We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything that you look for in a gay resort.”
Review of Grand Palm Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Palm Plaza
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed at the Palm Plaza for 4 night. We loved every minute of it!
The tropical garden surounding the pool area is very beautiful as is the pool.
The rooms are very spacious and clean.
The host Steve and the staff are all very friendly and helpfull.
Also the guest that were staying here were very social and we had a good time chatting with them by the pool.
The complementary breakfast basket was also very welcome and delicious!
The location of the resort is very good, because it's in walking distance from the (gay)beach in Ft Lauderdale and 10min driving to Wilton Manors.
We will surely stay here again when we come back to Ft Lauderdale!
Greetings from Ben and Wim, Antwerp Belgium

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2009

3 blocks from the beach, beach chairs, umbrella, cooler, spotless, bend over backwards gracious hosts, pool, gorgeous gardens, the light breakfast in the 'fridge, & a BARGAIN!!!!!!! What more could anyone ask for? A small notepad & a ceiling fan in the Living room. minute details. Will recommend it to all my friends. Thanks, Lenny

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenomatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed at the Palm Plaza in late August 2009. The hotel is quiet, charming and very relaxing. The amenities and room live up to everything they promise on the website. It is an older property that is just about perfect. Just a couple blocks off Fort Lauderdale Beach. It is a great place to unwind, and the owner/staff were friendly, inviting and our stay could not have been better. Fantastic bargain for what you get. I would recommend this to any of our gay friends. We will be back for sure. Michael & Brian, Minneapolis, MN

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnehaha9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

My partner and I needed to go to florida to check some things out prior to our moving there. we chose this resort because of the website and wonderful reviews. when we arrived, we were welcomed with open arms. steve was extremely polite and accomodating. ron was wonderful. very quiet resort and very comfortable room. very clean and well kept. pool was warm and always clean. met some great guys during our weeks stay. this is a small but cozy resort. garden was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broskie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

This was our first time going to a gay resort and both Jeff and I loved it. The resort looked just like it did on the internet . The room we had was really cozy the pool was great. Steve and his staff made you feel so welcome. The beach was a short walk away from the resort. We will be going back to the Palm Plaza Resort again.
Steven and Jeff
Florida
August 24, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Just like last year we stayed at the Palm Plaza Resort. Nice and comfortable room, small but well equiped kitchen, cleaned very thouroughly every day.
Only minutes from the beach, a great pool, BBQ, loungers, fitnessroom. Everything you need!
It's an older place, but very well maintained and the staff is ever so friendly! Easy parking, close to shops and restaurants, safe area. I would absolutely stay here again if I return to Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchBlokeEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Talk about relaxing! WOW! Location was perfect! A very nice and short walk to the beaches, eateries and shopping. Checkin was seamless, personable and quick. Steve could not have been any nicer and always made himself available should you have any questions or concerns. The grounds were beautiful, well manicured and very relaxing. The pool water was a perfect temp both day and night. The rooms were very clean and tastefully decorated with no amenity left out. There were even beach chairs, an umbrella and a cooler for our own personal use for our days at the beach. Not something we had to leave a deposit for and check out at the front desk. These items were already in the room! The breakfast baskets were well equipped and the chocolate-chip muffin I had 1 morning was without a doubt, the best muffin I have ever come across! I swear that muffin made love to me! haha The other guests staying at the Palm Plaza made the already wonderful trip even better! The midnight swim one night turned into a 4 hour gab fest with other guests. We shared stories, laughed, smiled... totally lost track of time! The Palm Plaza was also very quiet. The loudest sounds we heard were those of bullfrogs and other relaxing nature sounds.
I have paid more before to stay at other gay resorts in the area but none of them compared to our trip to the Palm Plaza. We got more for less in this case. Ready to do it again and soon!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cltflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#59 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
764 reviews
Central Beach
The Grand Resort and Spa
The Grand Resort and Spa
#2 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
408 reviews
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#12 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
863 reviews
Alcazar Resort
#5 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
405 reviews
Central Beach
Cheston House Gay Resort
Cheston House Gay Resort
#17 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palm Plaza

Address: 2801 Rio Mar Street, 501 Orton Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4215 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £71 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Palm Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, tropical, fun and frisky oasis - Perfect for relaxation, rejuvenation and romance. We guarantee you will never want to leave! Dreaming of escaping to a beautiful paradise is everyone's idea of a perfect retreat from their everyday life. Whether it be with your lover, a group of close friends or freely unattached, the Grand Palm Plaza guarantees our unique tropical paradise is perfect for any memorable affair. Here, you are not only treated like a VIP, you are treated like family. First-class service is a guarantee at Grand Palm Plaza. Our warm and friendly staff is renowned for their unique customer service and vast knowledge of the Fort Lauderdale area. No request is too small for our team of hosts. As our guest, you can sunbathe in our very private, seductive, tropical paradise; or skinny dip in our turquoise, clothing-optional, heated pool. Continental breakfast is served daily. Frozen grapes, scented cold face towels, and impromptu cocktail beverages are served pool side. If you want to experience Fort Lauderdale's famous beaches, you can take a peaceful 2 block walk to our legendary sandy beaches. We are also a few blocks away from the well-renowned gay beach located at Sebastian Street. Complimentary beach chairs, umbrellas & towels are provided. With activities like snorkeling, water craft rentals, bike rentals and more, you can enjoy all the beaches have to offer. If you want a more relaxing experience, you can dine at one our many beach front restaurants and bars. After spending the day in the sun, enjoy the best gay nightlife at one of Fort Lauderdale's flirtatious bars and nightclubs. Wilton Manors has a vast amount of night entertainment, perfect for everyone. Our resort is just a 15 minute drive from Fort Lauderdale airport and 10 minutes away from Port Everglades. There is ample complimentary and off-street parking available. Book your stay today at Grand Palm Plaza. Our courteous staff, comfortable studios, suites and nearby beaches, gay bars and night clubs will make it easy for you to escape, play or celebrate! A memorable, affordable and relaxing getaway is right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Palm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Gay Male Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing