We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Way to Stay in Ft. Lauderdale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Way to Stay in Ft. Lauderdale”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The major advantage of this hotel is its location. Only a few minutes (by car) away from the beach and the city centre makes it attractive for young people. The staff gave me a warm welcome and were always happy to help me. The rooms are located in fully equipped apartments (bathroom, kitchen, living room).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comrade1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    15
    5
    8
    30
See reviews for
Families
0
13
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I found the hostel with a google search and decided that I would give it a try for my ft lauderdale stay. Upon arrival I was greeted by enthusiastic staff & within minutes of putting my bags down I had been introduced to lots of other people and we were all chipping in for a dinner on the grill. I found everyone to be friendly and fun , we all headed down the road for some drinks later on. The general vibe is great, not too far from the beach or airport and the bed comfy. The staff really make sure you get your moneys worth!! If I ever venture back to Ft Lauderdale I will definately be staying at the Chocolate Hostel once again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This hostel would probably be a great place if the purpose of my trip was to party, drink and enjoy loud music not caring about the facilities in which I slept.
Unfortunately that was not the purpose of my trip. I was in Fort Lauderdale for business and this hostel was dirty (rubbish including plastic bottles and the packaging from sanitary towels were in the room upon my arrival), uncomfortable (my mattress was slightly thicker than a camping mat and very uncomfortable and the bunks were old and not easy to climb due to the design) and the environment was loud (music was played very loudly from directly outside the room until after midnight every night).
Additionally there were multiple mix-up that needed remediation: I was originally put in a smoky, mixed room despite having asked for a non-smoking girls room and the room had not secured by the hostel for the full number of nights I paid for. Thankfully the staff were helpful in these regards and fixed these problems.
I have stayed in many hostels all around the world, and this was by far both the most expensive and worst experience of hostel living I have had. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify what type of room suits you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louiseckeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Very undesirable group of tenants. Resembles that of an unruly and not very fun "Animal" House.

Room Tip: Get a private room, or a Marriott for same $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Conisour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Stayed at this hostel with my girlfriend and it was a good experience. Never used a hostel before but I must say I hope others are similar to this one. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. The rooms we got were pretty clean and roomy. Came with TV's and and a nice kitchen in the suite. There was also a nice sized pool on the property.

The location is great also. There is a grocery store within walking distance, and several restaurants seconds away. Best part is that you can catch a bus to the beach or airport, less than a block from the hostel.

Overall it is a great pick of a hostel and for the price, you get your money's worth. They also threw an awesome party for the residents while we were there. Thank you so much again for sending me the item I lost in the room.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FemiIdowu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I had never stayed at a hostel before and had heard mixed reviews about staying at one. However, this was by far one of the best places that I have ever stayed at during a vacation. Staff was friendly and lots of young people who were there just to have a good time. Stayed in an apartment suite which felt like an actual apartment...perfect since we stayed there for 6 days. Definitely booking this place again when we return!

Room Tip: If going with others, ask about apartment rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faffybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2011

This was one of the best places I've ever stayed at on a vacation, and I wish I had known about this place before. The service was great, the prices were extremely affordable, and the private, 2 bedroom apartment that I rented started to feel like my very own vacation home. There's also plenty of parking, and the location is close to everything. My only regret is that I didn't put on enough sunblock for the endless hours that I spent at the pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHT111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#70 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown Inn Fort Lauderdale
Crown Inn Fort Lauderdale
#103 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#2 of 24 in Fort Lauderdale
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House

Property: The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House
Address: 506 SE 16th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Chocolate Hostel and Crew House, Fort Lauderdale's nicest apartment style accommodations. We are the best choice to truly appreciate what Florida ,Fort Lauderdale, and Miami has to offer. We will be your little slice of paradise as you explore all of South Florida including South Beach and World famous Fort Lauderdale .Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House is a wonderful place for tourists, travelers, and families. We provide superior large apartment style accommodations at affordable rates. We also cater to the budget minded hostel traveler offering private apartment style dorm rooms.The Chocolate Hostel and Crew House boasts 13 large apartment style suites, Each apartment is fully furnished with all the amenities of home. All of our apartments overlook the pool and the garden and are equipped with:-Central AC-Cable TV (some apartments have 60 Inch TVs)-Full kitchen with all utensils-Separate fully furnished living room-Hot water-Free High Speed wireless internet service and E-net ports-Free local phone calls-Pool and Garden View-Free Parking -Security Cameras -Daily Maid service -24 hour on site Manager These amenities will make your stay at the The Chocolate Hostel and Crew House as reasonable and relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chocolate 5 Star Hostel And Crew House
The Chocolate Five Star Hostel And Crew House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing