We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #113 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever!”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel was included in our package we upgraded when we booked the Celebration Bahamas. This hotel was the worst I ever stayed in! Hotel need renovations! the carpets in the main hallways were dirty and in our room we wore our slippers at all times due to the dirty carpets in our room. Servers at dining room were not friendly. Long wait for help.

Room Tip: Hotel needs a renovation! What spa? they had a hot tub? The rooms were clean but keep our slippers o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinne50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaFtLauderdale, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
05/31/12

We're sorry you feel that way. Much of our business comes from woelsalers and we have no control as to how they promote our property. We would hope our potential customers would visit Ramada's website to obtain accurate information. The hot tub is called a 'pool spa' on the license. Carpets are cleaned on a rotation or as-need basis. Comment cards from our guests help us know what we need to do and what is going well. Servers in the restaurant should never be anything other than welcoming and I apologize of behalf of the staff and the hotel if you felt it was otherwise.

You'll see the mixed reviews above and below. Specifics help us and we always willing to take advice from our guests. Please call if you would like to talk.

Thanks so much.

K Greto
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    200
    318
    287
    462
See reviews for
399
508
82
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The pool area was neat. The buffets were very poor. The rooms were doable, but small. Definitely outdated. The bed was not so-so. The air conditioning did work great! The bathtub floor felt like it was going to give way beneath me. The bathroom was uncomfortably small. The staff could use some personality. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawna_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaFtLauderdale, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
05/31/12

Our pool area is the best around for about 15-20 miles. As far as we know, our building is structurally sound. I'd love to get this room number so we can check the floor. Unfortunately, the size of the rooms and bathrooms are standard, and nothing we can change.

Hotel staff need to be welcoming, pleasant and accommodating. We'll try harder.

Thanks for your comments.

K Greto
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had this hotel booked for us through a package that was purchased for a Cruise with Celebration Bahamas,I read the reveiws prior to travelling but deceided we would be our own judge, from the beginning to the end was just horrible.when we got there , there was some mix up with our reservations and the lady at the welcome centre was not accomodating at all,the front desk staff was not polite at all either.The hotel is old and need renovation the best part is the Tiki bar /pool and the hot tub, the food was awful, but the restaurant staff was vey pleasant espcially Paula and Jody .The Location of the hotel in proxmity to the ship peir is at least another hour away.Anybody who stay here and didn't have a problem with this place maybe they never had any comparison.

Room Tip: rooms over looking the pool are bright and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy154982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

IT WAS GREAT, Every one has their own preferences, It was so good that i needed to right this review. The food was amazing, staff and rooms were very clean... The Celebration Bahamas 2 night cruise was also amazing, (they do have extra fees here and there but nothing exspensive) it it was well worth it. Activities on the cruise was great as well, always something to do ! Just stay away from the casino, I had no luck LOL. Traveler from Brooklyn, NY .. Any questions feel free to email me. Thanks ....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Jessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

FAIR WARNING. Do not stay here. this place was so filthy and dirty ,the carpets were black from dirt,smelled like mold and also smelled like the toilets overflowed. It was so bad ,they had to put some sort of lemon smell down the entire hallway to offset the stink. the lemon smell made it worse.got off the elevator ,ran into a housekeeper to talk to her and she mentioned about bed bugs in one of the rooms. bathrooms tiles were moldy. the sheets in the bed were like sleeping with freddy krueger. it felt like the sheets were clawing at your body. hard and no softener.The food was subpar.buffet style every meal .third floor vending machines not working .THIS PLACE NEEDS TO BE DEMOLISHED AND REBUILT. MANAGEMENT USELESS.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greenban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaFtLauderdale, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
05/31/12

The Welcome Center leases space in our hotel. I can only apologize if you felt our Front Desk staff other than hospitable. The hotel is an older building. But our pool area is the 'best'. Our food is cooked fresh daily. We feed 800 people a day in our restaurant along with all the staff. Possibly the food selections were not to your liking, The hotel is in Broward County. Those people who purchased vacation package and check in to the Welcome Center, do have to take the cruise out of the Port, which is in Palm Beach County. The hotel does NOT sell vacation/cruise packages.

Thanks for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, La
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had this hotel booked for us through a package that was purchased for a cruise with Celebration Bahamas. We were dreading our stay here since the reviews were not good. We came expecting the worse. We were booked on the 3rd floor. The carpet was really dirty in the hallway. The room was not as bad as we had expected, the bathroom was clean, as well as the tub. I would still stay somewhere else if I go back for another vacation. However, as one reviewer said, if you just need a decent bed to sleep in for the night before a cruise, I suppose it suffices. The manager was nice, and the staff in the restuarant was friendly. We didn't stay in hotel except to sleep, we rented a car and stayed gone so we didn't use any other facilities there. The pool looked nice. Don't stay here with more than average expectations.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sollysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaFtLauderdale, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
05/31/12

Sorry about the carpets on floors 3-5. It is shipping now as I type and scheduled for installation very soon.

We're glad you had a pleasant stay. Wish you had time to visit the pool area ... it's great.

Glad to hear you found things clean and the management and staff friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benitachell
Level Contributor
214 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We booked online for our first night in Florida after landing in Miami, we arrived at the hotel, which is very easy to find, even without sat/nav! We checked in 25 March 9pm and were booked in by Victor, a very pleasant and friendly guy. The hotel was full, which I thought may become a problem, but no , we were given a suite. TVs , fridge, microwave etc.....and 2 bedrooms.The hotel decor is a little dated, but clean and very quiet. Plenty of parking and a great free breakfast, buffet style near front lobby. All the staff we met were friendly and helpfull.
We wanted to stay here on our return from Orlando, but were told at the desk they were full for the 2 days we wanted, 29/30 March.
Strange because later that week we booked online and got the 2 days!!!

Room Tip: Remember there is a $10 resort fee that is charged over and above the room rate, I remember reading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaFtLauderdale, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
05/31/12

We're very conveniently located just off the Florida Turnpike and very close to I-95. Also, only 7 miles from the Beach. Victor is a great guy and we're pleased you liked your room. Actually, the fact that we were full is the reason you were put in to a suite. Those are saved for last. So, happy for you. Normal rooms do not have microwaves or refrigerators. The building is an older one and happy you found it clean and quiet. Glad you like the breakfast and found the staff accommodating. We probably had some cancellations, so always good to check on-line.

Hope you'll come back and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
3.0 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#83 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,340 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland P...
#63 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
721 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/C...
#69 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#75 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Tamarac
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Laud...
#68 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
385 reviews
6.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
#89 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale

Property: Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale
Address: 5100 N State Road 7, Commercial Blvd & N State Rd 7, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33319-3322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ramada Plaza Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ft Lauderdale Ramada Plaza Resort
Ramada Plaza Resort Ft Lauderdale
Ramada Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing