We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place, Best Part of Town, Best Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palm Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Palm Plaza
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Best Place, Best Part of Town, Best Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I lived in Fort Lauderdale for ten years, and know a good thing when I see one down there. I go to Fort Lauderdale several times a year, and always stay at the Grand Palm Plaza (not to be confused with Royal Palm Plaza). The owners have transformed Fort Lauderdale beach so it now looks like South Beach right after all the great art deco hotels were renovated and given W-Style amenities and service. There is no better place to stay in Fort Lauderdale right now, and the pop up out door dinner space in the center of their many properties on the beach just confirms how white hot their hotels and Fort Lauderdale beach is right now. Ed Z and his staff always take excellent care of us. Book early and book often, because this place is going to take off very soon just like South Beach did! DC Travel Guy

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelGuy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand P, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is really is a pleasure having you use our resort as your home away from home. We look forward to your next monthly visit. - Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    83
    23
    21
    15
See reviews for
6
189
79
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had the pleasure of a 5 night stay during Christmas week. Having stayed in this area of Fort Lauderdale twice in the past this is an amazing location. Short walk to beach, short ride to Wilton manors and plenty of food and drinks in walking distance, but was beginning to show its age. While searching for a Christmas week vacation made contact with Edward the property manager, he advised reopening after an extensive make over .. That it was, room totally renovated, mid-century modern design, all new furnishings and they are now part of North Beach Village Resorts, all in this area, amazingly updated facility of a classic resort, staff especially Edward, Alberto and Keith were amazing, making you feel like family. Amenities included a microwave, small refrigerator and coffee pot in room and a gas grill for our use. Nice continental breakfast from 8:30 to 10:30 every day and they even brought frozen grapes and cold towels poolside the one day it was steamy. Highly recommend and take a look at the north beach village collection, whether LGBT or family they have something for you and anxious to see the future plans come to fruition. Highly recommend and best bang for the buck. Thank you Edward !

Room Tip: If going to Fort Lauderdale beach check out north beach village properties .. See if you can get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand P, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Gentlemen, Thank you very much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having all of you at the resort, and we look forward to seeing you again next year. I am so happy you are very pleased with the renovations. All the best to you in the new year. The staff at Grand Palm Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuqerque,NM
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

This was our first visit to South Florida. My Partner and I were loooking forward to
our first stay at a "Gay Resort". We arrived at Grand Palm Plaza noticing the baking
hot "astro turf" amongst beautiful gardens and palms.. As we went up to our room on
the second level in the corner, we immediately noticed the rusted and rotten railings
along the top level. Some of the railings were just holding on by plaster and paint,
which we thought was very dangerous. Our room "seemed" fine although had a small
odor and was very outdated. The only staff that ever introduced themselves were
Edward and Michael. We noticed other staff asking other guests if they needed anything,
but they never asked us. Also, housekeeping is not consistent. We had to ask for towels,
coffee, and vaccuming. We also decided to clean our toilet ourselves because they
never cleaned it. This was a yucky thing to do while on vacation. My Partner would not
stand on the floor on his side of the bed because there is a dangerous soft spot
under the carpet. Lets skip to four day later when the rains started and revealed the
dangerously puddling stairs and walkways. In the room, the outer wall which holds the
windows and air conditioner, began bubbling with water at the baseboard. The
water soaked our luggage and some of the contents. We did not notice this until we
were preparing our stuff for checkout the night before. The carpet and wall were soaked
with water and this wall contained alot of electrical wiring. This could have been very dangerous for us. The odor in this room could be mold and mildew, which could also be dangerous for us.
Edward was not present at check out, but Michael was present and did acknowledge the
issues. As of yet, no compensation has been offered for being put in a dangerous room.
Therefore, we decided to dispute the charges. Please read "all" the reviews about this place.
We do not recomment you stay here. It is dangerously outdated and tacky and cannot be compared to other resorts in the area. It has to be one of the worst places we have ever
stayed at. At times, we were thinking we were in a bad horror movie from the eighties. The only two stars I give to Grand Palm Plaza are for its location, gardens and palms(minus the astro
turf and fake flowers), and Edward and Michael who are doing the best they can with a place
which is in need of extensive renovations.

Room Tip: Stay away from room #22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank crymsunAlbuqerque_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coledwoz, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Gentlemen, I was very sorry to hear your response. From the posts you had on your facebook page, we assumed that you were having a wonderful time. If you had communicated at any time during your stay you felt unsafe, I would have immediately moved you from the top floor and into a more suitable room or another property owned by our company.

Safety always comes first, which is why the building has gone through several inspections. within the year, we had inspectors come and evaluate and the building is indeed up to code. The railing is old, but sturdy enough to withstand body weight. I have tested this myself. However, we will be replacing it during our renovations.

It is unfortunate that the room did leak the night before your check out. We immediately made the repairs to the building and the room. Room #22 is ready and available to use. This place may be old, but has a lot of charm. We are updating both interior and exterior things this summer. Plans for new furniture for the units are in effect next month.

Again I am sorry you felt your experience was like being in "a horror movie from the 80s". From what we read on your facebook page, we were lead to believe you had "the best vacation."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Ky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Had a great time. Rooms super clean. Staff knowledgeable and friendly. Edward made us feel welcome. Most of the guests were returning from previous stays. Definitely will make this place my destination on my return visit. Needs renovation but everything takes time and with the prices it is well worth staying. Thanks guys.

Vic & Warren

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southerncomfort31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coledwoz, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you Vic and Warren for your kind words. You guys were a real pleasure to have at the resort and we sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Edward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

My parner and I just stayed at Palm Plaza. It's a great place to stay on your visit. Everything is easily accessible. The thing that really got me though was how fabulous the manager was. Eddie could not have been more accomodating- I can't say enough good things about him- VERY sweet!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coledwoz, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you both very much for saying such wonderful things about me. I hope the rest of the staff was just as accommodating and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon!

Edward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

My partner and I just spent a week at the Palm Plaza. We have stayed there many times before and will return. The hotel has new owners and a new manager. The manager, Edward, was very accommodating and work hard to provide a nice environment for all of the guest. The new owners are making improvements to the property.( The new beds are great!)
The hotel is an older building but it is clean and the well maintained. It is a great value for the money. The pool area is nice and it is only a two block walk to the beach. The hotel seems to attract a "non-party" crowd and is a nice alternative to the resorts that are noisy all night long. Also the wireless internet works great.

Room Tip: The suites are great if you want to cook, or for an extended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIMTDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coledwoz, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kinds words, and we are glad to hear that your stay was just as memorable as it was in the past. We hope to have a lot more improvements done for your next visit.

Edward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We've stayed many times at the PP, and are always pleased with the accomodations. The property is not new, but has so much of the "Key West" charm, very clean and well maintained. During the last several months the property has had some subtle updates and improvements in and out to compliment our visit. Edward the manager and his staff are always friendly and accomodating to attend to our comfort and needs. The location is awesome for a short walk to the beach and a variety of dining options. Thanks Edward...see you next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2SunChasers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coledwoz, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you both very much for your nice words. We are looking into purchasing new furniture in the very near future, so we hope it will arrive for you potential visit this summer.

Edward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,623 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#55 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#10 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
The Worthington Guest House
#4 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palm Plaza

Property: Grand Palm Plaza
Address: 2801 Rio Mar Street, 501 Orton Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4215 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Palm Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, tropical, fun and frisky oasis - Perfect for relaxation, rejuvenation and romance. We guarantee you will never want to leave! Dreaming of escaping to a beautiful paradise is everyone's idea of a perfect retreat from their everyday life. Whether it be with your lover, a group of close friends or freely unattached, the Grand Palm Plaza guarantees our unique tropical paradise is perfect for any memorable affair. Here, you are not only treated like a VIP, you are treated like family. First-class service is a guarantee at Grand Palm Plaza. Our warm and friendly staff is renowned for their unique customer service and vast knowledge of the Fort Lauderdale area. No request is too small for our team of hosts. As our guest, you can sunbathe in our very private, seductive, tropical paradise; or skinny dip in our turquoise, clothing-optional, heated pool. Continental breakfast is served daily. Frozen grapes, scented cold face towels, and impromptu cocktail beverages are served pool side. If you want to experience Fort Lauderdale's famous beaches, you can take a peaceful 2 block walk to our legendary sandy beaches. We are also a few blocks away from the well-renowned gay beach located at Sebastian Street. Complimentary beach chairs, umbrellas & towels are provided. With activities like snorkeling, water craft rentals, bike rentals and more, you can enjoy all the beaches have to offer. If you want a more relaxing experience, you can dine at one our many beach front restaurants and bars. After spending the day in the sun, enjoy the best gay nightlife at one of Fort Lauderdale's flirtatious bars and nightclubs. Wilton Manors has a vast amount of night entertainment, perfect for everyone. Our resort is just a 15 minute drive from Fort Lauderdale airport and 10 minutes away from Port Everglades. There is ample complimentary and off-street parking available. Book your stay today at Grand Palm Plaza. Our courteous staff, comfortable studios, suites and nearby beaches, gay bars and night clubs will make it easy for you to escape, play or celebrate! A memorable, affordable and relaxing getaway is right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Palm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Gay Male Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing