We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #29 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Convenient place”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a walkway to the beach. You can also walk up and down the road and find restaurants, shopping, beach stores, and a CVS. They were very friendly and the rooms were clean and tidy. The hallways did smell like fried food, probably from room service.

Parking is valet only and $32/day. We had an issue once, but the staff tried hard to make it right. We looked at the menus for the restaurants, but nothing struck us.

You can probably find a better hotel, but this one was just fine!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JCKelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear JCKelsey: Thank you for sharing your review of our resort! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location on Fort Lauderdale Beach.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    1,100
    482
    207
    145
See reviews for
921
1,166
165
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Probably the only good thing about this hotel was the restaurant - Shula's - where the food was great. Oh, and a porter named Storm, who was extremely friendly and helpful! Other than that, the hotel was very so-so, and falling apart on many fronts.

The wi-fi was not working in our room, and it was a rigmarole trying to get the hotel staff to take responsibility and do something about it. Finally, we had it fixed, but not before speaking to about 4 different technical people, each of whom tried to pass the buck.

So many of the items in our room were broken - like the bedside lamp, the hairdryer in the bathroom, the TV remote control, among other things. On one day, I was told there was a package delivered for me at the front desk, and when I went to collect it, the front desk staff had misplaced it. After some hours of tracing, they finally managed to track it down - they had delivered it to the wrong room.

Generally, there were many little mishaps like that, but the staff as well as the food at Shula's was amazing! Also, the view from the room was great. It was an unobstructed ocean view. Storm, the porter who helped us with our luggage when we checked in, was extremely friendly, and greeted us every day, and would always ask us if we required any help.

All in all, it was a bit of a mixed bag of a hotel, when it came to the quality of our stay.

Room Tip: The lower floors are noisy, as they are too close to the swimming pool and the street outside. Choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Indie R: Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We appreciate your comments about your experience at Shula's on the Beach and the condition of the amenities in-room. Rest assured, we will be sure to share your feedback with our management team for future improvements.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Loved this hotel and its location. We had ocean front room on top floor which was superb and we tended to spend much of the day on the beach. The golden sand and warm, shallow water make this and excellent spot for any beach lover, especially as the hotel provide loungers free and also and umbrella at a charge of $20 dollars - well worth it!. The hotel pool area seemed to be a bit more busy as the pool itself is quite small, but it certainly seemed popular while we were there. There is a bar and grill at the pool side, the food was good and nothing beats a cold beer when you come off the beach. All the staff were friendly with the exception of one young girl at the pool bar who was quite surly and made it obvious that she didn't want to be there. (There is always one I suppose !). Would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a great beach holiday at Ft Lauderdale with good bars / restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Choose ocean front on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Joe757: Wow what a wonderful review about your recent stay! We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay and all of our Westin amenities and outlets. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This is our second time staying here. For the most part its a really nice hotel, very clean, comfy beds, great ocean views, walking distance to all the fun places on the strip. This last trip we stayed on the 5 th floor. We arrived at 3:30 for check in and waited about an hour because the room was not ready. The front desk was suppose to call us but never did we just went back up after waiting to see if we could check in yet. only issue with our stay was it was very loud house keeping slams the doors to each room literally all morning. We were across from the ice machine so every time some one got ice we heard it. We unfortunately did not get to enjoy the pool as there was not one chair open to use. They recently built these very pretty cabanas that were empty but they should of used that space for more lounge chairs. The prices at the pool bar are insane! $14 per drink is crazy when the bars down the street were half that price. Parking is $25 a day additional, which is just crazy when your paying $200 plus per night. Shula's steakhouse is attached and the food is very good! All in All pretty hotel great location, but completely over priced!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jpalex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jpalex13: Thank you for sharing your wonderful compliments about our beautiful location, friendly staff, and signature Westin amenities and outlets. We also appreciate you leaving us feedback regarding the areas that could use improvement, they are very much appreciated!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austintown, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Excellent customer service! Have stayed at this location several times and highly recommend the Ft Lauderdale location. Must mention the professionalism and courtesy of Storme the doorman! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Angel O: Thank you for your review and your continued patronage to our resort. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, our location, and staff! We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bergen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It's in the details and they were mostly missing. Everything from the lack of a full length mirror in the room, one robe per every two guests, $20 charges per use for a single beach umbrella, lack of anything but basic coffee in the room service menu, exorbitant car parking fees, uninspired and chintzy "spa" toiletries as well a very small shoebox of a room that they have the gall to refer to as a suite and a "balcony" that is unusable as it is merely a window railing outside the sliding glass door. This hotel stay was less than stellar all around. We've stayed in many Starwood resorts in both the
United States and Canada and this one was the least impressive yet.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee10travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Lee10travels: Thank you for your review. We're very disappointed to hear about your recent stay at our establishment, and we are passing your experiences along to the relevant departments. Customer service is of utmost importance to us, and we are always striving to improve. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again, so that we may show you better hospitality.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent 7 nights at the Westin July 1-7. We have frequented the Westin Diplomat on several occasions, and although we love that resort, we have never enjoyed the Diplomat's beach. Thus we ventured to Fort Lauderdale. The lobby is a typical Westin lobby. As Platinum guests we were upgraded to a top floor ocean front corner room in the North tower. The hallways gave the impression that the hotel is worn, so we were prepared for a tired looking room. We were relieved to see that the room was very clean and although not "suite-like", was large enough to not feel cramped. The bathroom was extremely clean. The shower head did not work properly. The full length windows open (no balcony) to a perfect view of the ocean. There is furniture in front of the windows, including a TV, which hampers the view somewhat. The king bed was not as firm as I would have liked, and I felt that it needed to be replaced. We were pleased that as Platinum guests we were given the choice of a well stocked breakfast buffet with omelet station, or a credit toward a menued breakfast. At the Diplomat there is a club room, but quite frankly the attendant there is so snobby and arrogant that he has left an indelible impression on me. Every time I have visited the Diplomat he has been there. The Westin pool is inadequate to say the least. We noticed that all the pools in the area seemed to be above ground, and not all that great. No hot tub. The first 2 days we spent most of our time around the pool. The pool attendants worked their tails off, and were so pleasant. The lounge chairs around the pool would not dry completely, and were not that comfortable. On day 3 we chose to lounge on the beach and paid the $20 umbrella fee which was well worth it. The lounge chairs at the beach were much more comfortable. On the 3rd day there was entertainment up at the pool. Although the music was upbeat and fun, it was way too loud, and in my opinion, distracted from the beautiful beach setting. This entertainment went on for 4 days. The beach attendant was not nearly as dedicated to the guests' comfort as were the pool attendants. The greatest thing about this resort is the beach. Incredible! The water felt like bath water. One could walk out 100 yards, and the waves were so gentle or non-existent that guests from ages 2 to 92 could enjoy it. The clear water was also very nice. The last day we had some waves, but nothing like other places such as California, Hawaii or Cancun. We have determined that July is a great time to visit this resort. My husband and I did a "swim walk" mile both directions of the beach every day, and could stand and walk the entire distance without problem. There are a few cold pockets of water here and there, but the Westin, Hilton and W had the warmest, calmest water by far on this stretch. We both agree that if you want to enjoy the beach and water, Westin surpasses the Diplomat in every way. A bonus was that on the 4th of July, the fireworks were essentially right out our window. We enjoyed the festivities from the comfort of our room. If you are a pool person, and desire a very spacious room and balcony, The Diplomat would be your best option in the Fort Lauderdale, Hollywood area. If you love the ocean and beach, the Westin is the best. We will return to the Westin.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1HotNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear 1HotNana: Thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth review! We’re thrilled that to hear about your wonderful time with us at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. It’s great that you enjoyed our signature Westin amenities, service provided by our staff, and our beautiful location on the beach. We’ll be sure to pass your kudos along. Thanks again, and we can’t wait to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,019 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,649 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,951 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,835 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing