We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is good but trouble with transporation service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #32 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 December 2008

Hotel is good for the rate we paid $129US. Personally think $90-100US will be more reasonable. Room looks bright and clean. Beds are comfortable and nicely setup. Lobby is spacious and meets 4 star standard. Swimming pool area is clean. 10-15 mins walk to nearby shopping plaza. No Shopping malls.

We stayed one night and going onto cruise the next day. Hotel is 5 min to Port Everglade; however, due to security reason, we need transportation to take us in. The hotel will lure you into taking a shuttle that charge $7-10 per person just to take you to Port Everglade (less than 2 miles away) while you can grab a taxi that charge only $7 per cab with 4 people riding together. Even if you ask frontdesk what would be the most economical way to get to Port Everglade, they won't refer you a cab. A hotel like this shouldn't mislead you like this. Don't be tricked!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Huntingworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2008

Great Hotel in Ft Lauderdale. there two nights before the cruise. I would highly recomend for good well kept room and staff was excellent. Location ideal for the cruise. terminal entrance very close. Sight seeing boats within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank richcciy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

Booked this place thru Priceline for a 3 night pre-cruise stay.

Everything was beautiful, just like most of the others have said. The place is clean, rooms renovated and very comfortable, and the staff could't be nicer. They booked a last minute Everglades tour for me, and I was picked up right at the hotel 30 minutes later.

My best meal was at Giorgio's, an Italian place about 2 blocks West on 17th. Eat there and you'll be very pleased.

I ate once at the Italian place called Bravos, almost in the Renaissance parking lot. It was OK, but Giorgio's had much better food.

I'm off and running for the cruise ship.

RP
California

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Richie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2008

Stayed at the Renaissance for two-days before our Dec. 1st cruise. The hotel is probably the closest hotel to the port. It is very clean and the staff extremely friendly and accomodating. Ryan at the front desk learned that we were celebrating our 20th anniversary and made sure our stay was extra special. The only down-side is that there are not a lot of near-by restaurant options available. One night we ordered pizza delivered to our room (we ordered from Vitos and it was excellent) and the next night we took a cab to the Hard Rock Casino. All in all, it was a great choice for a one or two night pre-cruise stay.

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank Lu104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

This hotel rates a 5 all the way from Robert the bell hop-greeting us by Name .and joking about BCs best known export.. to the front desk staff. Check in and out was painless -no hidden charges.
The rooms are fantastic as are the public areas. The hotel has just been totally renovated and looks like new.. We highly recommend it

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yucatanLover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Stayed for one night post cruise and was very impressed with the hotel. I secured this room though Hotwire as it listed the hotel as 4 star, and I was not disappointed. My room was very comfortabe and very clean and looked/smelled brand new.

The staff was very friendly and although the pool is right on the main road, I managed to relax after a long cruise.

I had a few drinks in the lounge and something to eat and I found the pricing to be very reasonable.

I would not hesitate to stay here again when in Ft Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MILEMRKR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Had a great stay prior to our cruise. Hotel was newly renovated, very clean and the staff were extremely friendly. Room was very comfortable and the beds were great. I recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveTravel4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#56 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,855 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#38 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,167 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Address: 1617 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1720
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £131 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing