We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's NOT a five star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #14 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Very end of the strip. Have to walk at least 2 miles to the main action.
Rooms were ok, did have a view. Only a window, can not open it.
Beds were comforable and did have a 27" screen tv. BE WORN
that this is a party hotel. DO NOT ASK FOR THE 12 floor. Alots
of partying going on the 13 floor. VERY VERY VERY noisy.
Pay alittle extra and stay near the strip at another hotel like the
( westin ) , it would be well worth it.
The rooms were clean but this is not a five star. Believe me, I stayed
in five star resorts.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear Donna H, thank you for sharing your comments. I apologize if the noise from an event on our Penthouse floor did affect your experience. Thank you for your strong rating on room cleanliness. Please note that there are no 5-star rated hotels on FLL beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,825 - 1,831 of 2,821 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel was a wonderful experience from the moment we arrived till we left.

I am fortunate that with my job that I get to travel first class and travel in private aircrafts.

My experience at B Ocean matched this in every way, the hotel was wonderful, all the staff were fantastic and made our stay very memorable, we will definitely return and have already recommended this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: The higher up the better, we were in room 1202, views and room were both fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WFerrier816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear WFerrier816, thank you for sharing your comments. Glad to her your experience was everything you expected it to B! I appreciate your strong recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

First time stay at the B Ocean Hotel but hopefully not our last. Arrived at 10:30 AM on a Friday 1/4/13, just off a cruise, and we were to check in to our room! We were off to a great start. The room was bright, well appointed, loved the modern vibe. Our view of the beach was incredible. The front desk staff was most helpful with our request for dinner ideas/transportation in Las Olas and again when we needed to print out boarding passes. Had a wonderful dark and stormy at the pool bar made with a homemade ginger ale. You must try it!! My only complaint would be that there are no facilities over at the beach for guests and the vendor there wanted $50 for 2 loungers and umbrella! It seemed that some other hotels we passed provided for their guests on the beach. Would recommend!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachNmargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear beachNmargarita, thanks for your great comments on the service and hotel. I appreciate your recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We recently stayed at the B Ocean and must say that we were extremly pleased with our service. From the time of our arrival on Jan 11 to departue on Jan 13 the staff were professional, prompt and very polite. As buisness owners ourselves we are subjected to the whims of guests who are not always polite and some are impossible to please. Having said that, I wish to commend the managemt and staff of this hotel for a job well done.. On a side note, I forgot my suit and shirts in the closet when we left and never noticed until unpacking as our ship was ready to leave port. A call to the B Ocean to ask thier assistance in this and they promptly located my articles and safley stored them until our return to port.. We will stay at this Hotel again and if I might suggest thier Asian grill is spectacular.. In closing we would like to say thank you for a wonderful stay.. Harold & Janet Hamm Kingston NS Canada

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Harold and Janet, I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with the service provided by our entire team. Thank you for your business and come back to visit soon... it's cold up north!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a bright and modern hotel. Everything was exceptional. The food, cleanliness, facilities were top notch. I would definately stay there again. Lots of eateries within walking distance, and you can rent scooters if you want to go exploring. We used the bus to go exploring, the schedule is good. The only down side is the beach is on the highway and it was noisey.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a room with floor to ceiling windows. The windows do not open, but the view was spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear AlexandBunnie, thanks for your great feedback.Glad to hear that everything was exceptional!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed here Saturday January 19, 2013 for one night. We arrived at noon--room not ready yet. We stored our bags and drove around awhile. Got back around 3pm and got a room.

The room is on the small side. There is no fridge or microwave. The bathtub is very short (would have expected some kind of soaking tub).

They do have great views of the ocean and the TVs are huge in the room.

We were missing glasses from the room (which are kept in the closet with the ice bucket) Despite asking the bellboy who brought our luggage up (and tipping him), we never got the glasses.

The beds were comfortable. We ate at the pizza place on the corner--great place with great staff. The souvenier shops in the area were bargain priced.

We used the pool area, which was very nice.

Overall, it was an ok stay--But I really missed having a microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bingomamma19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear bingomamma19, thanks for sharing your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the oceanfront views!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

First off I want to disagree with all the reviews which complained about check in and service. I called from the airport at 10 30 and asked if my room could be ready early (this is high season and did not expect to get in before 3 or 4). They told me that the room they had me in still had a guest, but they switched me to a better room which was ready, didn't charge me the higher rate and when I got there at 11 30 am i got right into my room. Any request i made during my 3 day stay was handled quickly and efficiently. The housekeeping service was fine, they alway sleft me extra towels. And the Valet parking service was outstanding.
The rooms are a little small, but I did have a great view overlooking the ocean. The bed was very good, The TV service and movies offerred were great, however it was pretty expensive, The bathroom was very small, shower very tight for a large person. My biggest complaint about the room is that Air Conditioning unit was very noisy and came on and off constantly and lept me up at night.
Furnishings thoughout the hotel are sleek looking, but seem to be Ikea quality. The pool area is a little small, some guests couldn't get a lounge chair.
The location is across the street from the beach, but it is the only hotel for several blocks, so the crowd seems more local than tourists. It is also very seedy in the blocks adjacent ot the hotel. The shops consist of Tatoo parlors, a couple of low end bars, some bodegas and a crappy diner/pizzeria. A lot of biker types hanging out.
The overall value was good, the location was convenient for my needs. I would not go on vacation here, but it was fine for a few nights. Everyone I came in contact with who worked for the hotel seemed to be trying hard and the results were good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear Larry M, many thanks for sharing your observations. I do appreciate your candid and honnest input as it relates to our front desk, housepeeking and valet service. Everyone on the team really cares about our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,017 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#28 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,173 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,033 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £128 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing