We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Cruise Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Ranked #43 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
kamloops
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pre Cruise Hotel”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have recommended this hotel several times to clients, but this was my first stay here. I was pleasantly surprised. At first glance you imagine that the uniquely shaped tower is the whole property, to my delight it was much larger at 12 acres. The lobby and restaurant area were much more modern than I expected. The check in staff very helpful, friendly and efficient. They offered great recommendations for restaurants in the area and things to do.

The main area of the hotel reminded me of a old motel, but once I entered my very large room I was impressed. Updated, with a huge changing are, bathroom and comfortable bedroom area.

Large windows overlooked the canal, the windows also opened to allow for a fresh breeze to keep the room cool. I ordered room service, it was surprisingly affordable, even with the "room service charge AND delivery charge. The bed was very comfortable allowing for a restful sleep after a long day of travel.

Check out was a breeze via the in room TV. I highly recommend this as around noon check out time the queue at the guest relations desk was huge. You must be prepared to taxi to and from the airport as there is no shuttle, this was fine by me as most airport shuttles have 20-40 minute wait, I don't have time for that. Total cost with tip was about $18usd from the airport and about $16 to the cruise ship. The pre paid transfers and shuttles had huge lines and waits. The taxi was the way to go.

You can also walk up 17th street to shop shopping and restaurants, but you do have to cross the bridge, its about a 30 min walk to the main shopping area. There is a convenience store across the street if you just need some water or snacks.

I highly recommend this property for either a one night stay or a full resort vacation.

Room Tip: any room seemed to be good, you will pay extra for a garden view as the rooms are larger, you will m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistance at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
We are very pleased that after recommending our Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six to your clients (thank you!), you finally had a chance to stay here yourself and the experience exceeded your expectations in all areas. We certainly hope this was not your last visit and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Thank you again for high recommendation and for taking the time to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,960
    1,395
    790
    433
    309
See reviews for
1,079
1,779
269
930
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. The property is large - if you are not in the main tower and have heavy luggage, I would recommend getting help with your bags.

The room was comfortable and quiet. We flew in from the West Coast and arrived late. There is no food service available after 10 p.m. which was a bummer. There is a gas station with a convenience store across the street which was good in a pinch, but we would have liked another option.

Apparently the hotel is under construction, which they failed to mention at check-in. We were in a ground level room in the East Lanai building and when we tried to open the sliding glass door, we couldn't due to a large board that was jammed in the track. My first conclusion was that they must have been having safety problems as nothing was mentioned to us about not having access to our patio. It wasn't until morning, when we could see outside, that we realized it was construction.

Worth noting: If you are going on a cruise, they have a shuttle that will take you to your boat for $7 per person. Also, the room has a mini fridge.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADortay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you liked our location near the cruise port as well as your accommodtions even though the intracoastal view was partially obstructed by the marina renovations (to be completed in next October). We are sorry you did not have a chance to sample our food and drink offerings. Most of our restaurants and room service close at 11 pm. We hope you visit us again, perhaps before or after another cruise and enjoy all our hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

we had a few days here after a cruise. Our room was spacious and clean and very quiet but quite a walk from reception. First impression of hotel: desk staff very friendly and helpful, however concierge was rather pushy, and we felt he was deliberately leading us towards a specific tour. The carpeted stairway leading from restaurant and shops to outside area was shabby and dirty, and we were surprised by this because everything else was just lovely. We really enjoyed our time here and would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
We want all our guests to feel relaxed when they stay at Pier 66 so we are thrilled to read the "Very relaxing" in the subject line as it clearly means we accomplished our goal. Thank you for sharing that with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your accommodations. We listen to our guests' comments and yes, a new carpet in the lobby area is already on order and will be here soon. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here just prior to taking a cruise. This was a second stay at a Hyatt, after staying with them in LA. I tired to upgrade the room at check in and was told that this was not possible as they were so busy, which I can understand. Being from the UK I didn't have a US phone, and due to the room not being ready at check in point they said to come back and that they couldn't phone me due to not being able to dial international. I understand that I was early but not being able to call international is a joke. When we finial did get into the room it was horrible. Ripped furniture, coffee stains everywhere and looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a week. We phoned up to complain and to the credit of the team we were moved to another room which looked over the dock.
This room was completely different from the first and the only fault I could find was a couple of stains on the sofas.
The bed in this room was amazing and I could have slept for days. The hotel was in a great location for getting around and had an on site car rental which was great. The staff tried to assist us as much as possible and therefore I cant fault them.
Hyatt need to invest a bit more in their products and then the hard work of the staff will become easier and easier for them to shine more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryFlanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay. We apologize the room you were initially given was not ready but are happy our team provided promptly offered you a new one. We love Hyatt beds too! We want you to know we are in the process of updating all the rooms to make sure they are clean and up to standard. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My family of 5 stayed here the Sunday before Thanksgiving. When we arrived, our rooms were not ready so we went close by and ate lunch. Four hours later we were still not in our rooms (we had two). The rooms were large, but not up to standard for any hotel where I have recently stayed, including Hyatt hotels. One shower had a broken shower head, the shower was dark and not well kept, the ceiling lights were poorly installed so you could see what was behind them. It just was not the quality I was expecting from a Hyatt Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLMCentennial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
We regret to read about your and your family experience at our hotel. Because of feedback we have received from our guests, we are now in the process of making updates to our hotel, including new furniture in rooms and necessary touch ups. Our deepest apologies that what you experienced did not meet your standards or our own. We truly hope you will consider a future stay so that we may provide you with a stay that you deserve. Thank you for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights post cruise. Beautiful hotel, beautiful pool area maintained well. Plenty of chairs by the pool. Food at pool bar was fantastic, had panini and quesadillas, they were so good we ordered the same thing for lunch the next day too. Got great friendly service from both servers both days. Lovely breakfast buffet, good food and service, nice presentation, fancy dishes and little balls of butter with designs on them.

Wished the pool was warmer, it looks so beautiful but when you try to swim in it its freezing. Hardly anyone was swimming in it. It was so cold it was like water from the outside hose in connecticut! We would hestitate to come here just for the sun and pool because of that, it took the fun out of it, but for pre or post cruise we would definately come again. Very very clean and nice. We stayed in a pool view lanai on second floor and liked it a lot. Liked the resident iguanas and squirrels.

Only one thing a little disturbing, though. Our first night here we were woken up from a sound sleep at 1:00 am by somebody pounding on our door. Not just regular knocking, someone beating on it. No one was there when looking through the peephole and 5 minutes later it happened again. Still no one there visible through the peephole so we called the front desk to report it and the girl who answered said she would call security. I waited over a half hour with my eyeball pasted to the peephole, too terrified to go back to sleep and did not see anyone come up to check. Finally gave up.

The next day we reported it to the front desk staff, who seemed concerned and was understanding of how frightening it was. She said she would
tell the manager and that maybe the security staff could look at the surveillance video to see who it was. No one ever got back to us, never found out if they actually looked into it or what. Pretty scary when you are far from home and
the doors to the rooms on the outside perimeter all all accessible to anyone from the back lot or the marina.

We understand the hotel doesnt control who walks onto the property from the outside but they could have at least sent someone to take a look around and let us know if whoever was there was gone. Then if they really did review the security film they could have told us if it was just some drunk at the wrong door (or pretend it was) dont just ignore it. It makes us think the worst like someone was trying to rob or attack guests at the hotel
Still a really nice hotel overall, worth the money for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat_loverCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so very much for sharing with us your stay experience. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit, especially our pool area and restaurants. The gas line that heats up the pool was temporarily disconnected to accommodate the marina renovations but it will be on again shortly and the pool will be heated again and we will be ready for your next visit. Thank you for bringing up the night incident to our attention. Our hotel is patrolled by security to assure the safety of our guests and even though we took care of the situation, you should have definitely received a follow up call. Your feedback will shared with our entire team so that we can improve our guest service in the future. Thank you again and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Sister and I traveled through Ft. Lauderdale to board a cruise ship for two nights pre-cruise. Given a room in the low two level buildings on the ground floor. It was very musty, moldy smelling and very warm. when I turned up the ac and we waited, and waited and waited, no cool/cold air coming out of vents. Just moist air.
Went back to the desk and let the gentleman that checked us in know of our experience. He did offer to give us a room in the tower which ended up to be very nice, clean and cool!!
Thanks to the front desk staff for ensuring we were happy during our stay.

Room Tip: Any tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kneadsdough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologize your initial room was not up to par but are happy to learn our front office agent managed to turn your experience around and offered you a nice room you deserved. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay, had a great cruise and that you will visit us again if your travels bring you back to Fort Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,764 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,072 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,313 reviews
0.7 mi away
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,922 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six

Property: Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Address: 2301 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, a South Florida landmark resort in the heart of Fort Lauderdale, is a 22-acre tropical retreat featuring a world-class marina; Spa 66, the signature health and beauty spa; and a full-service Aquatic Center. A refreshed classic, the resort boasts a new contemporary lounge and function space, along with 384 spacious guestrooms and suites, a spectacular three-pool oasis, and five dining outlets offering everything from incredible waterfront views to innovative, fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-6
Hyatt Regency Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing