We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BED BUGS!! and bad food!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #112 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Charleston, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BED BUGS!! and bad food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed here as part of a package deal..not our selection. Came home and broke out in bedbug bites all over. We did not know that red and black streaks on the sheets were signs that we had been bitten...but we DID think we had slept in dirty sheets and asked that they be changed!! We thought the hotel was generally not clean and nor well kept. When my doctor told me my rashes were bedbug bites and told me what signs we might have seen as we traveled...I was appalled to remember the signs from our 2 nights in Fort Lauderdale! I called and spoke to Karen, who confirmed they cleaned the room 3 days after we left! She said her staff is trained to report the signs and gets a cash reward for reporting them! Why did they let us sleep in that bed a second night if they knew the signs?! I have been itching and frantically cleaning my house..watching and praying I did not bring anything home or spread it as we had no idea what we had been exposed to until we were home 36 hours. (It is true that it's possible you may not break out at all, or up to 9 days after you are bitten!)
And I would like to add the "free food" was horrible. I'm a nurse and I work in a hospital. The best day at the Ramada was like a bad day in the hospital cafeteria...and the worst was nursing home grade. If you can avoid staying here...AVOID IT!! Also see Lynn M's review...I agree with a lot of what she said...I wish I had read reviews before leaving!!

Room Tip: Learn all you can about signs of bedbugs and ask the staff if they have treated the room for bedbugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Every hotel from a 5-star down, around the world, including many factories and department stores and anyplace where the public congregates, have felt the threat of bed bugs over the past year or so. Since you cannot prevent them from entering, what’s most important is knowing what to do when they finally reach your door. We have trained out staff what to look for and where. In an effort to detect a problem before a guest does, we have even offered a cash reward if found by a staff member. We also move very quickly when a problem is reported. First, the room is put off market. Either that day or the next, a representative from a certified professional exterminator comes to inspect. If found positive, the room is treated. Certainly if find a room that is infected, we do not sell the room and if they are found in an occupied room, the guest is immediately relocated. We are sorry for your unhappy stay.

KM Greto
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    198
    314
    280
    446
See reviews for
391
494
80
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We were booked in this hotel through a Celebration Cruise Package. We were a bit worried after we found out we were staying at this resort and reading the reviews. Must admit the rooms were clean. First thing we checked for were bed bugs none to be found The area this hotel is in is not good but we found a good cheap bar next door. The only thing we didnt like is that there was no where for a big group to get together after 10pm so we had to get together in a room. We probably would not stay here agin cos of the location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

After each of the reviews that are noted in this web page we have Karen Greto manager who has nothing but nice things to say about this so called resort. You have to do the math, rated 118 out of 138 is a pretty crappy number. Remember Karen Greto if it smells like poop and looks like poop it's probably POOP! You can't put the shades over thinking people who are experienced in travel!!!!! I truly believe that any 4-5 star ratings are people who are related to this inspiring dive motel!!!!

Room Tip: Dont Stay Here!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank biggkids1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here before joining our Princess cruise and without doubt it's the worst place we've used in many years of travelling in America. Though okay outside, the interior is run down and smells musty, with tatty carpets and scruffy furnishings. The rooms are barely acceptable - everything looks tired, worn and desperately in need of replacement.
The breakfast area is especially desperate; we were given vouchers for the meal as part of our deal, but they normally charge $9 for it and they have to be joking, surely? Dreadful quality and servers with all the charm of rottweilers
Overall, the staff are the very worst aspect of the place. Most of them would be better employed in prisons - there's not a smile among the lot of them, but plenty of narrowed eyes and suspicious glares; many also have little or no English. Organisation seems an alien concept throughout, and when requesting towels which hadn't been supplied we were told "we can't go into the room to deliver them while you're not there" So how was the room (badly) cleaned each day, we asked? The answer was another blank glare .... oh, dear!!
The final joke was the "Florida Welcome Centre" on the premises. The "welcome" consisted of a creepy-looking male peering around an internal door, followed by a bar-girl type who came out and chewed gum at us while staring silently - no "may I help" or any other comment, come to that - some welcome!!
Do yourself a favour - avoid this place at all costs

Room Tip: How to select a good room? Go elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
01/31/12

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. It's unusual and hard to believe all these negatives when we travel 12,000 people a month, and have so many repeat and extended-stay guests. I always welcome personal phone calls from guests in hopes that I can gather more information and that we may come to some type of resolution.

KM Greto
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Thought the beds would be queen but they were only doubles. The hotel was pretty clean, but very worn. No fridge or microwave in our room... that was disappointing. Woke up with 4 mysterious bites... hope they're not bedbugs! Don't eat at the buffet. Just go somewhere else. Pool was nice and who doesn't like having a bar right out there with us!

Room Tip: Good luck, I have no idea if there are better rooms... hope so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NanaGludy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Out of our 269 rooms, 45 of them have king beds. The other 224 have two double beds. Our pool was recently redone, and the pool deck offers the Tiki Bar, hammock area and hot tub, all surrounded by plenty of tropical foliage. We hope you'll visit again soon.

KM Greto
Opertions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Recently booked 2 king rooms for 2 nights. The first rooms seemed very nice and spacious but were the furthest point from the restaurant and my father has trouble walking. The staff was helpful and immediately moved us closer, but BIG mistake. The double bed rooms were on the 2nd floor and were horrible. Comparing notes the next day we agreed the smell was unbearable, the furnishing extremely outdated, and the bathrooms DIRTY. We requested another move and ended up on the floor close to the front of the building where the air flow made things bearable. The first morning breakfast was totally without service, the second day was great and the waitress was friendly and professional. Mind you, we checked in the day after New Year's Eve, but hardly and excuse for the poor accomodations. Family members have stayed here before without incident ... but after this we will go next door to LaQuinta.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor near the front of the building!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
01/20/12

We’re sorry you were not pleased with your stay. Most of our rooms have been renovated, but some are still pending. I’m glad that the staff finally got you into an acceptable room. We do clean rooms and bathrooms daily and take great pride in our housekeeping staff. I’m not sure about the smell – possibly had something to do with the humidity. Service in the restaurant should not change from one day to the next, regardless of day of week or holiday. It must have been and extremely busy day. I’m glad we were able to make up for it on your second day.

K M Greto
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

The Ramada Plaza is an older hotel with typical older motel-style rooms. The front of the building presents nicely and appears to be well kept. But inside, the place is plainly old and dull and worn. My room had no desk and chair, and that made using my laptop inconvenient. There was no fridge. Bright lights outside leaked into my room at night.

The per-night price for this hotel is $10 more than shown on-line because they add on a mandatory "Resort Fee". I object to this deceptive practice. It is unfair to the customers and unfair to their competitors. When you go comparing prices, be sure to add the ten bucks.

Despite the bad reviews and the mandatory fee, this hotel was crowded. There seemed to always be knots of people in the lobby and the hallways. The restaurant was too small. There are typically 15-25 minute waits in the morning to get seated for the free breakfast. Only once in my stay could I go in without waiting.

Wi-Fi Internet was provided free, and connecting to it was not hard. But the service was very slow.

The A/C in the room was very noisy, but it was easy to adjust and controlled the temperature well.

I found the staff at the front desk to be sullen and unhelpful.

After my stay at this hotel, I went to a La Quinta (in a different Florida city). What a difference. The La Quinta had bright modern stylish rooms and courteous staff. The rates were quite a bit lower, and there was no additional fee. Note, this was a different city, so rates shouldn't be directly compared. But the difference was striking, and I would never go back to the grimy Ramada Plaza.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canonista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Sorry you weren’t happy with your stay. All fees and costs are plainly printed on our site as is required by law. We also do have black-out drapes in all rooms. Our restaurant is open for breakfast from 7am to 11am. Signage is posted for all our guests to advise them to try to visit before 9am to avoid a long wait. We certainly apologize if you felt the Front Desk was not welcoming as we do not condone poor treatment of our guests.
K M Greto
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
3.0 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#80 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland P...
#64 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/C...
#70 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
#86 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#77 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
7.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#61 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale

Property: Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale
Address: 5100 N State Road 7, Commercial Blvd & N State Rd 7, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33319-3322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ramada Plaza Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ft Lauderdale Ramada Plaza Resort
Ramada Plaza Resort Ft Lauderdale
Ramada Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing