We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SPOT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SPOT”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Excellent property. I wish I could have stayed longer! Nice white rooms with comfortable beds. Nice view of the ocean and steps away from shops on Sunrise. Great friendly staff and a special thank to Ryan the bellman. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear sens1992,
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are sorry that you couldn't stay longer as well! We will be sure to pass along your positive comments about Ryan, and hope that we see soon for an extended stay.
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    945
    336
    134
    73
See reviews for
680
1,121
131
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pennsauken
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I will start with the ugly... My husband and I had an early flight and arrived at the hotel at 12pm. We knew check in was not until 4pm. The gentlemen told us to come back closer to 4 and he would call if our room was ready early. Perfect! We came back at 3:30 and Ariel told us our room wasn't ready and probably wouldn't be ready by 4... We were not happy. She told us she isn't sure why the hotel didn't hire more cleaning people. First of all that's not what you tell your guest, and second of all... HIRE MORE CLEANING PEOPLE. She was doing her best to make people happy but the hotel really needs to address this because I watched customer after customer get angry because their room was not ready. I finally got in my room at about 4:45, and waited for bags to be brought up.
The BAD: The rooms don't have a frigde, however you can request one and hope they have enough.
The walls are paper thin. I could hear people talking on the phone or to one another VERY clear.
I woke up several times in the middle of the night by someone closing their door, because it is SO loud. There are snacks in the room but each are $5.00! Are you kidding me? One small bag of gummie bears, $5! Talk about taking advantage of people. The free coffee was disgusting, but free! =)
THE GOOD: Chris at the hotel has exceptional customer service. The rooms really are quite beautiful and clean and I never had a problem with having our room cleaned everyday. The shower was pretty cool and the bathroom was nice and contemporary. We were on the 7th floor and the view was out of this world. The lobby was very cool and the waiting area is quite comfortable. They allow you to check your bags while you are waiting for the room and if your flight is after check out. Ours was at 8pm so we appreciated not having to lug our stuff around all day. They have a bike rental right on the property, and it's $5 for 30 minutes. It was awesome! Oh and the BED WAS THE BEST!!!!!!
This doesn't pertain so much to the hotel.. just some tips!
You don't need a car, if you are okay with a 15 minute walk for certain things. We loved the walk. The area was SO BEAUTIFUL. The mall is like 10 minutes away with lots of great restaurants near by like PF CHANGS, BURGER FI, Seasons 72 and so on. The opposite end is Bubba Gumps, cvs, multiple icean cream places. There is a pizza shop 2 stores away from the hotel that is AMAZING! It's called Primonti's and its open 24 hours and the pizza so good and the prices are sooooo reasonable. My husband and I got breakfast from there like everyday for $13.00!!! You can't beat it! LOVED FORT LAUDERDALE!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear katie82,
Thank you for your valuable feedback during your recent stay with us. We greatly apologize for the dissatisfaction that you experienced throughout the check-in process and have spoken with both our housekeeping and front desk teams about the issue. We are researching the possibility of adding fridges to the rooms but please know that we do have them available upon request so should you stay with us again, we would be happy to make note of that. We're sorry for the noise issues you encountered, but glad to hear that you enjoyed your bed and waking up to the ocean views. We certainly appreciate the positive comments about Chris and will be sure to relay them.
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked 4 days through OTELS.com. Turns out this agent has not paid this hotel, so we had to pay again using our CC. The hotel was very accommodating and honored the reservation rate. We did have to wait for our room (about 90 minutes) but ultimately it all worked out. Great location, but very busy on our weekend. Breakfast was so so, partially under-cooked french toast and hollandaise on eggs benedict was more like lemon sauce. Bartender at pool bar was great. Fast service and cold drinks...what more can you ask. Cab fare to this hotel from FLL is $28. John, one of the PM managers (I think) helped me wade through the booking debacle and even took the time to speak to the booking agent (live from Istambul, Turkey according to VISA).

Room Tip: Ocean view room was nice to wake up to, but the beach is across the street. A1A is busy so get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear David S,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced through your booking, but are glad to hear that John was so helpful to help out and take care of everything. We will be sure to pass along the nice feedback. We're sorry to hear that breakfast was not to your standards and will address this with the Chef. We hope that you will come back and see us (and your pool bartender, Koejie, in particular) on your next visit to Fort Lauderdale.
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked a last minute room at the B Ocean and it was great. The location is right in the heart of Fort Lauderdale beach. Very convenient, we took cabs everywhere. The beach is right across the street. Our room wasn't huge, but the windows are huge and the view is all ocean. We had a corner room and the bed was very comfy.
We were in town for a wedding, so it was great. I can imagine it not being the place to go for a quiet beach retreat. There seemed to be an event at the hotel and lots of young people out and about at all hours. A great sushi restaurant. I didn't have time to use the pool but it looked nice although very crowded. I would recommended it for friends on vacation.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have huge windows and views on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SundaeSunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear SundaeSunday,
We are glad to hear that you had an overall positive experience during your stay, you can't beat the views of the corner rooms, it's like waking up on a cruise ship. We apologize for any noise issues that you encountered, but are glad to hear that the location and convenience of the property was to your liking for the wedding. Please come back and stay with us soon.
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We booked the upgraded junior suite with ocean view. Arrived early and confirmed with front counter who told us they had us in "partial ocean view". But she was changing our room to give her a few minutes. 4 hours later I asked about room and we're told our room was ready. Was given a lovely highway view room that you could smell the ocean from. Checked with manager who said he was sorry but they don't guarantee views. This place is a dump to begin with. Don't waste your time and money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ashimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Ashimmy, my apologies if we did not provide the room that you expected. I verified your reservation and it was indeed made for one of our B Enhanced suites. We have 2 of these suites per floor, one facing South/East, and one facing North. Unfortunately, as hard as our team wokred to find one with a South/East facing view, there were none available at the time you arrived. The team continued to monitor any cancellations that came through during the evening but nothing became available. We did honor your reservation but were unable to provide you with the view requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed three nights after cruising and found the location absolutely perfect!
The hotel is cleaned, the staff is very nice, the room is large and you have fantastic windows that gives you a view on the beach.
The bed was very comfortable with great pillows.
Beach is across the street, cheap breakfast and pizza located nearby. Subway popcorn and Ice cream bar, souvenir shops , every store is walking distance.
We treat ourselves to breakfast in their bistro.It was a bit pricy but the coffee was real good. Staff was very polite and professional.
We also tried the restaurant. If you not a sushi fan you think there is nothing on the menu you will like.You actually have no idea what to order and you would be incline to leave,Wrong! After we asked explanation, my husband had Kobe steak that you cut with your fork and I took tempura shrimps in a sauce to die for with rice. It was excellent and I planned to go back and have the same plate as It was really good.
I think they should advertise more this type of food is available at the restaurant in the hotel rooms. If people knew the restaurant would be filled.

Room Tip: Tell them you found the hotel on trip advisor, that their reviews were good and were told to get a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retraite10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear retraite10, many thanks for your thorough feedback. Looks like you took the opportunity to enjoy many of our facilities and restaurants. Glad you discovered our great menu at SAIA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I think had I chosen a chain hotel I may have had better luck. The view was terrific but the room definitely was worn out and I had the "stunning" room / room rate. Mold in the shower, stained carpets, dirty walls, etc.

The pool and pool area was tiny - I think the pool in my backyard was bigger. Some of the front desk team was nice (the males were very pleasant and helpful, the females were not so customer friendly nor helpful).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickimood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eduardo f, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear vickimood, my apologies for not meeting your expectations. I am disappointed with the comments pertaining to your room and service at the front desk. We strive to provide a great room with excellent customer service but we obviously fell short during your stay. I did share your feedback with everyone on our team to highlight the importance of providing a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,101 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,929 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,992 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,242 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing