We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Market 17

Market 17
Reserve with OpenTable
Market 17 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,326 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Eisenhower Blvd & 17th St
Transit: Water Taxi & Bus
Description: Market 17 is proud to be serving delicious, creative dishes that are literally from the farm right to the tables of our diners. We call this "wine country cuisine" because the emphasis is on fresh, clean food from top purveyors along with an abundant wine list. For the more adventurous diner, Market 17 offers 'dining in the dark'. It is our chefs table in a private room that allows a new way to experience food. Once your sight is turned off, all the other senses are heightened. It's a fun and unique experience to enjoy our food. (Due to limited seating, reservations for dining in the dark can be requested via open table notes but are not guaranteed. Please call 954.835.5507 to confirm dining in the dark reservation requests.) Our menu will change daily and we'll always offer amazing tasting menus for you to sample what the chef has created. Come and experience for yourself what all the buzz is about!
Queenstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Market 17 is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to which is saying a lot because I have been all over the world. The service was personal, not rushed and very friendly. It was the first time my husband and I ate there so the server explained the unique dining experience we were about to have. It is a farm to table with a list of the farms on one side of the menu. This was a wonderful surprise. The menu changes daily based on the ingredients that are available. Needless to say, the food was incredible. I only wish I lived in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    133
    35
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The best meal in Fort Lauderdale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have been going to Market 17 since it opened. They started out pretty good and are now at the GREAT level. They happily accommodate diet restrictions. The servers are top notch. The atmosphere is chic, happening, yet easy and peaceful. A perfect spot for a romantic evening or a special celebration...but so delish, you'll want to make it an "everyday occasion".

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Across the street from the Hilton Marina in Ft. Lauderdale, this place is definitely worth a visit. Absolutely wonderful ceviche, awesome grouper and the best rare wahoo. Presentation, service and ambiance all wonderful. Don't miss it if you are in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MoniCz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Creative, delicious cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The restaurant touts a farm-to-table ethic, which is not especially of interest to me in itself. What I do care about is fresh ingredients, cooked properly, and assembled in a creative manner with a balance of flavors that impresses my palate. And Market 17 definitely delivers on these points. On this second visit within a year, I found them to be consistently excellent. They found novel ways to combine diverse ingredients to make up dishes that are very pleasing. The cuisine is "creative without pretentiousness". That is, the visual presentations were not so much an artistic canvas, but more about the food combinations. The dining facilities were very comfortable and the service was excellent. My starter of pork belly with creamy polenta and arugula/mint salad on the side was excellent, with the pork being crispy and not too fatty. It paired perfectly with a 2008 NZ Pinot Noir from Pegasus Bay (WS 92 pts). Which brings me to comment on their eclectic and well chosen wine list, with fair restaurant pricing. My main course was medium rare antelope, sliced, with a Bulgar wheat pilaf, some roasted broccoli, wilted kale, and a semisweet chocolate-inflected demi-glace that was just perfect with the meat. The dish was a real winner!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cuisinator007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I was looking for something different to take friends for dinner. Boy did I find it! Market 17 offers an upscale culinary experience unlike anything else that I've found in South Florida. From the moment we were welcomed into its modern dining room, everything screams "unique." The menu reads like a gourmet wish list of "farm to table" options, with truly different takes on every dish. Best of all, the experience was capped off by excellent food and service. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank greglewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market 17 also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Market 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing