We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, can't say enough good things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saginaw, MI
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delightful, can't say enough good things”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel understands service! We were met by a bellman who handled our bags during the efficient check-in process. We headed to our room which had a lovely view of the cruise port. Because we are platinum we were offered our choice of amenities on check in and chose the wine and cheese which was delivered at our requested time of 5 pm. The young woman on the front desk was extremely welcoming, and friendly during our entire 2 day stay.

The pool area is amazing. I've stayed at a lot of hotels, but never seen the comfortable shaded round padded loungers for two that surround the pool and hot tub area. The hot tub itself was disappointing in that only one jet worked and it tended to collect leaf debris from the surrounding foliage. It needed maintenance and more frequent cleaning. The pool itself was great. Towels were readily available.

We ate both dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant and both meals were quite good. They have a breakfast buffet which includes custom omelets as well as some interesting variations of the standard scrambled eggs and potatoes ... along with breakfast meats and typical continental breakfast fare.

There is a Walgreen's drug store across the street that is handy for any last minute pre-cruise needs.

They do not provide airport transportation but cab fare is about $15. They do run a (for a fee) shuttle to the cruise port, but again, a taxi is a viable option since it is a very short ride.

We will look forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: Ask to face the cruise port if possible. It is interesting to see the ships coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janet48603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    440
    190
    72
    48
See reviews for
263
424
75
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here for 1 night (March 3rd) prior to Allure of the Seas cruise. The reception area is beautiful with friendly staff. Complimentary tea/coffee in the am and ice water in pm located beside the elevator. Exercise room was a good size. Pool is outdoors with a couple of cabanas. We were placed on a higher floor (as requested) and were facing the East so had a beautiful harbor view and saw some ships in port in the am. We had two queen size beds and it was large enough for a family of 5 (3 adults and 2 kids). Bed was super comfy and room was overall very clean. Water pressure in shower (very important for me) was also very good. We ordered room service in the morning and the food was delicious.

The hotel is 10 mins from FLL airport (less than $20 to hotel). We took the taxi to the Port the next morning and it was $16 (usually it’s around $10) due to the car in front of our taxi which the Port Security had to open their trunk to check their luggage).

There are many restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. A Walgreens is right across from the hotel (expensive) and Publix (prices are lower) is further west (another 5 mins walk).

Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank minnie55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed at property just prior to Holland America Cruise. The rooms, public spaces and pool were all fine and the hotel is located very close to cruise port and is a very inexpensive taxi ride to and from cruise port and airport. The only downside is that - unlike many less expensive hotels which offer free shuttles to and from airport and cruise port - this hotel does not and given the very short distance to both and given the rate charged for rooms - you would think they would have this service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMPB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We arrived to discover that both elevators in the overpriced garage were out of service, so we trudged down several flights of steps with our luggage. Things picked up from that point, however. The staff was sweet and thoughtful, if not efficient, throughout the hotel. It's a fairly bland building, apparently re-branded and remodeled in recent years. Rooms are basic but those facing east have nice views. Much of the business comes from the nearby cruise ships, so you get waves of mostly elderly tourists arriving at odd times, often when rooms aren't ready, and loitering all over the public areas. The hotel's restaurant is best avoided, and the concierge lounge is pretty limited as well. Shoes left in the shoe bag for the advertised free shine did not get picked up. One morning, guests showed up at the pool to discover what appeared to be a homeless woman passed out in a lounge chair, apparently a guest from a wedding the previous night who had decided to crash there, something an alert security staff would not have tolerated. There are great local restaurants nearby... we loved the Southport Raw Bar. But, as with almost anywhere in Fort Lauderdale, you really do need a car to get around.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east on the upper floors have a view of the beach in the distance and the cruise port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We wanted a two-day stop in Fort Lauderdale in order to let any lost luggage catch up with us before a very important cruise. Our room was ready on arrival, check-in was smooth and efficient, and we were soon established in a pretty nice room of 250 sq.ft or so. Our receptionist asked if we wanted a key to the minibar, we replied in the affirmative, and were surprised to find the minibar was an empty fridge with a note to call room service if we wanted it stocked.
Bar service was efficient, and the lobby level restaurant perfectly adequate. There are not many options near the hotel on a rainy, windy day, so we had dinner on-site. I can't remember what we had, other than the portions would have fed another party as well.
There is a very pleasant garden outside, with a pool and a jacuzzi, and very comfortable loungers, sun seats, an assortment of garden furniture. All high quality stuff. The piped music sounds like it's all composed by a geek with a Mac, and it's too loud, but you learn to filter it away. Anyone serious about their swimming should go elsewhere - this is strictly a spashing pool. Crawlers will break their nails against the bottom.
We genuinely liked this hotel, located virtually within walking distance from the cruise port where we were going. Walking was however not an option, security-wise. The hotel offers a shuttle service at a hideous price, which we easily halved just by having the doorman whistle up a yellow cab.

Room Tip: Our rooms were facing west, and quiet, with an uninspiring view of the parking lot. The north-facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank permorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california,usa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Hotel is situated in perfect proximity to Port of Everglades which is only a short taxi ride away. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. The staff cannot do enough for you. There are many good restaurants just a short stroll away. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabond2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My Mom and I stayed here for one night before getting onto our cruise and we would absolutely stay here again! The hotel is very nice, and the front desk staff is great. We arrived before our room was ready, and they directed us to some great local options for food and a nail salon. Our stay included the buffet breakfast - nothing spectacular, but it was good, and included in the stay made it that much better.

The rooms are very nice, and if you are on a higher floor on the east side of the hotel, you can probably see your cruise ship :) The best part is the shuttle ($6 per person fee) that will take you to your pier. It helps to put you into vacation mode even before you get onto the ship!

As for food - be sure to try the Boston/New England themed resturaunt right near the hotel! I don't recall the name but all the front desk staff had nothing but great things to say, and they were right! Being from Boston ourselves, the food and the atmosphere was a small piece of home in Ft Lauderdale!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowgirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,258 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing