We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24 laid back hours in Ft. Lauderdale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House
Reviewed 11 January 2011

More like staying in your own apartment for one night. Less impersonal than a motel and with better service and cool neighbors to boot. Amenities are are basic but everything you might need can be found within reasonable walking distance. The well prepared traveler will have no problems there. You cannot beat the combination of price and location. Accommodations are small, two and three bedroom apartments with kitchens. You get one of the secure rooms and use of the rest of the apt., coffee pot and microwave in the kitchen w/ full size appliances, living room furniture. A good base for a longer stay, though I only stayed one night, I would stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eljdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2010

This hostel is just a ten minute bus ride from the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Airport. The bus stop is a block and a half away from the hostel and cost me $1.75. I stayed in a great apartment style dorm with friendly roommates. The shower was hot and had more pressure then I needed. Crazy but true. The guests who I met there had been staying for weeks and seemed very happy to be there. But what stood out the most was the service. The owner and the receptionist were both stand up people who answered all my questions. I was only in town for the night after spending the last nine months in South America and really wanted a REAL beer for a change. Not only did they explain what bars, restaurants and shopping is available in the neighborhood, but actually drove me to the grocery store to go buy some brew!!! Incredible service! This is the first hostel I have stayed in in the US, and it really set the bar high.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Wilhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

First of all, you stay in an apartment, complete with fully equipped kitchen (even a cofeemaker), cable tv, living room and dining table. That is just great, if you don´t have anytjing to do in a day you can stay in your hostel apartment watching tv and surfing the web just like home!!
Nice internet speed and security lockers in the apartment for your laptop.
And the location is great, 1 bus to the airport (really close) and next to every kind of food you want!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garabomboazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I stayed here for one night on the way to Colombia with a friend. We rented an apartment with 2 beds in a bedroom a small kitchen and a living room with a TV. This place is in serious need of a remodel. We paid $75 + tax for the one night. We may have been upgraded from a room to the apartment, I can't remember for sure. Down the road about a mile is the Hilton Marina Hotel for $94 (Senior rate) /night + tax and we stayed there on our return home. Now that was an amazing value and just gorgeous. I inspected the mattresses at the hostel and saw debris like what is explained as bedbug debris in the seams of the mattress. It may not have been but I'm not sure. I brought a powder for the purpose and sprinkled it all over the beds and in the seams and then slept in my sleep bag.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerrykatz, Manager at The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2010

We at the Chocolate Hotel Five Star Hostel are truly sorry for you not enjoying your stay with us ...

We have recently changed managers and gone through a total remodel of the apartments ..in august 2010 ..so iam not sure when you stayed ???

Although our building was constructed in 1982 ..We are modern property with central air and all good size apartment which have been renovated previously to this summer in 2005 .....The majority of Hostels in the area are much older ..and have more or less dorm style facilities ....

The Hilton is a recently renovated property and has been offering great rates for hotel rooms lately in order to get the word out...the rates today are much higher for a simple room ...

But yes we are not a Hilton we consider ourselves a 5 star hostel ...apartment style ..community of international travellers ...as far as bugs are concerned ...we do not have them as you have described ..we perform bi-weekly pest control just as most major hotel chains ....however this is South Florida ..which use to be a swamp ..so yes in a tropical climate .. especially near the beach ..if you don't keep you windows and doors closed especially around dusk ...little critters like mosquitoes will find there way in .... that's why we always have friendly skin so soft bug spray available at the office ..it comes in handy as our BBQs last late into the night

We welcome you to try us again ..give us a call ..for a special rate ...We know you'll be happy !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Until this trip I always had a lot of luck in getting a deal at the Hilton Marina on Priceline... usually as low as $45/night. But it looks like they may have parted ways because I tried bidding up to $75 and no go. So since I was traveling solo, I thought I might give this a go. I didn't really know there were hostels in the US... figured it was more of a Europe thing.

Nicole is good to deal with... she's busy and puts up with a lot of the crazy types I'd imagine one has to deal with when you run a hostel. So if you catch her at the right/wrong moment, that could be it. She seems to get mixed reviews online, I thought she was cool.

The pros: free parking (great if you have a cheap rental), wifi is free, decent pool, fun community setting, cheap $1 laundry machines, and decent management. Location is good, not great. You're not close to the beach, but not a far walk from easy transport to the beach.

The cons: again, this ain't the Hilton folks. Basic dorm style living, heating was ehh (then again this is Ft Laud, how often do they need heat?).

If you're traveling solo and want to keep a budget low, this is your place. If you're traveling with a friend or a few, it's probably just more sensible to go in together on a cheap hotel room. While you're there, grab lunch at the Italian place in the little shopping plaza across the street... AWESOME meal! Most amazing garlic knots.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinterHaterBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We came here from a recomindation from the Everglades hostel . Upon arrival the manager Nicole made us feel at home ..got us a rental car cheap ..and helped point us In the direction of what to do at night and where to get groceries..the place is lcated within walking distance of all ...all the rooms have full kitchens they are mor like 2 bedroom apartments with 2-4 beds in each bedroom ..we stocked up at the grocery store thi king we would cook but were soon invited to the almost nightly BBQ by the pool..great international crowd made friends from all over the world Sweden to Australia ...we left for key west hostel only to cut the trip short and returned to the bridge ii for the rest of our stay ..we just had a great time with all the people ...we will be back and still keep I. Touch via facebook

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelman1Qw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We ended up at this hostel by coincidense and we found out that its a really nice place to stay at! the new manager, Nicole, is very service-minded and takes really good care of all the guests!
We had bbq every night we stayed there and hooked up with loads of nice people from all over the world!
When the day comes that we are going back to fort lauderdale this is the place we are going to!


//the swedes sven & mia

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sven-mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#41 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,231 reviews
The Hotel Deauville
#7 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
124 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,830 reviews
snooze
#4 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
684 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor ...
#17 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House

Address: 506 SE 16th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £20 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Chocolate Hostel and Crew House, Fort Lauderdale's nicest apartment style accommodations. We are the best choice to truly appreciate what Florida ,Fort Lauderdale, and Miami has to offer. We will be your little slice of paradise as you explore all of South Florida including South Beach and World famous Fort Lauderdale .Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House is a wonderful place for tourists, travelers, and families. We provide superior large apartment style accommodations at affordable rates. We also cater to the budget minded hostel traveler offering private apartment style dorm rooms.The Chocolate Hostel and Crew House boasts 13 large apartment style suites, Each apartment is fully furnished with all the amenities of home. All of our apartments overlook the pool and the garden and are equipped with:-Central AC-Cable TV (some apartments have 60 Inch TVs)-Full kitchen with all utensils-Separate fully furnished living room-Hot water-Free High Speed wireless internet service and E-net ports-Free local phone calls-Pool and Garden View-Free Parking -Security Cameras -Daily Maid service -24 hour on site Manager These amenities will make your stay at the The Chocolate Hostel and Crew House as reasonable and relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Chocolate Five Star Hostel and Crew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chocolate 5 Star Hostel And Crew House
The Chocolate Five Star Hostel And Crew House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing