We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It works for me...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House
Reviewed 13 February 2012

There's not much to this place. The dryer sucks. There's no breakfast but there is a grill area with a couple picnic tables where everyone hangs out and smokes cigs. Besides that, the nonstop music is really starting to get on my nerves (it plays outside constantly). We are renting an apartment for a month an there's plenty of space, a good kitchen area etc. It's more of a place for people staying a few weeks or more but it works for me. Close to tons of restos and the yachty scene. Tap 42 (cool resto/bar) is nearby as well as Waxy's the Village well and others. Denny's and Boston Market and Dunkin D's nearby...The #40 bus zips you down to the beach. Hey, it is what it is.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberenergy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

We are 2 european, not picky, 27 old year easygoing guys traveling throughout the USA and unfortunately we stayed here. First when we tried to knock the door at the reception (in regular reception hours) we were told to go out and come later. We were bit tired because we traveled from NYC so we slept on chairs next to the dirty pool (plastic bags and hairs in the water) for a while. Later came the receptionist extremely unfriendly with keys and showed us the room. During the first night a big spring from mattress pinched me to the back so I had to change the bed. This please do not do because the day after I told it to the receptionist and he said that it is intolerable me to change the bed (3 more beds empty in the room I am not kidding)and of course without saying any excuse of the broken mattress. Many more unpleasant things happened because of him. We payed whole stay in advance so we did not have opportunity to cancel the rest of our stay (cancellation policy). We try to enjoy as many places as much we can and of course you need some money for that. Beach (really far away) and bars in Fort Lauderdale are awesome but this place cost us money that could have been spent definitely in better way. Please do not stay here.
PS: I think there is working a couple. The girl she is nice and she helps you but the guy he can really destroy your holiday (check the reviews on hostelworld and you will see that we are not alone)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ondra26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I like this place, the ones that run it, senor Gonzales and dona Mia are good people. Came here from California. 550 m to Bikram yoga, a great yogastudio run by Pachi Franko. Fine instructors.
He hostel have all that I need for a good buck.
God bless the Chocolate.
Regards from JanO

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jano10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is not what you expect in a hostel. No planed activities, no group meals , BBQ's or pool parties. I booked this in researching it as a place to book for college trips and have found it is a low income rental. Most of the guest are real nice, but in a challaging place in life. There are some that are who are here just to get by and avaliable to sell you what ever you want. It's 11:50 pm and music is blairing from the office for the second night. It would be different if it was a planned activity or after going out party, but not a just couple of guest hanging out drinking and smoking. I had booked for 6 nights but later e-mail back and reduced it to 5, this was before the cancelation time. When i arrived the rate was raised to equal to the six night rarte. I question it and was told the web page is wrong. I decided to deal with it while checking out other locationd. Even at $30. a night it isn't worth it. They are one bed room apartments which could be a great deal but they are dirty and beds and furniture are subpar. Some outlets are not working, globes missing from lamps and hard wired fire detector was missing as was the battery operated one, No screem on the windows with one not locking. There are no private lockers so some one else always has access to you luggage. This will be the last night i stay here, Hopefully the next hosterl will actually be one.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolachuckd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

NEVER AGAIN will I stay here and I strongly recommend you check out another hostel nearby with better service and cheaper pricing. I thought paying more and in a semi-private room would mean a better stay - I was wrong.

I've stayed in hostels all over the world and the country and I promise that you can do better staying elsewhere.

Upon stepping into the room I immediately could smell the cigarette smoke. I'm not sure if someone was recently smoking inside or if it was just a smoke stench that was stuck on the walls and furniture and there to stay. Not being a smoker, I found it very disgusting. Not to mention, I'm allergic to smoke.

I sucked it up for the evening only because I checked in after-hours and it was too late to find another place. I was supposed to stay two evenings but could not stay in a smelly room again so I left the next morning and drove the 4 hours home.

When I called them early in the afternoon with a message and again at lunch time, I was told that they would call me back in a couple days about receiving a refund for the second evening that I did not stay. They didn't call so I tried calling again in a couple days, and then again a couple days after that. Then again. All with no return call and no refund for the second night that I did not stay. It's now been three weeks with no call.

If the hostel was full and they had to decline visitors because of my reservation I would understand not getting my money back for a night that I did not stay there. But they were far from full - there were only three girls out of 8 beds in our one apartment being used.

I would not give such a bad review if it was just a smokey room and a sub-par hostel environment. But being a level-headed person and never talking disrespectively to their employees I felt their treatment and actions in this situation was completely uncalled for and showed me that they don't give a crap about their customer satisfaction and only care about getting the buck.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cristentampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The major advantage of this hotel is its location. Only a few minutes (by car) away from the beach and the city centre makes it attractive for young people. The staff gave me a warm welcome and were always happy to help me. The rooms are located in fully equipped apartments (bathroom, kitchen, living room).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comrade1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I found the hostel with a google search and decided that I would give it a try for my ft lauderdale stay. Upon arrival I was greeted by enthusiastic staff & within minutes of putting my bags down I had been introduced to lots of other people and we were all chipping in for a dinner on the grill. I found everyone to be friendly and fun , we all headed down the road for some drinks later on. The general vibe is great, not too far from the beach or airport and the bed comfy. The staff really make sure you get your moneys worth!! If I ever venture back to Ft Lauderdale I will definately be staying at the Chocolate Hostel once again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#41 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,228 reviews
The Hotel Deauville
#7 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
123 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,822 reviews
snooze
#4 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
681 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor ...
#17 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House

Address: 506 SE 16th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £17 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Chocolate Hostel and Crew House, Fort Lauderdale's nicest apartment style accommodations. We are the best choice to truly appreciate what Florida ,Fort Lauderdale, and Miami has to offer. We will be your little slice of paradise as you explore all of South Florida including South Beach and World famous Fort Lauderdale .Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House is a wonderful place for tourists, travelers, and families. We provide superior large apartment style accommodations at affordable rates. We also cater to the budget minded hostel traveler offering private apartment style dorm rooms.The Chocolate Hostel and Crew House boasts 13 large apartment style suites, Each apartment is fully furnished with all the amenities of home. All of our apartments overlook the pool and the garden and are equipped with:-Central AC-Cable TV (some apartments have 60 Inch TVs)-Full kitchen with all utensils-Separate fully furnished living room-Hot water-Free High Speed wireless internet service and E-net ports-Free local phone calls-Pool and Garden View-Free Parking -Security Cameras -Daily Maid service -24 hour on site Manager These amenities will make your stay at the The Chocolate Hostel and Crew House as reasonable and relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chocolate 5 Star Hostel And Crew House
The Chocolate Five Star Hostel And Crew House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing