We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water Taxi - Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood”

Fort Lauderdale Water Bus
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Water Taxi - Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We took the first Water Taxi from Giorgio's in Hollywood on a Sunday morning, heading for a day exploring Ft. Lauderdale. The allure to us was the prospect of a Hop On Hop Off type experience. The price is right ($18 all day for Seniors, $22 for adults), and the overall experience definitely worth it. The actual management of the operation leaves a little something to be desired in the Time department - bottom line: budget plenty of time for the Water Taxi. It takes about 45 minutes to get from Hollywood to the first transfer taxi to FtL-it's an interesting ride past Port Everglades with its container operations and huge cruise ships. At the transfer point, the crew transferred us to the wrong water taxi and we all had to reboard to the correct one to go to Las Olas (downtown FtL) - the total time at the transfer point was 15 minutes. Not too bad as it's generally a laid back experience. We had planned to do some more exploring on the other routes and then head back to Hollywood around 3pm to catch the 3:45 transfer. But the water taxis get very full through the day, in fact so full that they sometimes cannot stop as scheduled to pick up more passengers. The demand throws off the "schedule" so that it becomes meaningless in FtL. So because of the crowds, we gave up on more Hopping On/Hopping Off so that we could get on a water taxi to get us to the Hollywood transfer point for the next boat, 5pm, back to Hollywood (those run only once every 1 hr. 15 min). We barely made it onto the FtL water taxi. TIP: if you find yourself in a long queue for a water taxi, show your Pass and move to the front of the line past the people without tickets. Also, when returning, go to Stop #1, rather then #3, to beat the crowds.
Is it worth it? YES! Just allow lots of time/bring beer, be conservative in the number of transfers you plan to make (unless you really have all day and evening, remembering that the last boat back to Hollywood is 7:30), and plan to do some waiting. Our return was delayed 1 1/2 hours beyond what we had planned.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank violinII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    6
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ft. Lauderdale by Land & Sea”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were off our cruise ship by 8:30 am with a flight home from Ft. Lauderdale scheduled for 6:30 pm. We weren't looking forward to spending 10 hrs. at the airport. Fortunately, there was a land and water tour of Ft. Lauderdale available via the Celebrity Eclipse excursion desk, which we hadn't known about prior to our trip. So, it was a no-brainer to sign up for it.

We were met by Linva (yep, that's how she spelled her name) and an air conditioned bus at the cruise port. We toured the city for about 11/2 hrs., then boarded a simulated paddle wheeler for a narrated 2 hr. water tour on the Intracoastal water ways. Beer, soft drinks, burgers, nachos, popcorn, etc. were available on board for purchase.

The trip took us by multi-million dollar homes of the rich and famous with their equally expensive boats moored at their back doors (or maybe it's their front doors). At the conclusion of the tour we re-boarded our bus and were taken to the airport. If you have never taken such a tour, and have some time to spend, I recommend this one.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great way to spend the day”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We purchased an all day pass on the water taxi New Years day. Great value for $22.00. Rode the taxi during the day and then went back at night to look at all the beautiful holiday lights. The staff was knowledgable and friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganBmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good value - as long as you plan ahead”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Given that only expensive day tickets are available, you really need to plan to be able to use for a full day, rather than a quick trip.

An enjoyable way to see the scenery from the water.

We initially used the taxi to get from the Hilton Hotel stop to Hollywood by the first service of the day (09.30). In fairness to the crew, they did say that there wouldn’t be much to see on this part of the tour. This part of the service is more for getting customers from Hollywood to Lauderdale, rather than the other way. That said we still enjoyed the 40 mins each way.

It is the taxis that cruise around the houses/boats and inlets that offer more of an attraction. A commentary came with each taxi.

Some points worth noting. Firstly study the timetable so you don’t inadvertently end up missing the boat. The Hollywood one for example only runs every couple of hours.

Our visit in early December saw most of the boats busy, but comfortably loaded. In peak season, if you were unable to board, the wait for the next one may not justify the expense of the ticket.

In common with most US tourist attractions, you are continually reminded each time there is a stop that gratuities are gratefully received. If you are hopping on/off frequently, this can soon add up to a further expense over the ticket price.

There are no restroom/toilets on the water taxi.

In summary, worth doing as long as you can ensure you get a full days use from the ticket. Some of the routes operate until early evening, so it is also a nice way to see the waterfront lit up.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank A380ManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best $20 spent!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The water taxi is a great way to see the sights. There is a good commentary by the crew and they are very informative. The waterway is extensive and it wends its way through canals, state parks and industrial dockland areas depending which way you go. We saw palatial houses, luxury yachts and fabulous high rise condos. It was the best $20 we spent as we saw so much.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SueyG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Lauderdale Water Bus also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Fort Lauderdale Water Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing