We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Before or After Cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Convenient Before or After Cruise”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

In early May, I returned to the Fort Lauderdale Renaissance for a one-night, pre-cruise stay. Drawing me back was the hotel's close location to the port and the abundance of restaurants in the immediate area which made it convenient for area friends to meet us for dinner. Upon arrival I worried when I saw that one of the two hotel elevators was not working and that a line had formed in front of the one working elevator. Coming back from dinner two hours later, though, I was pleasantly surprised to find both elevators up and running and everything in fine order. Advance arrangements for the morning shuttle to the port ($6.00 per person) were quickly taken care of by the hotel parking staff. While I would not recommend this hotel as a vacation destination (some distance from the beaches and limited on-site vacation amenities), it is fine for what it is - a convenient before or after cruise hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ciscokid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty and staying with us once again! I apologize we had an issue with the elevators upon your check in. As you mentioned when issues like this occur in the hotel we work tirelessly to fix the issue immediately and I am pleased you noticed this!

We hope you will stay with us again next time you are off on a cruise!

Sincerely,
Emma S

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    427
    186
    70
    46
See reviews for
248
419
73
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is located close to the port, so obviously many of the customers will be going to or returning from cruises. Having said that, the hotel didn't seem overly busy when I was there, which was nice. Check in was fast and efficient, and the agent was ready with excellent dinner suggestions. The room was standard Marriott, which is a good thing. The Bimini Beach Bar next door was a fun option for happy hour. Didn't use the pool or the restaurant, but both seemed OK. This is an excellent option if you need to be in the port area, and is only 10 mins from the airport (no shuttle though, a cab is $15 or so).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us in Fort Lauderdale! We are happy that you received excellent service from our front desk team and your room was up the standard of other Marriott properties you have visited.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fort Lauderdale!

Sincerely,
Emma S
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent a short night here after flying into Ft. Lauderdale and driving over to Marco Island, FL, the next morning. Their customer service was excellent at the front desk, and while I was waiting for my husband to check-in I was greeted by another employee and asked if there was anything I needed. The lobby was very contemporary, almost an "Alice in Wonderland" feeling. The room was nice, we were given free breakfast buffet coupons, and were off to Marco Island. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandHopper2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I booked this room through hotels.com over the holiday weekend and was very excited to stay here based on all the positive reviews. Upon arriving I saw that hotel guests had to pay $25 a night to park their car! Needless to say, I wasn't very impressed with that fact upon arrival. Once I got to the check-in desk I told the receptionist that I was going to be paying for the room with cash and that I could give her a credit card to keep on file as requested in case of damages. (This is completely normal from most hotels). My hotel room was $264 for two night, so I handed the lady $300 cash. (Now you would assume that 300-264 would give me $36 change, but the receptionist was having a difficult time understanding that I should receive money back). At this point I was loosing my patience and just told her to give me the change upon checkout. I walked to my room to double check the credit card they put on file, to find out that the internet was $12.75 a day! Ok, now my irritation level is increasing... I pulled out my phone and looked up my credit card information, to see that the hotel had put a temp charge of $264 and $100. Now that brings us to a grand total of $664 of my money, that the hotel had taken! $300 which I willing gave them and received no change, along with $364 in charges that I NEVER ok'ed! I actually consider it fraud when someone uses your credit card information without your verbal or written consent! I actually walked back to the front desk, expressed my dissatisfaction and asked to have my money back because I was so angry at this point, I didn't want to stay at their establishment. They gave me my cash back, but it has been over a week, and they have put another temporary hold on my account for an additional $364 and the initial $100 temp charge went through! So in all reality they helped themselves to a total of $728 of my money.. (Which I am disputing with my credit card company and I canceled my card so they can make NO FURTHER charges) The crazy part of this all is... I was paying cash!! And they still charged my credit card in such excess it's baffling!! For your own sanity, DO NOT stay here or DO NOT give them your credit card!!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here! I found the Holiday Inn Express had nicer rooms, free parking, free wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Greetings,

I am terribly sorry for the issue regarding your payment.

Please contact me directly and we will get the issue resolved immediately.

Regards,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our overnight stay before our cruise. I don't think you can find a hotel closer to the cruise port. The hotel does not offer transfers to the port. You must wait for a taxi. This took about 20 minutes on a busy Sunday as there were several parties ahead of us and taxis were in short supply. The breakfast buffet did not appeal, but the items we ordered from the menu were quite good. Our room was very comfortable with fine amenities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
332 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. We stayed for three nights prior to our cruise and easily explored Ft. Lauderdale by foot from this location. We walked to great restaurants and shopping areas. The hotel is across the street from the Culinary Institute where we dined on a great meal very inexpensively.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PRSRJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the night before our cruise. We had a great room 924, with a view of the port. Nice pool, hot tub, and good shopping within walking distance. I asked about leaving my car there during our cruise, and it was cheaper to do this than to leave it at the cruise terminal. Also we took the shuttle to the cruise port. It cost 6.00 per person, one way. Coming back we took a cab and it was 10.00 for all 3. The staff were great and friendly. I will stay there again if I leave from Port Everglades again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyJO112563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi Peggy,

Thanks for staying with us and I hope you enjoyed your cruise! We look forward to seeing you on a return trip to Fort Lauderdale in the future.

All the best,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,592 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#76 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing