We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Renovations on a Classic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Ranked #41 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Mine Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Renovations on a Classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2007

I've stayed at Pier 66 quite a few times over the years in the garden rooms and always loved the experience.

I stayed there again in October 2007 and thought the place looked amazing. First, the hotel lobby has been totally revamped to feel like a boutique hotel with lots of clean lines and upscale touches.

The rooms have also been remodeled and now featured high-end linens, flat screen TV and a super comfy bed. The bathrooms are large and sleek and feature a large tub and a huge walk in glass-enclosed shower.

The place is definitely up-to-par with all the other high-end hotels in the area. I'll be back!

  • Liked — Beatutifully remodeled rooms and a great pool.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodwinechickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,821
    1,301
    727
    405
    277
See reviews for
984
1,659
254
844
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, FL
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2007

We absolutely loved this hotel!! We stayed in a tower room and it was beautiful. After reading so many reviews I was really concerned about my choice but I am glad that I stuck with it. The pool, lobby, room bedding, LCD tv, balcony and bathroom was all fabulous. I looked for wear in the room and could not find any.

We had a beautiful view of the Fort Lauderdale skyline and the ocean. Because we were in a room with 2 double beds we weren't able to get a room with the view or the pier but was able to see the cruise ships come in at 6 in the morning, which was very cool.

We ate at the Pelican Bar once and had room service for breakfast. Both were tasty and priced comperable to what we have paid in other hotels. With that said, I am still offended by the $9 we paid for a Pina Colada in the bar.

If you have a car, the beach is 5 to 10 minutes away and is pretty cool. There are a lot of reasonably priced restaurants and shops there which is where we ate most of our meals.

Have a great stay....

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank hopebh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2007

This is really a high priced motel. It does offer a spa (didn't use it) and a very nice multiple swimming pool area. Unfortunately, the latter is dotted with audeo speakers (shaped like artificial rocks) that blast music all day making the whole area noisy and unpleasant.

Our room (not refurbushed) was old. The shower water pressure was nonexistant. Buffet breakfast was sparce.

Beware of added expenses. Internet = $10/day. Parking (even self park) is about $20/day.

If you do plan to stay prior to a cruise, note that the hotel is on the "wrong side" of the bridge for the port and the airport. If you take a cab and the bridge is up, you will just sit and watch the meter tick over.

The hotel seems best suited for groups, not individuals. We would not return.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Maxx144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2007

We spent one night at the Hyatt Pier 66 before our cruise. We used Hyatt points and I am glad we didn't have to pay $ as it would not have been worth it.

We were in the two story buildings not the tower. It looked like rooms were nicer in the tower section. They said our bed was brand new, but it was quite saggy. The tile around the tub in the bathroom was a bit moldy.

The furniture and bed coverings were quite nice. The flatscreen TV and in room frig was nice. They wanted $4 for a bottle of water in your room!

We didn't dine at the hotel but noticed a burger was $15. We took the water taxi for a ride and really enjoyed that - lots of beautiful homes along the waterway. We hopped off in the downtown area and had dinner at Mango's - very good!

There is nothing in walking distance as far as a convenience store, shops or restaurants. It was only a few minutes to the pier the next morning.

  • Liked — The close proximity to the cruise ship terminal
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2007

We have just come back from the Hyatt pier sixty six in fort lauderdale. i read many reviews before i went and now i cant understand why so many people didnt like it. the service was incredible,the hotel is gorgeous.the room was very comfortable i didnt want to leave.we stayed at the tower with a beautiful ocean view. the hotel is very relaxing.the pool and hut tub is open 24 hours.the pool bar its also really nice and has the best pina coladas if you like it.the breakfAst buffet was very good.THE HOTEL also has a free shuttle to the beach every hour.the hotel staff was very helpful and courteous.i would recomended the hyatt for those who like to be pampered and dont spend much.we booked it trough the hotel wich gave us a better price than the vacation package websites.i cant wait to go back.

  • Liked — SERVICE
  • Disliked — NOT ON THE BEACH
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2007

Stayed here for three nights over Thanksgiving while visiting family in Ft. Lauderdale. Good location; close to beach and Las Olas. Room was nice for the high price (although no working WIRELESS internet, which is really a must this day and age was unfortunate). Bed was very, very comfortable and bathroom was great (large and well-appointed but with average amenities). Nice music playing in courtyard/pool area. Renovations meant lobby was kind of spartan and stark, but will probably look nice when done. Negatives: cleaning staff slammed doors in nearby rooms (by keeping safety bolt engaged and letting door slam each time she went to her cleaning cart!) in early morning hours, making sleeping late IMPOSSIBLE; front desk staff was rude when I called for a 1.5 hour late checkout (but other front staff personal were very nice and accommodating). . Review should be 3.5, but gave it a 4 because tripadvisor does not allow for intermediate ratings. 3.5 now; 4 likely when renovations done and rude front desk person is trained properly regarding responding to frequent program guests who are paying over $200/night.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rg1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2007

I can only say excellent things for the Hyatt Regency Pier 66. I don't understand so many of the negative things being said, but I had an excellent stay there while in town for a travel conference from November 29 - December 2. The hotel has not completed all of the renovations and the lobby has not been completed, but when done I know it will be beautiful. It had been many years since I have stayed at Pier 66, but I had forgotten how large the tower rooms were. My room (1263) had been completely renovated, with the new Hyatt Grand bed, LG flat panel LCD TV, new furnishings and new marble bathroom. The balcony was huge looking over downtown Ft Lauderdale, overlooking the pool, and to one side the Port Everglades. I used Spa 66 which had a great steamroom and sauna. I can't wait to return to Pier 66 and the city and beaches of Ft Lauderdale once again.

  • Liked — The beautiful renovated rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank szorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,428 reviews
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#33 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#50 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six

Property: Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Address: 2301 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, a South Florida landmark resort in the heart of Fort Lauderdale, is a 22-acre tropical retreat featuring a world-class marina; Spa 66, the signature health and beauty spa; and a full-service Aquatic Center. A refreshed classic, the resort boasts a new contemporary lounge and function space, along with 384 spacious guestrooms and suites, a spectacular three-pool oasis, and five dining outlets offering everything from incredible waterfront views to innovative, fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-6
Hyatt Regency Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing