We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but hotel needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #37 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but hotel needs updating”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed here in April 2013 for four nights. The hotel is conveniently situated on the intercoastal waterway on a water taxi stop and is a few blocks from the beach. There is also a large mall next door as well as a grocery and drug store across the street. While the staff was very friendly, the guest rooms are in need of updating. The suite we stayed in was very spacious, however the chairs in the dining area were all peeling and looked shabby and the couch was extremely worn down. The patio had some sad furniture and our patio also had several old cigarette butts scattered throughout. Aside from the space given in the room, I did not feel that it was worth the $169/night rate. Additionally, if you are bringing a car, they charge a mandatory $25/day valet fee (there is no lot available to park your own car...however there were a few vacant other lots right next to the hotel that were chained off). The lobby and patio area were all very nice and the outdoor bar was a nice place to relax. We didn't end up using the pool but feedback from others is that the pool was kept very warm, so that did not leave us with much desire to use the pool. As I said before, the staff was all very friendly. I can't say I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fablifeforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Guest room renovations are in full swing, with dining chairs already installed, we’re almost finished with new carpet and the sofa beds are being installed as we speak. I will mention the condition of the balcony to our housekeeping team. Parking is very limited in the area so we offer valet parking at a competitive rate. I’m glad you enjoyed the location, our lobby & patio area, and also the pool bar. We hope that next time you’re in the area you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations of our hotel.

John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    866
    363
    209
    125
See reviews for
938
833
140
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Every time I stay at Gallery One Hotel in Ft. Lauderdale there is always something that catches my attention. The staff are always friendly, and the valet attendants make me feel like a VIP. They are so courteous and I never have to wait for my car as a call from my room is all that is required. Service like this is hard to find.

The Hotel is having a make over and the new room furnishings are going to make Gallery One the Number One Hotel in Ft. Lauderdale.

I am already looking forward to my next stay at this excellently situated hotel. Everything is within a few minutes walk, beaches, restaurants, mall, shops - even Publix. I can think of no better location in Ft. Lauderdale.

It was good to see that the excellent services of Ryann Love have been recognised with his promotion to Front Office Manager.

Room Tip: Corner two room suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Wow! I couldn’t help but smile when I read your review. Thank you so much for rating the GALLERYone a “5”! Thank you for recognizing our valet attendants and Ryann Love. I will share all of your wonderful comments with our team. We look forward to seeing you again.

John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I arrived on a Friday, with my confirmation #, only to be told my room was cancelled. I never cancelled the room but was told there was none available. Checked back in Saturday night. After walking to my water view room, my daughter went into the bathroom and screamed. My 7 year old daughter was petrified. After calming her down I looked up to see the sprinkler system leaking. After telling the front desk,there was no incident report filed, and they moved my family to a new room. This room had no water view. It seems to me that no one was real concerned for my daughter. I will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
We are very sorry for the unfortunate experience you had while at our hotel. It should be noted that we have a state of the art fire suppression system and that a leak anywhere in the sprinkler system would cause an immediate hotel-wide activation of our entire life safety system. The safety of our guests is paramount. I apologize that an incident report was not filed and I have contacted you through your Trip Advisor account to speak with you about this situation.

John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great overall service but chair in room for dinning was old and teary need to be changed. I loved the welcoming i received from all hotel staff. The hotel was very tidy. Housekeepers was very nice and respectful. Also valet drivers offered valuable help every chance they got. This is not my last time coming to this hotel i will return again. I stayed at Peabody Hotel in Orlando which is a 5 star hotel and i can truly say that i got the same overall experience at my stay as if i was staying at the Peabody hotel. Great Job Guys. You have my recommendation

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Fabiola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for your review. You’ll be happy to hear that all of our dining chairs have been replaced, and we’re in full swing with carpets and sofa beds. I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed the overall service of our team members at the hotel. I will be sure to let them all know of your nice comments. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back!

John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseland, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Nice location, close to the beach, nice outside bar area. Rooms were nice but I had a 2br suite, in 1 bathroom there were water spots on ceiling where there must have been a leak and wall tiles in shower were loose. In the smaller bedroom the AC leaked which caused the rug to Be soaked and room smelled like mildew. Called maintenance 3 times before problem was fixed. Other than that the breakfast was good and staff friendly and helpful. Nice little fitness center. Close to publix, beach, Starbucks, mall, and lots of places to eat.
If you rent a car beware there is a mandatory valet and the charge is a $25 charge per night. I feel it is a nice hotel but not worth the money I spent.

Room Tip: Do not take 2br suite 434. Ac issue and loose shower tiles
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mm023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback. I’m glad you enjoyed our location, the breakfast, and the fitness center. I apologize that we didn’t provide the quality of amenities (AC leak and loose shower tiles) and service you deserved during your recent stay at the GALLERYone DoubleTree. The maintenance staff has been made aware of this so we can prevent this from happening in the future. We hope you’ll consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.

John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N IRELAND
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed 4 nights per-cruise it was great : shopping close by a short walk to the beach

Our suite was beautiful ,really very friendly staff

Great breakfast : best oatmeal ever , fruit ,smoked salmon fruit etc all very high quality produce

I would definitely stay here again if we cruise from Fort Lauderdale

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NIrelandGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for the great review! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the GALLERYone. We definitely look forward to having you back.

John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basom, new york
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Due to the concert going on the weekend we needed to be in Ft Lauderdale, we had concerns on where to stay, when we were able to secure this hotel we were greatly pleased. It was away from all the activity of the concert, but close to shopping and restaurants. Reading previous reviews, I was quite frankly concerned about conditions of these rooms, and getting a room facing the road with the drawbridge. Arriving early morning, we were assigned a ready room on the, uh-- third floor, of course facing the road and the drawbridge. It was early and only staying one night, I wear earplugs anyway, bit the bullet. I had called the property a few weeks earlier requesting a room on a higher floor in a nice quiet area, but I guess I had to adjust due to the early hour of our arrival. The suite was fine, but with the mentioned wear on the chairs, the outside of the patio door could be cleaned better, but its outside. Listening to the bells alerting to the bridge going up was kind of interesting, traffic didn't bother us. Having a laundry facility on this floor would be great if you are staying for a longer time. We had a concern about getting transportation to the port, we read that it took a long time for a cab to be summoned. We checked out and went to the valet to summon a cab, and asked if we would be interested in the car service. I was glad we did, getting into the pier took some kind of driving. It was worth it. The warm cookie upon checking in did not hurt the experience either. The only downfalls we encountered were that the pool chairs were occupied or covered with towels, but no one was around, and the outside bar wasn't open. If we get the opportunity to visit Ft Lauderdale again, we would consider this property.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tailoftwokitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALLERYone D, Manager at GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our delicious chocolate chip cookie is our signature trademark. VIP Limo is an excellent car service that we like to offer to our guests, I am glad you agree. We look forward to welcoming you back!

John Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,688 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,031 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,839 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,016 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel

Property: GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel
Address: 2670 East Sunrise Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#29 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the main Intracoastal Waterway, GALLERYone DoubleTree Suites by Hilton , is the city's premier boutique hotel that exemplifies the casual elegance and sophistication. In a superb location, Gallery One is an easy three block walk to Fort Lauderdale's beautiful sandy beaches and blue Atlantic Ocean, directly adjacent to Galleria Mall - an upscale mall that boasts Neiman Marcus, Saks, Macy's, Dillards, and over 120 special stores PLUS Capital Grille, Seasons 52, P.F. Chang's, and Blue Martini! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery One - a Doubletree Guest Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Doubletree Fort Lauderdale
Doubletree Gallery One
Doubletree Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing