We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Location”

The Pirate Republic Bar, Seafood & Grill
Ranked #76 of 1,335 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Clermont, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Location”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Really enjoyed our night at this restaurant. Food was excellent and it was super cool looking at the stunning yacht's. Expensive so don't go here if on a budget.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MHM_Inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    112
    33
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, WA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Little Hard to Find”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went to this restaurant for the first time this trip to Florida. It has its own Water Taxi Stop, but only if you're on a small Water Taxi. We weren't, so we had to walk from the water front to the restaurant. The route was not direct. But the trip was worth it. Great food, great ambiance, right on the river. It even has a parrot for good measure. Nice Happy Hour too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden from 'land ho', but worth finding”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Don't expect to find this place easily if travelling by land, but by water, it's stop 1A on the Water Taxi route and right across the New River from the Stranahan House. I went with a friend from out of town, looking for a new place for seafood--good seafood--and very casual.
What we found was a terrific, if kitchy pirate bar tucked into a hammock sharing a parking lot with a boat storage and marina. Since all we had in mind was seafood, but were in the mood for appetizers, we ordered the calamari and got both the spicy mayo and the marinara sauce--tender rings and tentacles. After that, as we were enjoying a surprisingly tasty bottle of wine, we had thefire coral shrimp, too. That was the real star--large, tender shrimp on top of a toasted round of bread with unknown combination of spices and smothered in garlic butter. Two appetizers and a bottle of wine was the perfect start to our day on the town.
Our server was energetic and helpful with ordering suggestions and food was served promptly and empty plates removed just as promptly without either of us feeling that we were in any rush.
Get over yourself if you think it's gone too far with the pirate theme. Yes, there are giant statues of pirates and skeletons and skull-and-crossbones flags all over, but come for fun, a nice location on the New River watching the boats, and seafood that compares to some of the best I've had in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluedog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good seafood and perfect location”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Tip: Use the watertaxi for transportation to and from the restaurant.
Superb location. Got i table by the pier and enjoyed a good meal of local fish and the best garlic shrips i have ever tasted.
Good service and friendly staff. (The entusiastic Brazilian guy;)
A bit expensive but worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pål K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The food was mediocre but the view and the service was great. Theme looked like pirated chest, lots of stuff hanging from walls and ceiling.

Helpful?
Thank Shary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pirate Republic Bar, Seafood & Grill also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to The Pirate Republic Bar, Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing