We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chocolate is my flavor candy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“chocolate is my flavor candy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

My experience with chocolate hostel the close to my favorite places and church I appreciated for allowing me to stay here for a week. I'm currently homeless and on disability with no help. I hope for to get help so I can recommended others to chocolate hostel thank you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    5
    8
    28
See reviews for
Families
0
13
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I enjoy staying at the Chocolate; having stayed twice for 2 months at a time.


I think it is a very comfortable way to stay in Fort Lauderdale.
It is close to McD's, Dunkin Donuts, CVS, Denny's all across the street or within 5 min walk.
But stop to airport also 5 min walk away.

10 min from the hostel is trolly bus stop to beaches which costs 1 dollar per ride or 3 dollars all day, 9:30 to 6:30. But I usually walk to the beach, being about 1.5 miles away or less. There are plenty of markets within walking Farm, Winn Dixie, Publix, Dollar Tree, and Ross if you need clothes.

The apt you get with your bunk is spacious living with TV, dining area connecting to Kitchen which has a full refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, and plates, pots, silverware, utensils for cooking.

The bathroom is what you would expect from any bathroom and if someone piggy was not in there before you it should be clean because they have a person who cleans the apts and they are orderly with lockers, space in large closets, dressers for your clothes, so if you lock your things nothing should walk away on its own. I do lock my things up when I am not in because I have hostel experience now going on two years traveling and staying in hostels. I lock everywhere I go out of habit and to not take chances.

This place is comfortable, large, organized and clean. Bunks are spacious and have 9 in mattresses on the lower bunks. On top it is still comfortable but the mattresses are lighter, not as tall, to be expected.

There is a courtyard and pool outside where everyone socializes. The music is on from about 11pm to about 2 during the week days and longer on weekends. It is eclectic, avant guard, and subculture or jazz, oldies, classic rock, depending on who is DJing, and on Thursdays they do a movie night by the pool. Sometimes there is beer pong, BBQs, Karaoke, etc...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

When I first came to the hostel it was mid afternoon and very quiet however being a Friday night it became a very lively yet relaxing place to stay. I was greeted as if I was part of the family the whole time. Complete strangers sharing favorite dishes and enjoying music together. There was even a live performance very entertaining. The gentlemen who was in charge of housekeeping was extremely polite. Unlike what you normally find at any hotel. This place gets 7 stars from me.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No-ah2833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I am James from Los Angeles and travel through Fort Lauderdale frequently and have been staying at Chocolate Hostal many times over 10 years. Formerly known as Bridge II - I recommend for singles, friends Families, Couples, Business et al. James

Room Tip: My error here No Fitness Center or Spa but many in the Fort Lauderdale area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameshurtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Antigua Guatemala
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

How can I start! I booked this place because it was the only available in town. I should have known! I have been staying in crew houses for the last 4 years. I normally use this one company which has some excellent, over the top service, impeccable houses and rooms, and over all a great company. The price of this hostel (chocolate) is higher than the people I normally go to. So imagine when I come into this place and I'm told my "semi" private room is a room with a bunk bed... I was a bit surprised but didn't make a bug deal, although I did comedy in my surprise to the attendee. I then paid my deposit for the key and moved on to check out the room. Another surprise, there was this stench, this horrible indescribable stench, as soon as I opened the unit's door. The place was dirty, obviously. I moved then to the room... There it was! The bunk bed! Wow, not a single sheet, but the items of my lower bunk roommate all over the place. Not surprised there. The room was tiny, tiny, and after seeing I was going to have to share this stinky, dirty, dark, and messy place with someone else I decided to leave. Does it sound like too much drama? No, I am not a drama person, I just felt I was being mistreated... I called a friend and she agreed in having me at her place.

I asked them for refund, and alas, they don't accept refunds, wonder why! I told them I still wanted to leave.

I later decided to email them about the situation and how frustrating it was the fact that I didn't even touch the bed and still they wouldn't give me my $215 back. I'm unemployed, looking for work, and they bluntly decide to keep my money. I was clear with my message, not rude but clear about my thoughts. We went back and forth a few times, at the end, the employees decided I was harassing her because I mentioned her attitude was wrong, and said if I am ever seen in the premises it will be taken as trespassing, ha! They offered a credit to be used later, I said I could give it to someone if they needed it, they said it was personal... If I didn't stay there now, why would I stay there later? Anyway, totally a bad experience. I didnt know about their policy until I got there... Of course, this is written at the bottom of their emails in tiny letters... A really bad experience. I work in hospitality and service, this place is the best example of people who do not understand those words. And believe me, it is not about the money (although I do need it) but about feeling taken advantage off. Some people might have no idea how for less money they can find better service and a clean room... I feel for them for just taking whatever is given to them.

I forgot my passport at their reception when they asked me for an ID... I am really not looking forward to going back there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mopalomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I spent 1 week there and met interesting people.
super super clean, helpful staff, great service, great community.
there is kitchen with all utensils and tools.
$20/night, swimming~
I can't believe there is even a swimming pool. I can swimming!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Did not actually stay there but checked out tbe room before i did which was cool that i did. You share an apartment with another yor bedroom has a lock on it. Furnishings were minimal and seen better days no wait better years. The sheets were gray that were on the bed but probably began as white decades ago. Nice location. Parking. Cheap. Girls in the office were nice. Might work if yr 20 but if yr in yr 40's maybe not so much

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveh2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#81 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown Inn Fort Lauderdale
Crown Inn Fort Lauderdale
#91 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#1 of 24 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House

Property: The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House
Address: 506 SE 16th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Chocolate Hostel and Crew House, Fort Lauderdale's nicest apartment style accommodations. We are the best choice to truly appreciate what Florida ,Fort Lauderdale, and Miami has to offer. We will be your little slice of paradise as you explore all of South Florida including South Beach and World famous Fort Lauderdale .Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House is a wonderful place for tourists, travelers, and families. We provide superior large apartment style accommodations at affordable rates. We also cater to the budget minded hostel traveler offering private apartment style dorm rooms.The Chocolate Hostel and Crew House boasts 13 large apartment style suites, Each apartment is fully furnished with all the amenities of home. All of our apartments overlook the pool and the garden and are equipped with:-Central AC-Cable TV (some apartments have 60 Inch TVs)-Full kitchen with all utensils-Separate fully furnished living room-Hot water-Free High Speed wireless internet service and E-net ports-Free local phone calls-Pool and Garden View-Free Parking -Security Cameras -Daily Maid service -24 hour on site Manager These amenities will make your stay at the The Chocolate Hostel and Crew House as reasonable and relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chocolate Five Star Hostel And Crew House Hotel Fort Lauderdale
The Chocolate 5 Star Hostel And Crew House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing