We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

The location of the hotel is great, the beach is just across the street. Staff was by and large excellent. Friendly service at the front desk and at the pool side bar. I was able to get an early check-in by taking a room on a lower floor, and was willing to sacrifice the view to get settled right away.

Room was spacious and comfortable as was the bed. Housekeeping did not clean my room the 2nd day I was there. Front desk apologized but offered no compensation.

Many have mentioned the small pool area, and that is definitely the case. I found that by 2-3 pm, it starts to clear out and becomes more accessable.

I ate at both restaurants and had 2 very different experiences. I had dinner at SAIA and the food and service were very good. Breakfast at the Bistro was a different story. I got there at 9:00 and was seated immediately. I then waited 10 minutes for someone to take my order and bring me coffee and water. I ordered the buffet to save time, and they were out of eggs and it was another 15 minutes before the eggs were re-stocked. Food was average at best.

All in all, I would return here, primarily due to the location and the desk staff.

Room Tip: To beat the crowd at the pool, go out there at breakfast and put a towel and a t-shirt on one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mphopkins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear mphopkins99, thank you for sharing your comments and for staying with us. It's great to hear that our front desk staff took good care of you and was able to provide an early checkin by offering an alternate room. I have shared your note regarding service on the second day, which was obviously an oversight by our housekeeping team. Apologies for this situation and the slow service in B'stro during breakfast. We definitely will focus our efforts in these areas to enhance service levels. Thanks again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,133
    887
    313
    125
    66
See reviews for
610
1,041
120
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
449 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Good things - most staff very helpful, Sharon gets an A+! Food and drinks good. Pool crowded but fun. Frustrating things - housekeeping seems disorganized, very slow; same for the front desk; lots of noise from the street; avoid using pay-per-view, you may get a surprise like me with a $39 charge and then the front desk wants to argue with you about it. I'd stay here again but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: As high as you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear VacaBoy, thank you for sharing your comments. I appreciate the kudos to the team and particularly to Sharon. Apologies for the challenges you experienced with the slow service - we do clean rooms until late afternoon but do adjust cleaning times based on our guests' needs and requests. We will check our pay-per-view system to ensure that it is billing movies properly, as this is not an issue that has been raised so far by our guests. Thank you for your business and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to B Our Guest - our goal is to get an A!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

I am amazed by some of the reviews I have just read - it makes me wonder what some people want!!

We stayed at the B Ocean as part of my 40th birthday holiday. Every room in the hotel has a sea view, the 7 mile beach is literally across the road and the rooms are stunning. We were greeted by pleasant and helpful reception staff and were found a room very quickly despite our arrival at 10 am. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable and we felt very well looked after. Breakfast can be a la carte or buffet, both are lovely - I strongly recommend the Eggs Benedict! The pool area is compact but we always found a chair and the pool temperature is perfect. We also took advantage of the smashing ice cream parlour just around the corner - lovely! A very smart shopping centre/mall is only a 10 minute walk away and there are a selection of very good restaurants at the mall entrance (including P.F. Changs and Blue Martini).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable break at a central, beachfront location. I would certainly return! My thanks to the staff for making my birthday so special.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank combatsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear combatsmurf, manny thanks for your kind comments. I do appreciate the feedback provided on our facilities, service and location. Glad we made your birthday a special one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Views and location was awesome. Spacious room and comfortable bed! Close to restaurants and walking/running path in front of hotel for morning exercise. We upgraded our room for little extra cost and took advantage of spa services. The pool is small, but never had a problem finding a chair. Pool was very warm.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Michele D, many thanks for your feedback and for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
great neck
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

The property is clean and rooms have simple lines (Ikea nice, as another rater nailed it) but it is in no way luxurious. We booked this property because of the four star rating. Because of that I dropped the star rating to a 3. It is pretty a minimalist business hotel room with terrible art. There is even a magazine rack mounted on the wall, like in a doctor's office. Staff was nice. Friendly. To their credit the internet was included--a nice touch. It reminded me of a "W" wanna-be. Anything that happens in the corridor might as well be happening in your room..and vice versa! The doors are useless for privacy although we didn't notice any noise coming through the walls.

It is certainly not a four star hotel. Missing so many of the amenities one would expect in a four star property: like a magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Be aware: there is valet only parking @ $25/night (plus tips).

Also, no refrigerators or coffee makers in the rooms. I'm setting aside out the bar upon the arrival and storing my perishables in the frig. And although there is complimentary coffee in the lobby in the mornings that is cold comfort when you would like a cup of coffee or tea before leaving my room while getting ready for the mornings.

I wouldn't bother booking here again unless it was at 3 star prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcbphdargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear tcbphdargon, thank you for sharing your comments. We tend to get many accolades for our design and decor throughout the hotel, so it's disappointing to read that you did not enjoy our surroundings. I appreciate your input on amenities and certainly understand what you are accustomed to in your travels. I appreciate your feedback on our staff friendliness and glad you took advantage of our FreeB Wifi throughout the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I'm giving B Ocean an "Average" review only because my room had such a beautiful ocean view. The room? Hated it. Ever seen mayo on white bread? This is the decor. White on white on white. Taupe floors and couch. Oh yea..throw a couple blue pics and a blue pillow and that's supposed to be the "splash of color". It felt like I was in an institution. Walls were paper thin...could hear my neighbors next door talking as well as the thump, thump, thump of a party on the penthouse 2 floors up. Air conditioning was so loud that it woke me up with a huge THUMP every time it kicked in. Bathroom so small I couldn't unpack my own bath products. No water pressure. I heard this was a Holiday Inn or some other chain hotel before they turned it into this "upscale" hotel. I'm sorry..but there's a saying in the south "like throwing lipstick on a pig". Yup..that's what they did.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Katie, thanks for sharing your comments about your stay with us. It's unfortunate that our hotel facilities did not meet your expectations. We are quite proud of our hotel and do receive many kudos for our modern design but at the end, it's a question of personal preference. Thank you for your strong rating on our location, which is certainly very convenient for many of the activities our guests enjoy while being at the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

To begin with, we booked our room with AMEX and paid a premium to have a Ocean Front Upgraded Room. The highest of the three or four selections available. We arrived to find out that we would not be getting an Ocean Front room and that eventually we received a corner room that partially saw ocean and partially looked down at the roof tops and alley street below. We took picutres with our phone to document the downgraded view. The water in the bathtub was yellow coming out of the faucet and in the toilet. The bathroom itself had black hairs. The walls in this room appear to be thin because we could hear so much noise. To top it off, the maid pounded on the door at 9:00 am to clean our rooms, waking us up. A very poor experience in a revamped hotel that just didn't make the mark. Considering the distance from Las Olas, and the price we paid, along with the numerous deficiencies, the $600 we spent on this hotel would have been better spent at a best western. Perhaps because we normally stay at Marriotts and Hiltons, and had a suite on the Oasis, that we held the hotel to a high standard. However, when you pay for a Ocean Front and get alley and yellow water, that is a expectation from all that is expected to be met.

In dealing with your staff I felt that they were unsympathetic to our plight and the money that was spent. By the time we found the bathroom dirty, the crappy view, and the yellow water, we already tired of dealing with the staff and simply took pictures for documentation on Trip Adviser. The staff argued with me and actually made me login to my computer to prove that I had paid $400 per night for the room, and that reservation from AMEX had a guarantee on the room. I really felt that this was a poor hotel and would not recommend it to anyone. The manager did give us a junior suite (free upgrade) in lieu of the issues. The view and condition of that room is what I have enclosed. Horrible!

Room Tip: If booking this hotel, you need to be above the 5 th floor to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerBE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear TravellerBE_13, thank you for sharing your comments. I was very disappointed to read your initial survey and contacted you to discuss your experience prior to this post. Since I did not hear back, I want to take this opportunity to address your concerns, because we truly care about providing a great experience to every one of our guests. The reservation we received was for a Captivating room but because we did not have the room available that day, we upgraded your reservation to our B Enhanced Suite with a King bed at no additional cost, despite it being the largest unit we have and one category higher than what was booked. As it relates to the the cost of the room, our records indicate a much lower rate than $600 for a one-night stay, so I recommend that you contact American Express and ensure that you were properly billed for this stay (which is one of the reasons why I attempted several times to connect with you as this was a prepaid reservation). I want to truly apologize for not meeting your expectations despite the efforts put forth to provide you with the bed type that was originally booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,893 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#50 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,666 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotelopia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing