We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Staten Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel!”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at the Renaissance for 2 nights in late April.

The hotel was nice, really nice lounge area(s), the pool area is small but wasn't crowded so it didn't matter. Sleep quality was great. I took a nap after we arrived. I NEVER nap.

Location was great too. We rented a car but there was stores and places to eat very close by. There's a Walgreens across the street in case you need anything like bottled water, sunblock, etc.

We went to meet some friends (one a local the other another visitor). The local took us to the beach, bar, restaurant area. Which was just minutes away.

This was my second visit to Ft. Lauderale, the first in 1996. It's beautiful but VERY hot and humid (and we had just visited Mexico earlier that week).

I wish we could have stayed longer and done more. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AnissaSimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    440
    190
    72
    48
See reviews for
263
424
75
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Stayed here on a Friday night before a cruise. Hotel is very convenient to the cruise port and had plenty of taxis Saturday morning to take me over to the port-the entrance where you show your ID is just down the street. I ate in the restaurant for breakfast and it had a buffet (that I didn't do) and a nice a la carte menu (which I did choose from). I had delicious house-made potato chips and blue cheese dressing as a complementary snack as well as one set of 2 for 1 drinks during the Happy Hour that started at 5 pm. The staff for the most part were exceptionally pleasant and accommodating. The one exception was the lady who checked me out, who was professional, but seemed a little bothered that I wanted a new receipt (since I charged breakfast to my room) since I had received one under the door. This did not sour my experience and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubfan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I spent 10 days here on buisness large hotel but desk staff remembered my name. Service was outstanding from entire staff. Housekeeping did seem to come a bit late in the day but otherwise great spot for biz cruise or beach.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctraincntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The hotel is in a great location. My room view was the 17th st Causeway and the Atlantic Ocean. Wow. The the decor of the room was very inviting and not your typical beige walls and furniture. The office desk had everything I needed - a full docking station for my laptop, phone, DVD player...etc. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly, helpful and engaging. There hotel bar had a great decor and excellent staff. The parking was garaged or valet. I could not have asked for a better hotel. I used to live in the area and never knew the hotel wa there. I reaaly felt like a found a gem! I will stay there on all of my visits in the future!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJaimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Loved our stay. The beds were very soft. I loved how I could hook my ipod up to the tv. The temperature of the room and we took a shuttle to the ship for six dollars.
The soap was kind of smelly and the shower head needed some work but those were very minor issues.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soutahhospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shakeitsgreat
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Unbelievably great service. Fine attention detail. Although its not on the beach, I will definitely be staying here again.

The first time I stayed at this hotel, I thought the service might have been a fluke. My vehicle wouldn't fit in the garage, but the valets, front desk staff and even the hotel engineer went out of their way to ensure that I had a safe convenient place to park.

On a recent return trip to Fort Lauderdale, i decided to stay at the Renaissance again, and was blown away - apparently their staff is just on all the time. I stayed for 6 nights and by the 3rd, the valets knew my name and car - didn't event have to check my ticket. On my last night, I got into the hotel after work after everything had closed. I was famished, getting ready to order a pizza, but the guy working the bar went and made me food even though they were closed.

I am really impressed with the level of service at this hotel. Top Notch.

As an aside, this is also the first hotel I have stayed at that took the time to put their logo on the TP - sure, I've seen the logo in the ash-tray sand, but the TP! Wow.

I find it hard to believe that people would not give this hotel at least a 4-star review. I travel A LOT and stay at A LOT of these business class hotels - this is by-far one of the best hotels that bear the Renaissance brand. Sure, its not on the water, and I can imagine that if you are coming to South Florida you'd want to be on the water, and sure, parking is a bit steep, especially considering other hotels in the area do not charge for parking, but I really doubt that any of the hotels in this price range will match the level of quality service at the Renaissance.

Room Tip: Call ahead and request a room on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakeitsgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I needed to travel to Ft. Lauderdale on business and when I arrived, the clerk asked if I would like a king size bed. I answered correctly because I was given an automatic upgrade. I did not get an opportunity to use the facilities, but the room was clean and the service was outstanding. This hotel is located in an area where one can easily walk to restaurants and shopping. I would definitely stay there again. One suggestion I do have, however, is that the Marriot should begin to offer free internet service from guest rooms. The standard charge seems to be $13.00 per day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saildrmr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,770 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,258 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing