We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the beach but still great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Ranked #42 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at 3 different four star beach area hotels on our vacation to the Fort Lauderdale area. The 3 in order from furthest away from the airport and port are The Westin Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort, The Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach and The Hyatt Regency Pier 66. We successfully bid $90 for the Westin, $90 for the Sheraton and $120 at the Hyatt (but that one was booked almost 2 months after the first 2). We had multiple rooms at each property.

The hotel Concierge at the Westin was able to hook us up with a reasonable shuttle to the port for $8/person. A Taxi to the Sheraton including tip from the port was $15 for 4 people. And to the Hyatt Regency, the shuttle guys were charging $7 per person but would be much less by taxi (I would guess $10). The Taxi fare from the Hyatt to the airport will run you about $15 incl tip. The contracted shuttle from the hotel charged us $20 flat. To the Westin from the airport we paid $30 with tip.

This was a great property, with beach access by shuttle I believe, and very nice rooms. There is a fee for parking (there is free internet at the Sheraton in their Link area and it is free at the Hyatt-throughout the property).

If staying at the beach, you do not need a car. Parking averages $20-$30 a night and there is a trolley that runs the whole beach route for $.50/person or $2/day (goes up to $1 & $3 as of Jan, 2014). The city bus is also an option after 6:30 PM; as, the trolley stops running at that time. The bus costs $1.85/person or $.85 for seniors. A taxi will average $10 per way to local restaurants in the area.

Overall this is a great place to stay and relax (Not sure about the beach access if that is important to you- this property is at the pier). The Sheraton is a good compromise if you do not care about the room as much. This property is very close to the port (just over the bridge).

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtwoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to Fort Lauderdale. We are pleased you enjoyed our accommodations and amenities, such as free internet throughout the hotel, as well as our location. As you mentioned, we are close to the port and even though not right on the beach, the beach is easily acessible by our complimentary shuttle. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,067 - 3,073 of 4,965 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

A fantastic location for our 5 night pre cruise break, this hotel looks out over Port Everglades and is less than a $20 taxi ride from Fort Lauderdale airport. Although initially disappointed with our standard room, which was a garden level, prefab style out in the grounds we upgraded and were housed on the fabulous 15th floor in the main tower with its breathtaking marina views. The pool was marvellous tho a bit chilly at this time of year, the pool bar & snacks were great and reasonably priced - unlike the breakfasts, main bar meals & main restaurant - clearly priced for business people on expense accounts. However the food was good quality. The wine was surprisingly expensive at well over $35 even for a basic Californian label....maybe it is taxed more heavily than in the UK.
A little tram/bus stops outside and for a few cents will take you the couple of miles to the fantastic sandy beaches or you can take the courtesy hotel minibus there which will bring you back too. Sadly there is no hotel shuttle to bring you from the airport but for $7 pp we could take the hotel shuttle to the cruise terminal.
The Reception staff were helpful, particularly Maria who went out of her way to assist us.
The award for Employee of the Year must surely go to the wonderful Ernestine in Security who seemed to be on duty at all hours and was professional, polite, ever-smiling and friendly and ensured that the problems we had with our room safe were sorted out to our satisfaction - she left us with wonderful memories of the hotel and is a true ambassador for Hyatt hotels - thank you!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank VeryveryChoosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled to learn our team members went above and beyond to assist you. We will definitely share your kind comments with them. It looks like you really enjoyed your pre-cruise stay with us and we hope you will choose Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six again if your travels bring you back to Fort Lauderdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We recently stayed at the Hyatt for one night after our cruise. We were given a garden view room, which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. However the general appearance of this hotel is quite shabby and worn, particularly the elevators. It is well below the 4 star standard of other Hyatts we have stayed in previously. The $22 nightly parking fee is ridiculous. We went up to the restaurant at the top of the tower, which was deserted. We walked onto the viewing balcony, which affords spectacular views of the area. On returning to the restaurant, discovered to our horror that the glass doors had automatically locked behind us, leaving us stranded on the balcony, with no one in sight! There had been no notice there to this effect! I called down to reception on my cell. It took them 5 minutes to answer the call and another 15 minutes for the staff to come up to unlock the d

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback regarding your recent visit. It was very discomforting to read about your Pier Top experience. We are glad our team provided the assistance you needed but we will definitely work on improving the speed of our response in similar situations. We are happy you liked your accommodations and are pleased to add we are in the process of refreshing the look of our hotel. Thank you again for your valuable comments and we hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Short reason for 3 stars: room cleanness was below average and professionalism of the front-desk staff varies. We checked in at night, and our reservation should include free breakfast but the two staff at the front-desk didn't know how to deal with it and we had to talk to the manager the next day to settle it down. The first room we checked in had stains on the toilet, the coffee maker was very dirty and the bathtub had serious drainage problems. We called the front-desk but no one answered. The customer satisfaction department moved us to another room finally. The good things are its pool is pretty big and had a watertherapy pool, and you only need to pay for one day's parking even if you are staying for several days

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TRIPADVlSER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for sharing with us your experience. We regret to read you were disappointed with our hotel. Your comments will be reviewed with our management team so we may find ways to make improvements. We are glad you liked our pool area and truly hope you will consider a future visit so that we may provide you with a stay you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed there for nearly a week as a Hyatt Gold Passport Diamond member. My room was upgraded to a high floor in the tower. The top level restaurant/banquet room was closed due to renovation, and the elevator to the top level was also closed for renovation. Breakfast buffet is excellent. Two minor issues: 1) As a Diamond member, I was told at check in that I will get daily evening turndown service. It turned out that no housekeeper ever came to my room to do the turndown during my stay. I did not complain to the front desk though. 2) In the winter time, the main pools are not heated. With South Florida's ambient temperature in the winter, the pools are still swimmable but not warm. The front desk staff, the restaurant servers and the pool attendant are friendly and helpful though.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have excellent views regardless of what direction you are facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BennyXiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

We appreciate your review and your loyalty to Hyatt. We are pleased you enjoyed your accommodations, in particularly the view and that our team provided friendly and efficient assistance. We apologize for the missed turn down service and promise to improve on that. Our Pier Top renovation will soon be completed and while the Pier Top remains open mainly for private events, it will always be possible to come upstairs to enjoy the 360 degree view of Fort Lauderdale. Our pool is heated but at the time of your visit, the gas line heating the pool was disconnected to accommodate marina renovations. We apologize for the inconvenience and promise the pool will once again be nice and warm when you visit us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Booked a cheap room and they gave me a very nice room on the ground floor which was "marina view". Clean, spacious, comfortable bed, nice bath and dressing room. There was not an exit to the marina because the sliding glass door was disabled due to construction. About the construction...it started at 7 a.m. and they tried to be quiet but with a half dozen people congregating outside the room you can't sleep. So they moved me to another room the next day. The onsite restaurant, Pelican Landing was surprisingly good, except for the ceviche (Stay away from the ceviche!).

Room Tip: The renovated rooms in the lanai wings are nicer, but the second room I was moved to had not been re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologize for the construction noise but are glad the team was able to offer you a room in a much quieter location and that you found it equally appealing as the original room. Pelican Landing with its intracoastal view is our favorite spot for a casul lunch and dinner so we are glad you enjoyed it as well. A lot of our guests like ceviche but If you have any suggestions on how we can improve it, we would like to hear. Please contact us at iwona.reveliotis@hyatt.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My three sons and I stayed at the Pier 66 in Mid December. We have stayed at the property before and really like it as a pre or post cruise stay in Ft. Lauderdale. It is very close to both the airport and the cruise ship terminal. We also love to wander up and down the adjacent Marina to see the huge yachts docked there. That feature alone is worth the price of admission. We found the food and service to be very good to excellent. One nice thing about this hotel is their swimming pool complex....however during our stay nearby construction prevented the hotel from heating the water in the swimming pool. This caused rather cool swimming and also they did not run the waterfalls which are a neat feature of the pool complex. So if staying here in the near future, I would ask before booking if swimming pool is currently heated or not. The Hotel itself has a very nice 1960's "Mad Men" décor which I find interesting. However, some may find it tiring and in need of an upgrade. Several of the elevators in the hotel were under repair during our stay...indeed construction / renovation seemed to be going on throughout the hotel. Something I am glad they are doing, but detracts from the experience. Special kudos to the pool staff, pool dining area staff, and gift shop staff. Front desk personnel not very outgoing. Overall I enjoyed our stay and would stay here again IF pool complex back in full operation.

Room Tip: Choose a tower room overlooking the ship terminal IF you want to see if your passenger ship is in do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay. We are excited to know this was not your first visit and that you plan on returning in the future. We are proud of our hotel's 50 year history but understand renovations are necessary to keep our guests comfortable. Our pool will be heated again in a few weeks and the marina renovations are to be completed in October. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and that most of our staff provided an exemplary service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#57 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,970 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#37 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,261 reviews
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#33 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,199 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,045 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina

Address: 2301 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3107 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#34 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £110 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina, a South Florida landmark resort in the heart of Fort Lauderdale, is a 22-acre tropical retreat featuring a world-class marina; Spa 66, the signature health and beauty spa; and a full-service Aquatic Center. A refreshed classic, the resort boasts a new contemporary lounge and function space, along with 384 spacious guestrooms and suites, a spectacular three-pool oasis, and five dining outlets offering everything from incredible waterfront views to innovative, fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-6
Hyatt Regency Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing