We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Oley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked hotel when it was Bocean hotel which ran a Cruise special, even after the name change Sonesta gave us everything the other hotel offered plus more! They even gave us two meals on them extra! Room was awesome over looking beach, room was clean, and staff was super friendly!

Room Tip: 1003 was awesome,overlooks ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leek51570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear leek51570,

Thank you for staying with us recently and your kind words about the property! I'm so glad to hear that you found the transition to a Sonesta an upgrade and that everyone was accommodating. I will be sure to relay your comments about the great service to the staff. We hope to have you back as our guest very soon!

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,149
    904
    318
    126
    68
See reviews for
622
1,058
122
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oley, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here 1 night before a cruise. I booked this hotel when it was named Bocean with a cruise package deal. Sonesta staff made sure I got the deal the prior hotel had offered plus more! Great place!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Lee,

Thank you for staying with us recently during your cruise vacation, we certainly appreciate you selecting us with all of the other hotels here in Fort Lauderdale. I'm also glad to learn that our staff met your expectations, I assure you it's all part of our Sonesta culture and something you would encounter at any of our other hotels as well! We hope to have you back for a lengthier stay in the future so you can enjoy everything that we have to offer.

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My honey recently booked a night away for us here. It's a beautifully modern hotel with tremendous views. The best part, however, is how the staff jumped through hoops to meet a special request. On the way down, my fiancé called and asked for a bottle of champagne to be waiting in our room. When we got there everyone was so happy to accommodate and make sure that they didn't spoil the surprise. Our champagne and strawberries arrived along with two fluffy robes. The customer service they exhibited was excellent. We only live 2 and a half hours away and will return! What a great weekend getaway we had here!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear M H,

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the property with your husband for a little staycation and that the staff succeeded as part of our "surprise and delight" motto. :) We hope to have you both back very soon!

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very nice and clean Hotel. Good price and quality of service. Very close to the beach as well.
Formerly known as the B Ocean - Rebranding and revamp of the hotel lobby and bar. I recommend it! Great place on the Hollywood blvd.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pagapaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear pagapaga,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to review our latest addition to the Sonesta Collection. We're so glad to hear that you noticed some of the enhancements we've made after our rebranding, and hope you'll be back soon to enjoy them again.

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is in a great spot on the beach front.

The lovely staff offered us an upgrade to a beautiful room with stunning views of the ocean.
The hotel is very trendy, heaps of restaurants on the water front.
Free Wifi, great bar area with free snacks & wine every night at 5pm which was very nice.

Unfortunately we only stayed for 1 night before getting on a cruise, but next time I'd definitely make time to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Dan D,

Thank you for staying with us recently and your review of the property. I'm glad to hear that our team was able to take great care of you and upgrade your room so you could enjoy those views even more. You will definitely have to come back and stay with us longer next time, please send me a note to ldufresne@sonesta.com should you come back this way and I'll be sure we take great care of you again!

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had the pleasure of having a little family (me, my husband, and our 12 month old daughter) stay-cation this weekend at the Sonesta Ft. Lauderdale. I've been to the property before, when it was the B-Ocean, and it is as lovely now as it was then.

Highlights:
- The staff consistently exceeded our expectations on friendliness and helpfulness. Often, we had to ask for a high chair or plate of fruit for the baby, and each time, the staff met each request with a smile.
- Hotel views are STUNNING. We spent much of our time at an event on the Penthouse level, and you simply can't get a better view anywhere on Ft. Lauderdale Beach.
- Proximity to the beach is excellent- literally across the street!
- Hotel food at the Sonesta is wonderful. There was not a single meal that we didn't find ourselves talking about during the day. So worth it!
- The hotel is a little north of much of the "action" of Ft. Lauderdale Beach. For us, this was a HUGE plus, as we were definitely seeking a quieter experience.
- Can't beat the fact that Primanti Bros (delicious all-hours pizza) is right nearby in case you need a snack!
- Housekeeping folded up our clothes when they cleaned our room each day!
- Biggest plus: The General Manager, Eduardo, was visible all weekend long. He asked us how everything was no less than 3 times during the weekend. It's clear that the culture he sets for his staff comes from his own customer service philosophy.

Things I'd change if I could:
- It's true, not all Sonesta Ft. Lauderdale views are created equal. We were in a 3rd floor room, and the view was not as "inspiring" as those on higher floors. (We spent time in a friend's room on the 10th floor, and the difference was tremendous.) Though we did have a view of the ocean, on my next visit, I will be sure to request a higher floor. You should too.
- The pool and deck area are both quite small. On a busy summer Saturday afternoon, it was too crowded for us to enjoy, so we chose other activities.
- If you want to be in the middle of the bars and similar nightlife, this may not be the right property for you. We loved the location and the quiet!
- Valet parking is very expensive. That being said, the valet staff were very quick to bring our car around, and were in no way bothered when we asked them to bring the car around just so we could put bags in it and go back upstairs. There is street parking available, but it is metered.

Though no property is perfect, we fully enjoyed our stay at the Sonesta Ft. Lauderdale, and we would recommend it to anyone in a heartbeat. We absolutely plan to come back here! Thanks so much to all of the fabulous Sonesta staff for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Be sure to request the highest floor you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Jennifer,

We can't thank you enough for providing such a thorough and detailed review of the property. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff, food and location were to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back whenever you're ready. Please send me a personal note to ldufresne@sonesta.com when the time is right, and I'll be sure we put you in a high floor room so you can make the most of those sunrise views. :)

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Creek, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Property is in great condition, good ocean view king, a friendly and helpful staff, and excellent food & beverage! I drove in and the valet service was equal to the task! Finally, hotel is in excellent location! .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottZimmerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D, Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Scott,

Thank you for taking the time to review the property after your stay and for the kind words! I'm glad to hear that enjoyed your experience and in particular, that the valet staff was so accommodating. We hope to see you back here soon.

Best,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing