We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House
Reviewed 17 July 2008

My most negative experience in a hostel. For a lot of reasons, here in summary:

1) The manager booked me a single room, as expressly required, just 25 days before my arrival. Three days before the flight he wrote me an e-mail saying it was no more available for me, and asked if a four-
pople room would be good. Since I had no time to look for an alternative (things that I would have done willingly), I reserved it. At my arrival, the manager was convinced I had no given any confirmation for this alternative options... there were two mails witnessing it. However,a place in a 5 people room (not four) was available for me.

2) The bed was awful and dirty. I had an inflatable (!!!) mattress, which was terribly noisy and uncomfortable. But, maybe, I was lucky. I am not so sure the regular mattress were free of any living and small creature.

3) Worst of all, the people in the room was not so "selected", as the manager assured me of his own free will. During last night, one of them pissed freely on the floor of the room, and my dress and backpack was highly affected by this undesired bath!!!! You can imagine my shock! I ended my stays in the hostel at 3 a.m. and preferred to spend the remaining hours of night in my car!

I highly recommend to avoid this hostel. There are other hostel in the city, which were described as comfortable and decent by other visitors. Just near the hostel, there are also some motels. I had a look at their rooms, when I was tempted to leave the hostel before the end of my stays. Another world!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ancient_traveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2008

This hostel is not fit for people, it is dilapidated, dirty, broken blinds, doors etc. We booked on the Internet with Hostels. com, but when we saw the place, we cancelled rightaway, 10 days in advance of our planned stay and have now been charged on our Visa for almost $300.00, socalled bookingcharges. We found a clean and even beautiful hotel for the same $70.00 per day, with breakfast included and still had a wonderful vacation. Just a warning, do not use your creditcard at this place.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seniorMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2007

I spent a few days here over Prez day weekend, arriiving on a Sunday. The place was quiet- due to unseasonably cold weather, and the mgr said, people recovering from Sat night. I chose to stay in a single room- queen bed ($40/ night), which was part of a 2 BR apt. with shared bath, kitchen and LR. My room had its own lock, very secure. The place was very clean- no bedbugs! There are also shared doubles, and dorm rooms ($25). A lot of the people there work on yacht crews, and are laid back, low key, and friendly. People offered to share their food and drinks several times during my stay. The manager, Jorge, goes out of his way to help - he even went out on Sunday night to get a part for the toilet so it would stop running constantly! Whenever I needed something- an extra towel, etc, he was able to help.
The housekeeper, Jen, is also great- the place is cleaned daily, and she even washed the dishes!
The beach is a short 10 minute direct bus ride away, and downtown is 10 minutes in the other direction on the same bus line. There are lots of fast food places within walking distance, and 2 grocery stores a 10 minute walk away.
Unbeatable for the price!

3  Thank SpanishParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lau R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regina685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alonso C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank PauloPaetzold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Universal Palms Hotel
#101 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,415 reviews
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#38 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,245 reviews
The Hotel Deauville
#7 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,440 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,854 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House

Address: 506 SE 16th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £26 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Chocolate Hostel and Crew House, Fort Lauderdale's nicest apartment style accommodations. We are the best choice to truly appreciate what Florida ,Fort Lauderdale, and Miami has to offer. We will be your little slice of paradise as you explore all of South Florida including South Beach and World famous Fort Lauderdale .Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House is a wonderful place for tourists, travelers, and families. We provide superior large apartment style accommodations at affordable rates. We also cater to the budget minded hostel traveler offering private apartment style dorm rooms.The Chocolate Hostel and Crew House boasts 13 large apartment style suites, Each apartment is fully furnished with all the amenities of home. All of our apartments overlook the pool and the garden and are equipped with:-Central AC-Cable TV (some apartments have 60 Inch TVs)-Full kitchen with all utensils-Separate fully furnished living room-Hot water-Free High Speed wireless internet service and E-net ports-Free local phone calls-Pool and Garden View-Free Parking -Security Cameras -Daily Maid service -24 hour on site Manager These amenities will make your stay at the The Chocolate Hostel and Crew House as reasonable and relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chocolate 5 Star Hostel And Crew House
The Chocolate Five Star Hostel And Crew House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing