We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay before cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #34 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed one night using miles at this hotel. Check-in was slow, in that the rooms were not ready when we arrived in the early afternoon. The front desk provided meal coupons to my parents because of the delay, however. The rooms were pleasant with nice views of the City. The end of each hallway had a public balcony looking toward the cruise ship area, which was a nice feature (our room faced toward downtown Fort Lauderdale). Outback Steakhouse was a short walk away. If I took another cruise out of Fort Lauderdale, I'd definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BertDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2011

We arrived at the Renaissance mid morning on Sunday after getting off of a 7-day cruise out of Miami. We only had a one night stay as we would be flying out of Ft. Lauderdale late in the day/early evening on Monday. We had originally wanted to stay right on the beach to give us something to do Sunday and Monday but due to pricing that was not an option. Instead we came across the Renaissance and could not have been more happy.
Like I said, we arrived mid morning and were greeted politely by the valet service. We had 3 rooms reserved so I went in to check-in for everyone and was helped by Joe (I believe the front desk manager). Joe could not have been more helpful or efficient. Check-in was a breeze and while none of our rooms were ready, he took down my cell phone # and called as soon as they were. Due to the fact we had a late flight the following day we asked if it would be possible to get a late check out which Joe made happen for us. We were very appreciative!
The room was nicely appointed and the beds were super comfortable. The hotel had a business center that allowed us to check email and checkin for our flights the following day and print boarding passes.
Our original plan was to go to Ft. Lauderdale beach Sunday afternoon but the weather was so great and the pool area at the hotel was so inviting we stayed right there. The pool area consists of a pool and hot tub and cushioned lounge chairs, clamshell shaded bed loungers and cabanas. What a way to spend out day. It was so comfortable that we just stayed there all day Monday too!
There are plenty of restaurants near by - many even within walking distance and a grocery store and walgreens across the street. My only complaints were the charge for parking - I thought $20 to park in the garage was a bit on the steep side, especially since we had 2 vehicles and I had also read online and followed up over the phone that while breakfast was not included there was coffee offered in the lobby. I have 2 huge coffee drinkers in my party so this was a little disappointing to find this was not the case but there was a Starbucks a very short walk away.
I would definitely stay at the Renaissance again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Request high floor on even side hall = Port View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Lovely place to stay with friends, family. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. The staff is welcoming and I would highly recommend this propery when traveling to Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I stayed two nights for a business conference at the Convertion Center just across the street. The airport's only minutes away but didn't hear a sound! The room was great but would have liked a mini-fridge. Bed was plush and very comfortable. Room decor seemed very new. Perfect place for woman traveler alone. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Wireless was fast and reliable, which was very important to me. Overall it's a great hotel is the perfect location for Convention Center, Port or airport travelers. Also has ample parking in adjacent parking garage. This willl be my hotel of choice for business in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SS_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We were very impressed with the front desk staff, the valet staff and the housekeeping staff. All were very friendly and accommodating. We checked in early and we were impressed that our room was ready, clean and our requests of extra pillows and extra towels were waiting. The fitness center was very clean and the pool was well maintained. The hotel is in a nice area were there were many people walking and jogging in the evening. There are several restaurants within walking distance as well as a restaurant at the hotel. We used the hotel as a break after a long drive followed by a plane trip before another trek across the state, but I could see how this would be a perfect stop prior to or after a cruise since the port is very close by. The fresh citrus water at the elevators is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candostill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

The hotel is close to the airport, however does NOT offer a free shuttle. The wireless internet did not work. The price to park is steep - twenty dollars a night! The hotel itself is clean, and service is very friendly. The hotel is close to shops, drugstores, and numerous restaurants. The hotel is obviously close to the cruise ports as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fzedlach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Our stay here was nice enough. The bed was good. The hotel seemed a bit tired in places, but overall it was alright. We stayed here for 2 nights pre-cruise.

Check-in was easy. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The bar and restaurant are a nightmare though. Avoid these two places if at all possible. Impossible to get waited on. We gave up at both locations - eventually just walking out because we couldn't get service. Both at the restaurant and bar we waited about 20-30 minutes each time.

We walked over to the restaurant next door called Bimini's. Great food. Wonderful service. HIGHLY recommend!!

The hotel is located near a Ross, so if you forget something for your trip, that's convenient. The Walgreens and Starbucks are across the street which was fantastic.

Other than that, the hotel is just okay. Nice enough, but I think for what we spent, we'll pick another hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#37 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,187 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#57 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £137 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port hotel near Port Everglades is perfectly situated in the heart of Fort Lauderdale’s vibrant 17th Street cruise district. We are located at the entrance to Port Everglades and the Broward County Convention Center, 5 minutes from Fort Lauderdale Beach, downtown Fort Lauderdale and Las Olas Blvd. Hop on the Water Taxi, we’re steps from the stop. If arriving by plane, we’re only 10 minutes from Fort Lauderdale International Airport and while renting a car is easy, the Sun Trolley is a unique way to get around. Our renovated lobby, restaurants, and guest rooms provide a contemporary coastal feel. Relax under swaying palm trees, catch a nap in a pool-side cabana, or sip cocktails under the Fort Lauderdale sun. Whether starting or ending the day, our culinary team will awaken your senses. Sip locally roasted coffee at Calusa Coffee Bar, treat yourself to a locally-inspired meal at Bistro 17, or enjoy craft cocktails and local beers at R Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing