We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, low end accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #115 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Recently booked 2 king rooms for 2 nights. The first rooms seemed very nice and spacious but were the furthest point from the restaurant and my father has trouble walking. The staff was helpful and immediately moved us closer, but BIG mistake. The double bed rooms were on the 2nd floor and were horrible. Comparing notes the next day we agreed the smell was unbearable, the furnishing extremely outdated, and the bathrooms DIRTY. We requested another move and ended up on the floor close to the front of the building where the air flow made things bearable. The first morning breakfast was totally without service, the second day was great and the waitress was friendly and professional. Mind you, we checked in the day after New Year's Eve, but hardly and excuse for the poor accomodations. Family members have stayed here before without incident ... but after this we will go next door to LaQuinta.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor near the front of the building!!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

01/20/12

We’re sorry you were not pleased with your stay. Most of our rooms have been renovated, but some are still pending. I’m glad that the staff finally got you into an acceptable room. We do clean rooms and bathrooms daily and take great pride in our housekeeping staff. I’m not sure about the smell – possibly had something to do with the humidity. Service in the restaurant should not change from one day to the next, regardless of day of week or holiday. It must have been and extremely busy day. I’m glad we were able to make up for it on your second day.

K M Greto
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

The Ramada Plaza is an older hotel with typical older motel-style rooms. The front of the building presents nicely and appears to be well kept. But inside, the place is plainly old and dull and worn. My room had no desk and chair, and that made using my laptop inconvenient. There was no fridge. Bright lights outside leaked into my room at night.

The per-night price for this hotel is $10 more than shown on-line because they add on a mandatory "Resort Fee". I object to this deceptive practice. It is unfair to the customers and unfair to their competitors. When you go comparing prices, be sure to add the ten bucks.

Despite the bad reviews and the mandatory fee, this hotel was crowded. There seemed to always be knots of people in the lobby and the hallways. The restaurant was too small. There are typically 15-25 minute waits in the morning to get seated for the free breakfast. Only once in my stay could I go in without waiting.

Wi-Fi Internet was provided free, and connecting to it was not hard. But the service was very slow.

The A/C in the room was very noisy, but it was easy to adjust and controlled the temperature well.

I found the staff at the front desk to be sullen and unhelpful.

After my stay at this hotel, I went to a La Quinta (in a different Florida city). What a difference. The La Quinta had bright modern stylish rooms and courteous staff. The rates were quite a bit lower, and there was no additional fee. Note, this was a different city, so rates shouldn't be directly compared. But the difference was striking, and I would never go back to the grimy Ramada Plaza.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Canonista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Sorry you weren’t happy with your stay. All fees and costs are plainly printed on our site as is required by law. We also do have black-out drapes in all rooms. Our restaurant is open for breakfast from 7am to 11am. Signage is posted for all our guests to advise them to try to visit before 9am to avoid a long wait. We certainly apologize if you felt the Front Desk was not welcoming as we do not condone poor treatment of our guests.
K M Greto
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at the Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale on Christmas Day (Dec. 25, 2011) and the next night. Despite it being a holiday, the staff was exceptionally welcoming. The facility is older, but was clean and comfortable. The room was larger than I expected, and the beds were quite comfortable. The white sheets were very white and clean smelling. The restaurant buffet was not fancy, but the food was good and well prepared. While the room did not come with a refrigerator, when I mentioned using insulin, one was provided. It even beat us to our room! We had the opportunity (in the restaurant) to talk with a couple who lives there 3 months out of every year. They would not stay here year after year unless it was economical and pleasant, which we found it to be. We would stay here again, if we are ever in the area.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

01/12/12

Thanks so much. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. It appears we've succeeded in our efforts to please. We hope you'll visit us again.

K M Greto
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel during my trip to Florida and I had booked this hotel keeping in mind to travel to Miami and Keywest as part of my holiday trip.
I had booked this hotel thru booking.com and it came with a buffet breakfast included. Since we were travelling with a 3 yr old kid it was a good thing (at least we thought) to have buffet breakfast included and not having to go around looking to buy something.
To our surprise there was not a single vegetarian item on the buffet menu and the restaurant hostess was blunt and rude in saying 'yes, we dont have any vegetarian item'. More than not having anything to eat apart from Bread/Bagel/Cereals (I dont have to come down 800 miles down south to eat them), it was the staff's bad attitude which hit us hard.
Iam not sure if they don;t expect any vegetarian guests or do not want any of them to stay there.
Iam an Asian/Indian and not sure if this attitude has got anything to do with it, but this was one of my worst experiences and I don't think Iam going to stay at Ramada again and certainly not going to recommend it any of my friends.

Room Tip: My experience hasn't been very good to add any tips about room. Only caution is if you are a veg...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The room was nice and clean, but nothing fancy and it overlooked the pool area. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub and the tiki bar. The bartender was extremely sweet. In fact, all hotel staff were very friendly to us and loved our 1-year old daughter! Our stay included meals so we chose to eat at the hotel. It was buffet style but was just fine for us. My husband really enjoyed the ribs one evening! There was always a pasta bar and salad if you didn't care for the other choices. We also stayed here as part of the Bahamas Celebration cruise package and did not realize it required a time-share tour until after we bought it. We did not enjoy the tour and tried to hurry through it because we had a baby with us. It ended up being about 3 hours rather then the 2 hours they say. We would NOT do that again. This hotel had all of the amenities you'd need and definitely not as bad as the other reviews state.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area are nice.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stacymelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Thanks so much for the great comments. We’re happy you’re pleased and hope you’ll visit us again.

K M Greto
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

good location
easy to find
low prices
this is not a new hotel so i don't exspect every thing to be perfect
laundry room
gift shop
close to hwy to get to the beach 15 to 20 minutes
good thing i don't listen to everyones complaints and found that this hotel is not bad and enjoyed my stay
hint: ask for pool side veiw

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank auddeeberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel. We are an older establishment, but hope that’s forgiven by providing clean rooms, good meals and a friendly staff. We’re conveniently located between Florida’s Turnpike and I-95. It’s a 7-mile trip to the beach and as a full-service hotel, we offer some great amenities such as tennis courts, basketball, fitness room, Game room, beauty shop, gift shop, washers/dryers, full Sports Lounge, restaurant and an awesome pool area including hammocks and a Tiki Bar. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.

K M Greto
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The Ramada was dirty and smelly, not the 5 star accommodations we were promised in the "package". It was in a very bad part of Ft Lauderdale. Stay away! We didn't use the food vouchers we were given for the hotel restaurant as it looked and smelled awful.

The timeshare presentation was high pressure, despite what they say. A 90 minute presentation turned into a 5 hour waste of time.

The celebration Bahamas cruise was nearly as bad. The staff was not helpful and some were just plain rude. We couldn't book any of the excursions we wanted, either online before the cruise or when we arrived on the ship as directed by the online instructions.
The food was terrible! The choices were limited and the veggies were cooked until they were barely recognizable and flavorless.
As a guest on the cruise you were nickel and dimed to death with extras. Extra for soft drinks, desserts, ice cream in a cone, excursions if you could get them at all, etc.
The gym on board was ill equipped.
The pool was for kids, not adults.
There was no place to walk except up and down the stairs as half the elevators were inoperable.
This was our first cruise experience and likely our last.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank GOutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

We are very taken back about your extremely negative and damaging comments which could not be further from the truth as we work and welcome many guests yearly to this particular hotel. It is obvious that your true discontent was totally based on your other vacation plans, which we have nothing to do with. Regardless, we thank you for the time you took to put your thoughts together because it will continue to help us in dealing with future package guests.

K M Greto
Ops Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
7.2 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/C...
#65 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#78 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
215 reviews
3.0 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#95 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Tamarac
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Laud...
#63 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
411 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Northeast
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Nor...
#72 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tam...
#110 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale

Address: 5100 N State Road 7, Commercial Blvd & N State Rd 7, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £46 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ramada Plaza Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ft Lauderdale Ramada Plaza Resort
Ramada Plaza Resort Ft Lauderdale
Ramada Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing