We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home in the USA”
Review of Grand Palm Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Palm Plaza
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We have now completed our third stay. Palm Plaza is now our "official" home when we visit the states. We have a B&B in Brazil, as such we judge others by our standards. Steve and his staff do an excellent job. We look forward to our next stay in 2011.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doninbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Grand Palm Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2009

This was our second stay at the Palm Plaza. We plan on stay there again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnbarebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

The Palm Plaza is a hidden little gem that will surprise even the most hard-nosed of travelers. It's hard to beat the friendliness and efficiency of the staff (Thanks Steve and company). The rooms are well kept and pleasantly decorated. The more than ample continental breakfast delivered to your room's refrigerator is a very welcome amenity. This hotel delivers all the amenities (including a welcome toiletry kit) for a fraction of the price of nearby guesthouses. We will we return again to our "home away from home".

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carnesbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

My friends and I made the Palm Plaza our home away from home during my FLL vacation last week. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. The service was great, and the rooms were wonderfully comfortable and tidy.

It is evident that Steve, the manager, takes great pride in the facility. While the building is a little older, he and his staff have gone to great lengths to make the facility warm and inviting. The grounds and foliage are absolutely gorgeous.

The resort is conveniently located to almost anything, and is within easy walking distance to the beach and Sunrise Blvd. For future trips, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharrison1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

I stayed at the Palm Plaza for 1 week. It's exactly as pictured & described on their website. The room was very clean & the bed was very comfortable. The grounds & pool were well kept and the staff was great. I would definitely stay there again as well as recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Ft. Lauderdale. The Palm Plaza exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

It was my first time in Fort Lauderdale and first time staying in a gay resort. My partner and I were so amazed by our experience with Palm Plaza Resort. It is located next to Hilton Hotel on Riomar Street but very quiet. The facility is well maintained and clean. The manager, Steve, is super helpful and friendly... 5 minutes walk to the beach, 15 minutes walk to the gay beach (Sebastian Beach), and about 15 minutes walk to a row of restaurants in that neighborhood. Parking is easy and free, right next to the resort. Free breakfast is nothing fancy tho… Overall, great value for the price we paid to stay in Palm Plaza Resort. We will certainly stay there again next time!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vic007nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

We made a spontaneous decision to join our friends at the Palm Plaza. We were amazed and pleased upon our arrival. The staff is friendly, and attentive. The rooms are very clean and well appointed.
With only a short walk to the beach and shopping it is the perfect location. We cannot thank Steve and his staff enough for their flexibility and attention to detail. We will be back soon!
Amilcar, Frank, & Tim.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TnT442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,028 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,817 reviews
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#12 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Worthington Guest House
#2 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
837 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,301 reviews
snooze
#4 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palm Plaza

Address: 2801 Rio Mar Street, 501 Orton Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4215 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £73 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Palm Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, tropical, fun and frisky oasis - Perfect for relaxation, rejuvenation and romance. We guarantee you will never want to leave! Dreaming of escaping to a beautiful paradise is everyone's idea of a perfect retreat from their everyday life. Whether it be with your lover, a group of close friends or freely unattached, the Grand Palm Plaza guarantees our unique tropical paradise is perfect for any memorable affair. Here, you are not only treated like a VIP, you are treated like family. First-class service is a guarantee at Grand Palm Plaza. Our warm and friendly staff is renowned for their unique customer service and vast knowledge of the Fort Lauderdale area. No request is too small for our team of hosts. As our guest, you can sunbathe in our very private, seductive, tropical paradise; or skinny dip in our turquoise, clothing-optional, heated pool. Continental breakfast is served daily. Frozen grapes, scented cold face towels, and impromptu cocktail beverages are served pool side. If you want to experience Fort Lauderdale's famous beaches, you can take a peaceful 2 block walk to our legendary sandy beaches. We are also a few blocks away from the well-renowned gay beach located at Sebastian Street. Complimentary beach chairs, umbrellas & towels are provided. With activities like snorkeling, water craft rentals, bike rentals and more, you can enjoy all the beaches have to offer. If you want a more relaxing experience, you can dine at one our many beach front restaurants and bars. After spending the day in the sun, enjoy the best gay nightlife at one of Fort Lauderdale's flirtatious bars and nightclubs. Wilton Manors has a vast amount of night entertainment, perfect for everyone. Our resort is just a 15 minute drive from Fort Lauderdale airport and 10 minutes away from Port Everglades. There is ample complimentary and off-street parking available. Book your stay today at Grand Palm Plaza. Our courteous staff, comfortable studios, suites and nearby beaches, gay bars and night clubs will make it easy for you to escape, play or celebrate! A memorable, affordable and relaxing getaway is right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Palm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Gay Male Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing