We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Service from Bobby Guida - Bell Captain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Ranked #42 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Ft. Lauderdale is my hometown and though I've been away for years, it was my wife's first trip and I wanted her to have a great time.

I chose Pier 66 for its' reputation and as it was not far from all the great memories, places and beach I knew growing up. I had hoped for the best, but there were some gaps along the way - i.e. the construction we didn't know about on the canal-side so that we couldn't sit out on the porch and enjoy the small view. Also, the night staff weren't going out of their way to assist when we arrived after our 25 hour flight from Hong Kong.

Nonetheless, we had a good stay overall; ate well, were generally treated nicely by the concierges, desk staff and others, but in the end, it was Bobby Guida who made our day!

Bobby was a pleasure to be around; funny, helpful, even sympathetic to our cause - importantly, he made things happen. Not to go into great detail, but the factors were that he knew all the right people, made all the right introductions, passed on all the relevant details and you just felt that he was truly interested in our well-being as he took steps to make our lives easier.

Bobby, if you read this, thank-you for being such a nice guy and so helpful to my wife and I. From that point on, our "epic" holiday just got better and better! (California, Florida, 8 cities, 1500 miles, 21 days...). See you in Hong Kong!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffjj2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Welcome back to the Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six! We hope you visit brought a lot of wonderful memories and created new ones for your and your wife. We are sorry the initial welcome was not as expected but are glad the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that Bobby made it extra special. We will definitely pass on your wonderful comments to him and the entire team. We know your live far away but hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,923)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,006 - 3,012 of 4,923 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

My mom and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Pier 66 over the New Years break. The room I reserved was described on the website and my reservation confirmation as: 2 Dbl Grand Beds:In the upper half landmark 17 story tower:290 sq ft:Balcony: Oceanviews. When we checked in at the hotel, I was told they only had city view rooms available. I protested, as this is not what I was paying for. We were told we could be put into one of the grotty rooms at the back of the property [yes it was next to the canal, but the patio door did not open, and the next morning there were locals walking their dogs on the foot path outside our room, so access was clearly not restricted!]. I asked whether the room rate was going to be adjusted, as that room was less expensive than the ocean view room I had booked, and was told No. I was then told that we could be 'upgraded' to an oceanview room the next day - which truly annoyed me, because I was being charged for an oceanview room in the first place! We finally took the room (it was that, or sleep in the car). The next day I didn't hear from anyone about being moved [I was told they will contact us when a room opened up in the main building, but when they hadn't called by midday, we went to reception]. There were rooms available, so we were moved to the seaview balcony room - i.e, what we were being charged for.

Couple observations:
- Saying 'sorry' goes a long way. At no point did the check-in agent say 'sorry'. It was basically a take it or leave it attitude.
- We were not contacted the next day about changing room as we had been promised. If you don't intend to keep a promise, then please don't make one.
- I was told at check-out that the reservation in the hotel's system showed for a different room to what my reservation had (which is why we ended up in that horrible room the first night). So, I don't quite understand why we were sold one type of room on hyatt.come and then another was put into the reservation system of the hotel. I was promised at check-out that they would escalate the matter to the reservations department. It's now been three weeks and of course I haven't heard from them, and they still charged me the higher rate for the first night.
- The seaview + balcony rooms are worth the extra money. We loved the room.
- The breakfast is good, eventhough the service was a bit hit and miss.

I was looking for an alternative to the Hilton (that's where I have all my points and status), and figured I'd give the Hyatt a chance. After this experience with Pier 66, though, I'm not so sure any more...

Room Tip: Pay extra for the seaview and balcony rooms. Well worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bucanon001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. We apologize for the less than pleasant experience. This is definitely not the impression we want to leave our guests with and your comments will be passed on to the management. If the incorrect charge issue is still unresolved, please feel free to contact me at iwona.reveliotis@hyatt.com and I will follow up. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great grounds, very clean rooms, view was great from the tower overlooking the port. The only thing lacking was a inexpensive breakfast choice. The meals we did eat on the grounds were very good especially at Pelican Landing, awesome coconut shrimp. The hotel is a little isolated but for 1/2 nights it is ok. water taxi can get you out to other locals to eat if you wish. We paid for a garden room in the 2 story buildings but received a free upgrade to the tower which was great

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank motherjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your review. It certainly seems you fully enjoyed your stay at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six. We could not be happier to read you found your accommodations clean and comfortable and the food at the Pelican Landing delicious (we love coconut shrimp too!). We hope you make Pier 66 your permanent cruise vacation stop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a 3 day pre cruise stay at the Hyatt in mid December. Our room was in the low rise areas close to the water. We have stayed at many of the hotels in the area-on the beach and on 17th.

We very much like the Hyatt. The room was perfect, the hotel was very well maintained, and the front desk folks were great.

We travel often for leisure and in the past I travelled extensively for business. We will no doubt return to the Hyatt Pier 66.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 January 2014

Thank you for the perfect rating! We are glad that after many visits to Fort Lauerdale you decided to try our Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six and are excited to read you had a wonderful time and our team made you feel welcome. We hope you make Pier 66 your home away from home. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stay at a lot of Hyatt's. This property needs some attention-given its high price point.

Why?

-Front Desk-grossly understaffed during peak periods
-Health Club-dated, but 3 out of 5 stars
-Pool Area-ok, but we didnt see many service staff wandering around the pool.
-Lobby Bar-4/5 stars. Ricardo is a star and provided excellent service
-Room-nice view, but you need to avoid rooms near 17th Street highway noise.
-The Bed-excellent 5/5 stars
-Bellman-excellent 5/5 stars
-Operators-excellent 5/5 stars
-Other: why no shuttle service to the beach.
-Focus-seems more focused on servicing "airline crews" versus the average traveler
-Food-Pool food was ok
-Parking team-excellent (a third party).
-Check Out-I still dont have an emailed bill.
-Good news: Very close to the Fort Lauderdale Airport.

Why general low rating? High price-but walked around the beach area and the Marriott looks like a better choice for +$300/night. Nicer pool area. More modern features. Direct Beach front. Remember this property is not on the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

We are sorry your recent stay did not quite meet you expectations in all areas, but we certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are definitely glad you like our location and the room amenities like the comfortable bed and want to thank you for nice comments about our staff, especially Riccardo. We will pass on the kudos to the team. We will work harder on customer service and hope you visit again so we can wow you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The overall experience was terrific after we got the room we wanted. The view from the 10th floor looking toward the ocean was spectacular. But at first we were told that there were no rooms ready so we waited 2 hours to be notified that a room was ready. Finally we asked the desk what was going on and we were told that they forgot to call us and the room had been ready for an hour. So we went to the room and the only view was the tar roof of the ballrooms. We were told that we would get an ocean view room and so we refused the room. We then got the higher room and we were very satisfied. However there was no clock radio in the room so we had to ask for another one. The next day we noticed that the maid service had not brought in any new towels so we had to ask for towels. A few little items but we expected better from a Hyatt.

Room Tip: Pick the highest floor facing east possible.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid comments. We are definitely glad you got to enjoy the sweeping view from your balcony. We are sorry we were unable to offer your the room the moment your arrived and there were a few items missing. We will share your comments with our team management. It is great to know you had a terrific stay overall and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night before our cruise on October 4th, 2013. I can't remember the man's name who checked us in but he was so friendly. It was our first time in Florida. We ate in the restaurant, the one just over from check in and the food/drinks were great, we had ribs and fries and a couple of drinks, the staff were amazing. Saturday morning, we popped into the dining room for a quick breakfast of coffee and toast before heading to the ship and while I am not sure the ladies name who seated us, she was amazing. I think she might have been a supervisor or head server? She chatted with us while she seated us and wished us all the best for a wonderful cruise. The hotel grounds are beautiful. We walked around them a couple times on the day we arrived and before we left for the ship in the morning and took some pictures. Our room was nice, we had a balcony room overlooking the marina and that bridge that opens up for the boats. View was great, room was clean, no noise, TV worked, bathroom was clean and had lots of towels & toiletries. We took the shuttle to the cruise port, the concierge was a very nice man who set up the arrangements for us.
For our first time in Florida, it was a very pleasant and wonderful trip. If I had it back, I would have stayed here for the night after the cruise instead of sitting in the airport for 10 hours waiting for our flight from the time we got off the ship. Would I stay here again? Definitely. Would I recommend it to friends? In a heartbeat.
Thank you to the fantastic staff of Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six for making our first trip to Florida a very enjoyable one. My only con is we only had one night here instead of more.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room with a view of the marina. Luckily, we were given it and I'm so glad we we...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona R, Executive Assistant at Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

What a pleasure to read "Fantastic" in the subject line! Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. We are excited you chose Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six as your accommodations during your first visit to Florida and that you fully enjoyed your experience. We will be sure to pass on your great comments to our team members who offered such excellent and friendly assistance. Thank you for your high recommendation and see you on your next trip to Florida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#55 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,333 reviews
0.7 mi away
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,964 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six

Address: 2301 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £88 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six, a South Florida landmark resort in the heart of Fort Lauderdale, is a 22-acre tropical retreat featuring a world-class marina; Spa 66, the signature health and beauty spa; and a full-service Aquatic Center. A refreshed classic, the resort boasts a new contemporary lounge and function space, along with 384 spacious guestrooms and suites, a spectacular three-pool oasis, and five dining outlets offering everything from incredible waterfront views to innovative, fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-6
Hyatt Regency Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing