with plenty of room for me, my 2 young boys, and husband. The 2 double beds seemed roomy enough, and I especially liked the sliding glass doors to get a bit of that ocean air.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better, and oceanfront is amazing - it seems like it's a stone's throw...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoxMom19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear SoxMom19: Thank you for sharing your vacation memories with us! We couldn’t be happier to hear that you loved your experience from check-in to check out. It sounds as though you loved our staff just as much as we do. We can’t wait to have you back again soon!
Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel! Perfect location! Walking distance to restaurants, bars, shopping, a 24-hour CVS (they sell wine!!) Room service was delicious and the staff was very accommodating. Solange at Shula's was very sweet as well! Views in the rooms were perfect! We had 3 rooms and each one had beautiful views.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank BigFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear BigFamily2014: Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. It sounds like you had a great time and we can't wait to share your kind comments with our staff. We look forward to your next beach vacation with us!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I booked this room from hotels.com last minute, and the price was great, $169/night. They even upgraded us to a room with a partial ocean view.
The room was ok. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were clean, but the bathroom only had shutters that slid, no real door, so it's not great if you want privacy. The air-conditioning also had condensation that leaked onto the rug, causing a slight smell.
The restaurant has a delicious breakfast, and is upscale but still comfortable, which is a great balance. The management was more than friendly and in the off season it was a nice, quiet atmosphere. All in all I'd say it's a good stay and the rooms are almost there; with bathroom doors and floors without rugs they'd have me sold. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLS_22940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear CLS_22940: Thank you so much for staying with us and choosing our hotel as your travel destination. We appreciate you mentioning your opinion of the bathroom doors, as we are currently discussing ways to improve the privacy and functionality of this feature with our Engineering team. Thanks again for taking the time to share your review and we hope your travels will bring you back soon to The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,127 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,761 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,966 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,001 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £134 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing