We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galt Villas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galt Villas Inn
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
salem,ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nice friendly vintage motel in a great location. Don't expect luxury or contemporary style, just basic decent accommodation. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance; you could even walk to the beach

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjcrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    194
    63
    13
    3
See reviews for
146
170
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had a 2-bed room with a fridge and microwave oven. A little better furnished than similar motels. It is kept very clean. Gentleman at the front desk was very kind.
I chose to walk to Oakland beach access. It is a 10-minute walk not as bad as some describes. Beach is very narrow in this area. You can stop at Walgreen's on the way. There is a grocery store on the opposite side of the street, a very short walking distance from the motel.
A good value for the price but nothing exceptional.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank djsunshine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerside, P.E.I.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights post cruise and were comfortable in very clean surroundings in a room that easily met all our needs. The staff are very friendly and acommodating we even borrowed beach chairs and an umbrella for the beach from the owner. There is a computer for use in the office and the laundry for guests is a great perk too. Having a grocery/drug store within easy walking distance is also a plus. we did have a car and got around very easily. One evening, the office staff assisted us by printing off driving directions to a restaurant we wanted to go to as well as assisted with sending e-mails home to family. Thank-you to all...we will easily recommend THE GALT to friends and family.

Room Tip: no elevators here. we were on the second floor tucked into a corner room....we were happy as there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank navajogem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Good location. Lovely example of "back in the day" Ft Lauderdale.
If budget is important - you can't go far wrong.
Kitchenette very handy, slightly lacking in utensils, but not a big deal.
We had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
357 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights ,during the Tortuga Festival. We were greeted warmly from the moment we arrived. The staff here is amazing ,so nice, informative and accommodating. The rooms are not huge ,but have all the basic amenities, and most importantly are clean. The bus stop is about half a block from the motel. There is a CVS, Dunkin Donuts, Winn Dixie all with in a block. The rooms are non smoking and have no smell of smoke. There is a general area outside where you can sit and smoke, drink a beverage or relax. The hotel next store has a pool which is available for use. If we return to Ft Lauderdale I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snorkler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand haven, mi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I am perplexed by the raving reviews this place is getting. My experience left me lukewarm, perhaps because I was expecting much more based on the reviews I'd read? I expected a charming, vintage-y place a block or so from the beach. It turned out to be much more like a basic road-side motel; granted, cleaner and minus the cigarette smell (thanks to ceramic floors). Thankfully it was also similarly priced. We rented the efficiency, which has two "full" beds, not very comfortable for us parents or our two teenage children sharing the other bed. The room and structure feel old and the decor is motel-y, though clean, as were the linens and kitchen. There is an outdoor sitting area...overlooking the parking lot. They did though put effort in the landscaping.
My main issue was location: The motel does not feel like it is close to a beach at all, though it sure looks like it on Google maps. It is on a very busy and noisy six lane road, and there are many Harleys and muffler-less muscle cars driving down that stretch. The AC, thankfully (?), was so loud that it masked most of the regular traffic noise during the night. There is a very well attended pool by the motel, but it feels like you are trespassing to get to it since it's behind a parking garage's metal gate, and feels like it belongs to the neighboring hotel (it might). We opted for the beach, which you get to by crossing the six-lane road, then another road, then walking past a quarter mile of privately owned condo towers which beach accesses are gated to keep the riffraff out. We had to walk at least fifteen minutes, then through a privately owned tower lobby (Ocean Manor), then through the bar and the gated pool area to the stairs that led to the beach. Again, felt like we were trespassing, though the motel owner told us this was the closest access point. The beach is quite nice in that area. We figured it would be less uncomfortable to walk down to the Oak Park public access to get off the beach on our way back, even if it was a little bit longer of a walk back.
Finally, since the motel is twenty minutes from the airport, it is not ideal for early flights either.
Sooooo, in its category, it is an average motel. If you're on a tight budget, it could do. There are much nicer and better located places for $50-100 more a night, which is what I'll go with next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sobeGrandHaven_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed a couple of days at the motel last week. It was located in a nice area, close to the beach and close to a good grocery store. Traffic was much better than in other areas of Ft Lauderdale. The room was neat and clean and well equipped with a kitchen just off the bedroom.
The motel clientele was quiet and the staff friendly. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#52 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt Villas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt Villas Inn

Property: Galt Villas Inn
Address: 3621 N Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#29 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Galt Villas Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galt Villas is located in sunny Fort Lauderdale, Florida within walking distance to Fort Lauderdale Beach. The Galt Villas offers both rooms and efficiencies. The guest rooms feature mini-microwave, compact refrigerator, in-room coffee maker with complementary coffee, in-room phone with voicemail and wake up service, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, free internet access and cable television with over 70 channels. The efficiencies have the same amenities as a room but with the added bonus of a fully equipped kitchen. As well as being located within walking distance to Fort Lauderdale Beach The Galt Villas is only a few steps to restaurants, night life, drug stores, the grocery store and the bus line. Some of the property features are a pool, free parking, guest coin laundry and complementary internet station. The Galt Villas is convenient to the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, Port Everglades and many of the attractions that Fort Lauderdale offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Galt Villas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt Villas Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing