We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it.”
Review of SAIA - CLOSED

SAIA
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Sushi, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sunrise and AIA
Description: Welcome to SAIA - a harmonious experience of the senses in a modish Southeast Asian style. In just one visit you will know why SAIA is more than just dining – it is an experience that inspires the senses.
Reviewed 8 February 2014

When we came to SAIA it was early (around 6:00pm), heavily raining and the restaurant was almost empty. To our surprise most of the empty tables had the "Reserved" signs on them. But when the breads and food started to arrive we knew why. As a food lovers we appreciate the small touches that chaff put in his creations. The food was exceptional (more like NY or Chicago), the wine selection well chosen and reasonably priced. Perfect. Don't miss this one. Enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Worldtraveler3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Having dined at countless restaurants in Fort Lauderdale, I was anxious to try Saia. Got the scallop appetizer which was tasteless and mushy. Next tried the sea bass which was bland - in addition the portion size was ridiculously small. Ginger rice did not impress because it was overdone and pasty. Tuna rolls were acceptable- probably the best part of the meal. Having spent over $100, with no alcohol, it was a waste of money. Left hungry and won't return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoannCalifornia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaine O, Manager at SAIA, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hello and thank you for your comments. All reviews are helpful, good and not so good alike to let us know where we have room for improvement. Although it seems that you feel we did not hit the mark for your dinning expectations. I think maybe you did not get a chance to have the full SAIA experience.
The scallop appetizer has been featured at many of our food and wine festivals with rave reviews. The pasty rice you referrer to is commonly used in Sushi preparation called "Sticky Rice" and is supposed to have a different texture than you might find at a non sushi restaurant. I will admit that the Sea Bass is one of our newer items on the menu that we relaunched a few months ago. But we have had little issues with this dish up to this point. And we will look into the portion size of this dish.

Thank you for your comments and I hope this response was helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The atmosphere here is very quiet und romantic. You can observe the art of elegant japanese cooking in the middle of the room. I enjoyed the meals especially miso scallop and mongolian lollipops. Very special cocktails like saia rita that was recommended by very nice and careful waiter

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MargaritaRemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaine O, General Manager at SAIA, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for choosing SAIA for your dining experience during your stay at the B Ocean hotel. We are always striving to B the best. We are enhancing the lighting in SAIA to add some more atmosphere for your next experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a gem of a sushi restaurant, located in the B ocean hotel at a1a and sunrise, it has a great view of the water (especially from the new patio located in front). We chose to sit outside and the breeze was constant and perfect. We had a group of about 7 people and ordered several rolls and several things from the other Asian style tapas menu. Things came out as they were prepared, family style and our server was prompt and attentive. The miso scallops were the biggest hit at our table, and the knockout roll was my personal favorite. The food was so fresh, and nothing we ordered disappointed. Will definitely be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The price is a bit high and not somewhere I would spend money often. However definitely worth the splurge if in Ft Lauderdale, its connected to the B Ocean hotel. We had a fantastic meal. Ambiance is very romantic, the drinks were a bit too strong. But all the food was exquisite! Worth the money!

Thank 1_4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SAIA also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing