We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of J. Alexander's

J. Alexander's
Ranked #93 of 1,326 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
266 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had lunch with a friend at J. Alexander's and overall had a good experience. I had the Shrimp Louie salad which as very good. Service was attentive and atmosphere (though a bit dark for lunch time) was pleasant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BizLuxTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    110
    38
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We dined at J. Alexanders on 8/25/13 at around 9:00pm.I had not eaten there for about 3 years.
The menu had not changed very much during that time period. I feel that the menu choices were limited then and as they are now.
This restaurant has the kitchen capacity to create magical things or could be a great steak house.
I ordered baked chicken with mashed potatoes. How simple could this order be?
The baked chicken came out dry and the mashed potatoes were cold.
How could the restaurant screw this order up since the kitchen was not even busy?
I had to wait 16 minutes to get a fresh order.
What has happened tho this restaurant?
The manager never bothered to come over to our table to apologize.
I will contact the corporate offices tomorrow.
The other food that my guests order was just acceptable, and nothing worth the prices that J. Alexanders charges.
The atmosphere of the restaurant of quite wonderful with high beamed ceilings with a warm and inviting feeling.
The staff was warm and accommodating.
I will not return to this eatery for a while due to their limited menu and quality control.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arkmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food Is Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I ate here with a large group of people. The staff was very professional and service was excellent. The atmosphere and decor feel high-end. The menu was very good. The problem is that the food quality did not stand up to everything else. Not that it wasn't prepared well, it was, but the ingredients were not high quality, leading to mediocre food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mistrippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

My dining experience at this restaurant was very very good. You could order a good variety whether you want a salad, a nice steak or a burger. I ordered filet which came out perfectly cooked. The Mac and cheese is gourmet and the wine was served is a nice large wine glass. My other 3 friends were very pleased with there meals also. Can't wait to go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What Happened to the Great Carrot Cake?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stopped last night for a piece of take out carrot cake and it was not worth the calories. Have eaten this before in the restaurant and it was the best. What happened?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FloridaShells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J. Alexander's also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to J. Alexander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing