We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost Paradise”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I absolutely love staying here!! The restaurants, pool, beach access, and staff are all top notch! There are poolside and beach attendants to take care of your needs. There are poolside drinks and dining available. This is our second time staying here and both times we have had the pleasure of being assisted and taken care of by an wonderful man, Storme, the doorman. He has gone out of his way to ensure we have a wonderful experience. The Spa is amazing and I highly recommend it! We are definitely coming back!!

Room Tip: highly recommend the ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Kerry L: Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience us. We will be sure to pass along your kind comments to our staff! It was a pleasure having you, and we hope you visit again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,582
    1,117
    498
    217
    151
See reviews for
953
1,190
165
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is our second year in a row staying at this awesome hotel for our summer vacation. You can't beat the location, amenities, and most of all the incredible staff!! I have traveled all over the world and the service we receive here is unmatched! There is an exceptionally delightful doorman named Storme, who has taken care of us during both of our stays here. Storme will make sure you have a wonderful experience. I also appreciate this hotel's support of our military by offering military discounts! We can't wait to come back again next year!!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Garry L: Thank you for sharing you wonderful review and thank you for continued patronage to The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We are lucky to have you as a loyal guest. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences with us on Trip Advisor and we are already looking forward to your next staycation with us!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is right on the beach with a covered walkway right to the beach. It is also walkable to restaurants, bars, and shopping right on the beach.

The beach is fantastic! They have free beach chairs but charge $20 or $25 for umbrella use. Just go to cvs down the street and buy one for $20 if your staying longer than a day. The pool,is also great however the pool water is very warm. It is probably bc it does lose the sun later in the day. You can always find a sunny spot though

The staff is great, the come around and serve drinks as well from the pool bar! It does get pricey though!

Parking is also very very expensive but all hotels on the beach are. Rooms are nice and the bed is as usual very comfortable. Do try to request a higher room so you get a better view of the beach or intercostal.

Shulas is great to for the breakfast buffet and for drinks.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear chris c: Thank you so much for sharing your great review! We are so glad that you have made us your hotel of choice while staying in Fort Lauderdale and can't wait to see you again on your next trip!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here in a Lanai Room.
Check in was swift and non descript, the lady ran over everything quickly and off we went to our Lanai Room (this room features an attached Cabana that offers a walk way to the pool area).
The room is nice enough but the Lanai was dirty with packets of crisps, straws strewn on the furniture and floor. The lanai furniture had also been moved by other people occupying the rooms next to us and the room had not been pre checked by the hotel before our arrival(a pet hate of mine!)
The pool and decking area whilst dated are good and we had a great 2 days of sunbathing and chilling by the pool and it's bar. The service is good and the Sushi is excellent served in generous portions from their attached restaurant Amatsu.

Hotel is in a prominent location and prices are reasonable. SPG members also get dining discounts and additional points if we select to forgo mandatory housekeeping.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ritu k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear ritu k: Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts! We appreciate your insight regarding our accommodations. Please know that your feedback is important to us as we work to improve the product and services offered to our guests. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the food and ambiance at Amatsu Sushi & Sake as well as the service provided by our pool attendants. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have you back for future stays at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Westin for a week long trip for a vacation/work trip. The hotel is a $26 cab ride from the hotel and with it's location you don't really need a car unless you don't like to walk. Locally there is a hop-on hop-off trolley you can take anywhere around the area, or you can rent a bike at any of the rental stations. My wife would rent one by the hotel and ride it about 20 minutes to downtown Fort Lauderdale which is where Las Olas is located.
As for the hotel itself, it was great. At check-in they gave up a partial ocean view for being an SPG member. So if you're not one, I would suggest joining when you get there. The week we we're there they had a lot of bonuses going on for SPG members like free messages, free champagne, and free cocktails by the pool at sunset. So it benefits being a SPG member at this hotel.
On the beach they have complementary beach chairs you can use, and if needed you can rent an umbrella for the day. At the pool you can get beach towels or pool towels. The pool staff was amazing. After the first day, Kevin at the pool remembered my name and each day they'd help try suggesting good places to go eat. Also at the pool they offer complementary citrus water in the afternoon hours.
The room was spacious and very up-to-date. They could use a few more plugs around the bed to plug in phones, but that's not a huge issue. They also have Starbucks coffee in the rooms which is a nice touch, and if you run out they have a Starbucks located on the first floor of the south tower. Overall the hotel is very nice with a great staff! The rooms are modern and you can have an amazing view from you room if you're lucky! The only thing I'd suggest is replacing the carpet in the hall ways with tile. The stains on the carpet on the 8th floor are nasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairchild84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear fairchild84: Thank you for sharing your wonderful compliments about our beautiful location, friendly staff, and signature Westin amenities and outlets. We also appreciate you leaving us feedback regarding the areas that could use improvement, they are very much appreciated!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a walkway to the beach. You can also walk up and down the road and find restaurants, shopping, beach stores, and a CVS. They were very friendly and the rooms were clean and tidy. The hallways did smell like fried food, probably from room service.

Parking is valet only and $32/day. We had an issue once, but the staff tried hard to make it right. We looked at the menus for the restaurants, but nothing struck us.

You can probably find a better hotel, but this one was just fine!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JCKelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear JCKelsey: Thank you for sharing your review of our resort! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location on Fort Lauderdale Beach.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Probably the only good thing about this hotel was the restaurant - Shula's - where the food was great. Oh, and a porter named Storm, who was extremely friendly and helpful! Other than that, the hotel was very so-so, and falling apart on many fronts.

The wi-fi was not working in our room, and it was a rigmarole trying to get the hotel staff to take responsibility and do something about it. Finally, we had it fixed, but not before speaking to about 4 different technical people, each of whom tried to pass the buck.

So many of the items in our room were broken - like the bedside lamp, the hairdryer in the bathroom, the TV remote control, among other things. On one day, I was told there was a package delivered for me at the front desk, and when I went to collect it, the front desk staff had misplaced it. After some hours of tracing, they finally managed to track it down - they had delivered it to the wrong room.

Generally, there were many little mishaps like that, but the staff as well as the food at Shula's was amazing! Also, the view from the room was great. It was an unobstructed ocean view. Storm, the porter who helped us with our luggage when we checked in, was extremely friendly, and greeted us every day, and would always ask us if we required any help.

All in all, it was a bit of a mixed bag of a hotel, when it came to the quality of our stay.

Room Tip: The lower floors are noisy, as they are too close to the swimming pool and the street outside. Choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Indie R: Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We appreciate your comments about your experience at Shula's on the Beach and the condition of the amenities in-room. Rest assured, we will be sure to share your feedback with our management team for future improvements.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,095 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,920 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,990 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool here at the beautiful Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort. An oceanfront resort with an inspirational setting on Fort Lauderdale Beach, it is our hope that your stay with us will leave you feeling refreshed. Discover the "Venice of America" and explore 300 miles of navigable waterways or relax on the warm sands of Atlantic Ocean beaches. Bask in the sunshine on our serene pool deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoy wonderful on-site Ft. Lauderdale dining or venture out to Las Olas Boulevard which features nightlife, shopping and restaurants. Restore body and mind in our 432 soothing and elegant guest rooms, each graced with the sumptuous Westin Heavenly(R) Bed. A daily Resort Charge plus tax, per day will be posted to each guest room for a variety of amenities and services. Valet Parking available for an additional fee per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing