We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The brand alone does not justify the 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Ranked #42 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Bogotá
Level Contributor
202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“The brand alone does not justify the 4 stars”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The hotel is located relatively close to Fort Lauterdale´s International airport;
apox. 20 minutes by car.

From the outside and on the website, the hotel looked great.

But: Good or bad is the result of numerous details and characteristics; here´s my experience:

The check in process war quick; I arrived in the morning before the official check-in hour which is 12 o´clock - but got a room immediately which was a pro.
The receptionis was neither nor friendly nor unfriendly - but simply "cold".

The hotel rooms are both in the tower plus in a number of 2 story buildngs along the canals.

I´ve NOT been offered any help with my luggage - something I would expect from a 4 star hotel.

When raining, there is no way, you can reach your room withoug getting wet.
Also the structure of the walkway is very poor - see pictures:
You better put your boots on to keep your feet dry....

The room was large - with a direct view to the canal; with a nice terrasse - great.
But: some ship owners dump their trash onto the great area in front of the room.

The room is large; the airconditioning efficient - but loud.
The bed - very comfortable!
A nice large plasma TV - with a very slow operating system.
A coffeemaker with coffee and tea; plus an empty(!) minibar.

A safety box available - but located on the floor around the corner of a small closed -
which make access difficult.

The bathroom with a tub and a shower - showing dark borders on the bottom.
A nice intensive cleaning would have helped.

The rooms seem to have some "years" - not quite new - and not as expected.
Positive: FREE internet (AT&T) - stable and decent speed.

The installation:
Several areas require maintenance - see pictures.

The gym:
Access from outside "green" - could do with some cleaning!
Inside: no lockers in the gym (maybe in the spa next door).
Equipment: functional - but not well maintained; several machines show oxidation;
others are worn.
See the picture of the aircondition: disgusting - dirty!

It seems that the management has not walked accross the property for a longer time - otherwise, they would have noticed the condition of the property and fixed it.
Or not?

The way it is at the moment, it does not deserve 4 stars.

They charge a high price for the room plus a resort-surcharge; plus self-parking (21USD/day) which in total makes it a very lousy price-performance ratio.

Fortunately, I only stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,901
    1,353
    766
    418
    293
See reviews for
1,029
1,733
261
895
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This was my third time to stay here, and it did not disappoint. The room was in the tower, 13th floor with a great view overlooking the marina and the intercostal. Awesome view. We arrived on Thanksgiving day and were treated to a very nice fusion take on a traditional Thanksgiving meal. The next night dined at the Grill66....had stone crab claws , salad and sauteed mix of mushrooms...YUMMY. It was a great time ....3 days and then a short hop over to Port Everglades to get on the cruise ship. Wonderful vacation before a vacation.

Room Tip: they have a free shuttle to Ft. Lauderdale beach every 30 minutes....use it to go to beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed here prior to taking a cruise, so was only at the hotel for one night. Looked good from the outside & had plenty of parking available. Reception was very spacious & we were greeted politely by reception staff. We were offered a choice of room, internal pool facing, or views of the inland waterway - we chose the latter. Whilst the view of the waterway & boats on it were splendid, the ones facing the pool seemed to have a balcony, ours didn't. Bags were delivered promptly to our very spacious room, with a good sized bathroom. Rooms were well equipped with TV, safe, free wi-Fi, iron & ironing board & coffee making facilities. The only niggle was that the small water bottles in the room were to be charged at $3 each, a bit mean really. Comfortable bed & a quiet good nights sleep. Didn't eat in the restaurant for dinner but breakfast was good quality & plenty of choice. Nice pool area.

Room Tip: Check if your room has a balcony if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolonela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
478 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel and were pleased both times. We loved the Madmen era architecture, with inside fully updated with a recent renovation. The rooms are enormous, both in the lanai and tower areas (we stayed in the tower this time). You could do cartwheels in the bathrooms and closet! The huge windows afforded great views, beds were so comfy, you didn't want to get up in the morning, and we loved the shower...great spray on the showerhead.

Service was friendly and top notch, especially the front desk staff and bellmen, who are some of the best in the business...friendly and knowledgable. We needed a feather pillow and extra towels from housekeeping, and not only did they bring us extras of everything, but freshened the room up too! The food was fabulous in all of the restaurants we ate at on property, even poolside...especially enjoyed my key lime slush! The pool area is serene and comfortable, filled with palm trees. Plenty of chairs and different areas, but still intimate.

Although not right on the beach, they aren't far and offer convenient shuttle service to the beach area, which has lots of shops and restaurants. It's also just a short walk over the bridge in the other direction to conveniences.

The only downfall was that with such large windows/sliders on the beach side of the tower rooms, you can hear some traffic outside...didn't bother us and was totally worth the view!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelsnobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Five days of warmth away from New York's late November chill were well spent at the comfortable Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty Six in Ft Lauderdale. The slick modern lobby area with comfortable seating and a great lobby bar is as welcoming as the ultra friendly staff at check in. Thr rooms are well lit, comfortable, and clean. Housekeeping staff have apparently learned their friendliness from the folks at the front desk. Although the fitness center might be re-equipped with some newer equipment, everything for cardio is state of the art and all exercise machines are fully functionsl. There is plenty of deck space and lounges surrounding the magnificent pool area with well maintained gardens throughout. The specialty restaurant, "Grill 66," was excellent and reasonably priced wit top rate service. As a result, three of my for evening dinners were at Grill 66! No reason to leave the premises! I'll be returning and have made two reservations for January 2012 and am checking my calendar for a few more visits before Spring!

Room Tip: I prefer the tower which shelters one from the patio and lawn activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terryah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We recently helped to host a wedding for my daughter at the Top of Hyatt's Pier 66--it was the most perfect, romantic weekend we could have ever wished for!!!! Most of the 45 guests stayed at the Hyatt, which turned out to be one of the best mini vacations that they had ever had. The rooms were impeccible, and the views of the entire intracoastal and city were outstanding! The guests loved the lobby lounge, which turned out to be the hot spot to start the evening each night. From the moment you enter the property, you are greeted by friendly staff that go out of their way to make the stay a memorable one- and it surpassed our expectations of a true dream wedding. The rooms are pristine, and you'll love the pillows!
If you do choose to get married here, you must see Keith in Event Planning - no wonder he and the entire staff have won numerous awards for hosting the perfect wedding (we watched them win for best venue on 4 Weddings after we booked! ). Also, get a list of vendors that have been used (we loved Ralph Stivali the florist who made our vision of a romantic english garden come to life!) The DJ Eddie B. was also on the vendor list-phenominal-we danced the night away! Every single guest told us that this was their favorite wedding, and that they had never had so much fun in a weekend (when they weren't having fun on the property at the pools and lounges, they hopped the water taxi!). The only thing that I would change is a shuttle from the airport (but there are plenty of taxis). We hope our other daughter invites us to come back in a year for her anniversary weekend, or that our other daughters decide to
host their weddings or other special events here! You will not be dissapointed- it will exceed your expectations of a fun and memorable event for everyone!

Room Tip: Ask for the intracoastal view on a high room for a perfect sunset - the Presidential Suite is ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank townsendwedding t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We had two excellent opportunities to stay at the above property before and after a cruise. The are three things I look for in a hotel...1. Well maintained common areas...2. Courteous, friendly and knowledgeable staff...3. Well maintained rooms (neat, clean and fresh). This property has all three as well as excellent food both in taste and presentation. The location is also convenient to downtown, the cities water taxi service and cruise ship terminals. We were so pleased with our experience that whenever our travel plans include Ft. Lauderdale, we will be staying at this property.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view in the Tower. Since it is circular, there isn't a bad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#53 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,600 reviews
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six

Property: Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Address: 2301 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, a South Florida landmark resort in the heart of Fort Lauderdale, is a 22-acre tropical retreat featuring a world-class marina; Spa 66, the signature health and beauty spa; and a full-service Aquatic Center. A refreshed classic, the resort boasts a new contemporary lounge and function space, along with 384 spacious guestrooms and suites, a spectacular three-pool oasis, and five dining outlets offering everything from incredible waterfront views to innovative, fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-6
Hyatt Regency Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing