We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good location between Cruise/Airport/Beach-Bad start but good end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty good location between Cruise/Airport/Beach-Bad start but good end”
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I will start by saying that we requested a room on the 6th floor or lower due to the fact that I am extremely claustrophobic and don't prefer elevators. I will use them...I just don't prefer it if the option of stairs is available. Needless to say...we were put on the 11th floor...with 2 double beds versus the King we had booked, this was really frustrating as we had not only noted it in our booking but also called ahead to ask for our request. We are also platinum members...not that I care about that but it usually means a free upgrade...we didn't even get what we asked for let alone an upgrade. I was told to contact the front desk manager for the next day and that they would move us but that person wasn't even working during our 3 day stay there. So, enough about what wasn't good...it turned out that I got alot of exercise going up and down the stairs (lol) and when I did use the elevator it wasn't that bad since it is glass from the 5th floor up. We did find all the staff very helpful other than the check in person who told us we would be moved the second day by a person that didn't work. The hotel is in good condition and we really enjoyed sitting out for a nightcap on the patio of the 5th floor. The pool was also very nice and relaxing. I would make coffee in your own room as we paid $4 per coffee in the store which is ridiculous. The gym is ok...nothing great.

Nearby - A pub type place called Ernie's was excellent...the patio upstairs was great and it is only a block or two down the road.
We also went to an Italian restaurant across the road from CVS pharmacy in a plaza...wow wow and wow. It was walking distance for us but likely not for everyone but certainly worth going too. They do 2 sittings a night and it is superb...they have valet parking and every car there was at least a Mercedes all the way up to a Rolls Royce. We talked to the Valet and he said most of the people are residents on the waterway...houses worth 5 million and yachts worth 25 million. We shared a bottle of wine and each had an entree and it was about $150 but certainly worth every penny!

We walked to the beach - which again...not a walk for everyone as it is about 8 km = 5.5 miles. We loved the walk and one day went to stop #7 for the water taxi...we took the cruise boat and it serves beer which was awesome while they took us on the tour of the homes along the waterway. We went to Los Olas and it was ok...expensive stores but nice places to have lunch or a beer, etc. We ate at the Irish pub at one of the stops...definitely wait for Los Olas...the pub was not good at all.

On the beach - fantastic walk - we walked all the way to the East and found a great little spot for lunch one day - the service was excellent and the food was good and they sold a bucket of beer. If you are interested send me a message and I can get you the name - just can't remember as I am typing!

Have fun...we really overall had a pretty great experience. It was nice to be close to the airport when we arrived, great to be able to walk to anything we wanted (but remember we really love to walk) and nice and close to the pier. We did decide to book our own taxi though as it is the same price as a taxi for 2. Have a great time! Any questions please send me a message and I would be happy to help!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    427
    149
    46
    43
See reviews for
333
487
69
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We arrived late and lost for directions at the FLL airport. We used the free hotel phone service at the luggage carousel and spoke with a young girl (Ivonne?) who told us to just take the doors to our right and walk outside again to our right about 100 paces and wait about 15-20 minutes for the white shuttle with Crowne Plaza on it. It showed up on time and got us to the hotel lobby in less than ten minutes. (FREE!) The front desk was small but very busy and the girl was doing her very, very best to accomodate all of the people lined up. She was working ALL BY HERSELF and fielding all requests with professionalism and courtesy which was truly remarkable for such a young individual. With a request wake-up call, food advice, cruise ship shuttle ticket reservation ($5/ person) and a cheery, "good evening!" our party retired to a large, clean, spacious well-lit suite with large, flat screen TV and Queen size beds with over stuffed pillows and new linens. Thank goodness there was no hint of smoke in these rooms! Next morning we caught the shuttle to the cruise ship in plenty of time for our planned vacation. Unfortunately, there was no return shuttle back to the Crowne Plaza from the Cruise Terminal, so we taxied back with a driver for $15. It's only a few minutes away and is only $10 in real time, but we were in a hurry to worry about the ripoff haggler.
Another young lady, the manager, I believe, took us in and gave us a similar room as we had during our pre-cruise one floor higher. Polite, and professional, just like our first time. No sights or stores in the area, but the pool amenities, free Internet, workout gym was plenty for the short time accomodations that we required. No shopping malls in the immediate area, but if you don't mind walking a few blocks in the daytime or have a vehicle you'll be fine. The Hertz is expensive in the hotel so you'll probably do better renting from the Airport although they do charge for parking, but who doesn't these days? There is a separate company that will shuttle you around town for much less than a taxi www.allstarstransportation.com, round trip, if you want.
All in all, some friends stayed at a cheaper Holdiay Inn Express and liked the difference at the Crowne Plaza A/C and another friend stayed at a much more expensive $380+ US/night and liked our value as well, so we made the right decision. Would we recommend this hotel to others? Hell, no!! We want to keep this secret to ourselves, as good friendly, honest service for a clean bug free room is hard to find at such a good price, and we would like to have this again the next time we leave out of this port.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewbieTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The hotel is ok. The restaurant had a fantastic breakfast. But they refused to pick up our party of four that had booked two rooms from the cruise dock. They would pick us up from the airport that is actually farther away. Didn’t make sense. I would have given a better review if they had. We got far superior service from the Sheraton Suites Plantation on the front end of our cruise, and would recommend that Hotel over this one.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

This was supposed to be a 3 1/2 star hotel, but the service and amenities were lousy. Multiple staff were rude on the phone. We were two parents with a child, but got a room with just one bed. The book of guest services in the room claims they'll be happy to bring you a cot, but they said they had none.

We asked simply for sheets and a pillow for our child to sleep in the chair, but had to wait over 1.5 hours and multiple phone calls to rude staff before even getting that much. The refrigerator was broken and they claimed they had no others. Your room keys are automatically disabled shortly after 11am, even though we called to request late checkout. Our luggage (including laptops) were left unattended in the lobby right next to the street / parking lot door for 30 minutes and I had to go get it myself, luckily nothing was stolen. My wife reported being bitten by dust mites. Totally unacceptable. The person at the front desk said he was the only person there at the moment and so wasn't able to help us. Perhaps the service is worse during the evening hours due to skimping on staff, I don't know.

It's a shame, because we thought we were getting a great deal / value at a low cost. The room was large, and the Internet worked (although we had to phone the front desk to get the password which annoyingly wasn't given to us, again not something you expect to have to spend time hassling with at a 3 1/2 star hotel when you'd rather be sleeping for your flight the next day). Yes, parking was an extra $10/day, something I did not expect for a hotel near the airport that is not in a pricey urban location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustAUser90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We chose the hotel to be near the airport since we were only staying one night; when we were here 5 years ago, there was nothing of good quality with a reasonable price around FLL. The CP is now that place and we were very happy there--from the very good quality food at the hotel restaurant to the size and condition of the room, and the pleasant staff, this place was an excellent value and stay.

It is just across the street from the cruise terminal, and we went to Bank Atlantic Center for the Bocelli concert and to shop at the excellent outlet mall (Sawmill) about 17 miles away. The best Marshalls we have ever visited is there, along with deeply discounted Brooks Bros. and other interesting stores. Avoid rush hour, and you can be anywhere from Sunrise, FL to FLL environs with no problem.

Airport is a couple of miles down the street, but you cannot hear planes at the hotel at all. Perfect location, although there is nothing interesting to walk to nearby. Nice Mercedes dealership next door, tho.

The staff were very nice and helpful. It's a bit of a smaller hotel, and feels more relaxed. Nice pool and sitting area on 5th floor. Easy parking.

This is a nice, new, clean hotel. Enjoyed it very much and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnNicaragua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We selected this hotel because we had a connecting flight through Fort Lauderdale early the next morning and wanted to stay someplace close to the airport that had a free shuttle. When we checked in we made sure to arrange for the shuttle (which has scheduled departures every half hour on the half hour) the following morning. The woman at the desk put our name and room number on the shuttle list and told us that we needed to be in the lobby 10 minutes before the shuttle departure. (BTW, that woman was the only person in the hotel lobby and was so busy answering phones and arranging for taxis that it took her a few minutes to even be able to help us check in.)

When we checked into the room-- which was spacious and clean-- we made sure to set the alarm so that we would be in the hotel lobby 10 minutes before departure (5:50 a.m.), went out to dinner, came back and promptly went to sleep. We woke up the following morning and left our room the clock in the room read 5:48 a.m. However, when we got down to the lobby (in a matter of a few minutes) we were told that the shuttle had already left. It was then that I checked my cell phone and saw that it was 6:03 a.m. Evidently, the room clock was running 10 minutes late. When we asked why nobody checked the list for the shuttle and called us to alert us that the shuttle was leaving, the less-than-helpful man at reception responded, "What list?"

There are a lot of other alternatives for staying near the airport at Fort Lauderdale. Try them before staying at the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAndyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Stayed here with my mom and sister the night before our cruise to the Eastern Caribbean. A little pricey, but not too bad compared with other area hotels in this category, and made more bearable by the newness of the hotel (which is why I chose it!). The shuttle to the cruise was free, which added even more value.
It's quite a fascinating place, since it doesn't really look like a hotel from the outside, but once you get inside, it's beautiful. Check-in was quick and effiicient, with a friendly staff. Our room was beautiful, and easily large enough for the two beds plus the couch pull-out. We had drinks in the bar the evening we arrived, and a nice breakfast before we left - food and service were both good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettibiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,110 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,781 reviews
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#34 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,993 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#28 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port

Property: Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Address: 455 State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fort Lauderdale's newest vibrant urban full service hotel! The Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port is modern, elegantly designed, chic, and centrally located to all Fort Lauderdale's South Florida events and attractions. Ideal for corporate or leisure and the most discerning traveler. The Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port is located at the entrance of Port Everglades Cruise Port and less than a mile from Fort Lauderdale Int'l Airport (FLL), Broward County Convention Center and 2 miles from Downtown Fort Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing