We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #14 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel. The location is right across the ocean and the view from the hotel room is beautiful. They charge you a 50 dollars deposit when you check in and you also pay 25 dollars a day for valet parking. They don't tell you that. Overall its a good hotel and I'm definitely coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cage0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Cage0810, thanks for such great ratings! The $50 deposit is a standard requirement that you will find at all full serivce hotels and $25 a day for parking is in the range of any beachfront hotel in FLL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    945
    332
    134
    73
See reviews for
677
1,115
131
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lindenhurst, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Before going on this trip i read some pretty bad reviews. Well not true at all this hotel was very nice clean rooms, great view! I did not like the fact that they have 25$ parking. The pool area is nice the pool itself is a little small but good enough, they also have a little bar area by the pool. Right across the hotel is a beautiful beach and a lot of places to eat at. Only problem is that walls are really thin i herd some things i did not want to from people next door and they want a 50 dollar deposit for every night you stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandra Mari... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Aleksandra, thanks for your comments. Glad to see you found our rooms very clean and you enjoyed the views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

B Ocean is at the end of the Fort Lauderdale strip. This makes for a quieter location, and at least during our stay, leaving an open, not crowed beach to explore. The hotel was easy to find and easy to check into. The staff was welcoming, and extremely helpful. They charge $25 dollars per night to park, but I checked all the hotels, (not small motels) and it was not an unusual amount.There was never a long wait to get the car, and the folks working the parking were quick to attend to any need.

The hotel tries for a chic "Retro Miami/South Beach" Vibe. They offer free coffee in the lobby in the am and also have an easy not expensive restaurant off the lobby.

The rooms are a good size, and they say all have a lovely view. The decor of the lobby continued into the room, with white as a theme. It was clean enough, our shower was good with a "rain" shower head. The bathroom could have had more places to hang towels.They have great soaps and hair products. Over all the bathroom was visually lovely, but they sacrificed some functionality for design, but this to me was a minor thing. Lots of hanging closet space and draws. They don't have a mini fridge or traditional "minibar" but they do have a snack basket which is clearly marked $5 for any item. Our room was on the 5th floor, right across from elevators. We had no issues with noise. Due to allergies we needed to have the feather pillows etc. changed and they did this with ease and a smile. Previous posts on tripadvisor complained about service, it was not an issue at all.

The hotel is across the street from the beach, which is the case for the vast majority of hotels in this area. The beach is public, you can rent the chairs and umbrellas from the beach authorities but beware it is expensive! Best to find a cheep store and get some gear yourself if you are staying for a while. The hotel's pool is small but lovely, they make use of a difficult courtyard space with their design concept in full use.

Over all a good hotel, not the most luxurious, but easy, and a good price for beach front. There are many places to stay some significantly more expensive, and some less...but this hotel was a good compromise for beach frontage. just a note, if you want budget accommodations, be careful! As we drove around I saw some of the paces that I had checked out and many looked problematic.

Room Tip: higher floor the better vista of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear kz2, thanks for your comments. I am glad to see you enjoyed our service levels as well as our amenities, including our fabulous Aveda bathroom products!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This resort is located directly across from the beach. That's the first plus! The lobby is very chic and reminiscent of South Beach with the bright lights. To the right of the check-in is the B'stro restaurant which serves breakfast and lunch...the second plus. LOVE the decor and feel of the B'stro restaurant. Their Lemon Crunch pancakes with granola on top is AMAZING and top of the line. WOW! They also serve a buffet breakfast which is $16 per person and covers any coffee you would like. The only downfall was that it was a bit too pricy.

To the left of the check-in is the exit to the pool. One of the hotel's downfall is the pool. The pool was way too small. It had about 4 cabanas lined up and plenty of pool chairs but the pool just wasn't spacious enough. The view wasn't the best from the pool side...let's just say you could see the tattoo shop from the pool! Once you come back in the hotel there is the second restaurant which serves Sushi and Chinese inspired food. We received a complimentary dish of California Rolls. Not sure if its because we booked it through Hotels.com. But the sushi was delightful. The fried rice was cooked right and fluffy. Great dinner!

Our room was located on the second floor with a gorgeous view. I really like the simple clean look of the room but hated that it was located right above where cars unload and valet. The left side of the room faced the traffic on Sunset. We requested another room with more privacy and they upgraded us to a junior suite at no cost. The room was located on the 4th floor and had a direct view to the beach but could've been missed because the power lines and trees were in the way. The second view from the room was HORRIFIC!!!! We had direct view over the run down building right next door. It was a sight for sore eyes. Another disappointment. The suite was apparently connected with another room. The people next door were a little noisy and I could hear their conversations.

In summary I would definitely go back for breakfast or dinner and spend the day at the beach. Don't know about staying in the hotel again. Plus the $25 24-hour valet was a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the hotel will overlook the run down building...so avoid it! Try to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srsalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Srsalas, thank you for your comments. Great to hear that you trully enjoyed both of our restaurants. Regarding your comment about views, although we wish we could change it, we have no control over the surrounding buildings. Your room had 2 large windows, one directly facing the beach, the other one facing south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Agustine, Fl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The B Ocean is an OK hotel, it could be cleaner but decent views. I did not like the $25 a day valet parking with no option. That basically is a $25 tax on your room cost. If I would have known about that I would have stayed at another hotel that is closer to the restaurants. They need to clean the rooms better. The pool is way small and not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anahblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear anahblue, thanks for your comments. The reality of beachfront resorts is that parking is at a premium and the $25 fee is in line with all other full service resorts in FLL and certainly not a tax (if you don't have a car, you don't pay the fee). That is the trade off vs. staying in a hotel away from the beautiful beach and views. I have reviewed your comments with our Housekeeping team and they understand the importance of providing a pristine room experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

There are any number of hotels by the beautiful beach in Fort Lauderdale, but the B Ocean was certainly well-priced and offered ocean view from every room. The staff couldn't have been friendly and helpful. But an unexpected highlight was the pool, which was very private, hidden behind the hotel and accessible only from the hotel, but open to sun and breezes. The international clientele made me feel very cosmopolitan--I heard French, German, and British English. Although I was visiting an aunt, and by myself, it seemed to be very popular with families.

The only quibble I had--are you reading this B Ocean folks?--was the overwhelming scent piped into the lobby. Can't you find something a little less aggressive?

Room Tip: They all seemed pretty good, although I was upgraded to one on the "crescent" which is sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear chloe082, many thanks for your feedback and great ratings. I made note of the scent in our lobby. This is this first time I've gotten feedback on the scent, but I will take a look at it in case an overzealous team member turned the dial up all the way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

PRO'S:
Beautiful Ocean View
Close to some shops and restaurants

CONS:
No in-room coffee makers,or complimentary coffee at the desk
no fridge
$25 valet parking
Rooms small
Double beds
Expensive for airport stay

Room Tip: Ask for a military discount and you will get an upgrade, which may have been a room higher up (9th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skeptical2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Skeptical2012, thanks for sharing your comments. One point of clarification: we DO offer free coffee every day at B'stro on the Beach until 11am. It's a great way to start the day and sip your coffee while looking at the beautiful beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,089 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,915 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,989 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,233 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing