We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't pay too much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #31 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't pay too much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

This hotel was alright. Nothing special, my only problem was that I paid too much and expected way too much for what I got. Ideal place for pre-cruise, just don't pay more than 100$ per night. I paid 200$$$ total scam. small pool, lack of service, room below average. No balcony.... my fridge was broken...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mic_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FTLRenaissanceGM, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
My name is Ryan Sistare and I am the General Manager for the Renaissance Fort Lauderdale. Thank you very much for sharing your comments about a recent experience at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear about the challenges you had with the value of the price you paid. While there appears to be other comments regarding this same concern, I can assure you this is not a common theme with our property.

Last year, our hotel was ranked in the Top 20 of Renaissance Hotels in the world for Overall Guest Satisfaction and Product Quality. In addition, we have consistently been noted as an "Outstanding" property with Marriott Quality Assurance property reviews, which is the highest marks a property can achieve.

We are committed to delivering on the guest experience and again, I apologize for the inconveniences with any issues you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    420
    186
    70
    46
See reviews for
246
416
73
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We booked this hotel on a bidding website for 3 nights prior to taking a cruise out of Port Everglades. Check in was a breeze and we were handed our room keys within minutes of our arrival. We had a lovely room overlooking the 17th street bridge and cruise terminal. The location is ideal for dining, restaurants and shopping. We had breakfast all three mornings at Einstein's bagels which serves a variety of various types of bagels. We ate dinner at Bimini Boatyard one evening and Bravo's Italian Restaurant the second night, both across the parking lot from the Renaissance. There is a Walgreen's across the street to pick up last minute items for a cruise and also a Publix and Winn-Dixie supermarket just a few short blocks away. We took the South Beach water shuttle from the Pier just down the street that goes to Miami for the day and had a nice narrated tour through the inter-coastal waterway. There were no issues with the front desk area as we were pleased with the service and our room. We would definitely go back to the Renaissance if we cruise out of Fort Lauderdale in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talcott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

For years, we have stayed at the Embassy Suites before cruises out of Fort Lauderdale. This year, we chose to make a switch to the Renaissance as the nightly rate was about $100 less than the Embassy. The Renaissance is a little further down SE 17th Street and, therefore, closer to Port Everglade. As our cab pulled up, we were greeted by a very efficient bellman, Sam, who, in addition to being very helpful with the baggage, was a wealth of information about the area. The lobby of the Renaissance is attractive and quiet. In fact, the whole property was recently renovated and it has an attractive, somewhat Art Deco atmosphere. Also, there is a continuous supply of coffee or water with citrus in it next to the elevators. Our room was comfortable and nicely appointed with two double beds with retro-looking headboards, a desk and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was perhaps a little smaller than average, but I felt that the Aveda bath products made up for it. From our room, we had a magnificent view of the drawbridge and and all the ships in port. The pool is lovely and surrounded by attractive wicker lounges. Sadly, it was too chilly to swim. The adjacent exercise room has a good variety of equipment for guests. The Renaissance is a few steps from a lovely French bakery and the Bimini Boatyard where we had an excellent fish dinner. There is also a Walgreen's across the street. Pizza, Starbuck's, Office Depot and a liquor store are all within a two block walk. The hotel's breakfast buffet was excellent. There were eggs, scalloped potatoes, oatmeal, fresh fruits, pastries and omelets to order. The orange juice was freshly squeezed. After breakfast, we walked over to see the ships and continued walking about a mile to Fort Lauderdale Beach. (We took the bus back to the Renaissance and it stopped nearly in front of the hotel.) Although there is no complimentary cruise shuttle to the port, the Renaissance will make arrangements for transfers for you. A young lady in the lobby asked us if we needed this service, but we had made our own arrangements. Overall, the Renaissance is a lovely property and the staff were very kind and helpful. We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed here one night pre cruise and were very happy with hotel and location. Not far from the beach, only about a mile or so. There were all kind of shops on the street to pick up last minute stuff for our cruise (i.e. Walgreens right across the street and also CVS up the street but not in walking distance). The hotel was very clean and the staff was outstanding with anything that we needed. They had on-site parking but it was a fee for that we took the Valet for $20 or $25 and everytime we wanted the car they had it ready for us. Also they didn't have any transportation from the airport but we had a rental car anyway. Easy location from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincinnatiElmoe663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed here the night before our cruise, booked thru one of those online make your own bid sites.

Check in was a breeze and very helpful. Room was a little small but suited our needs. The bed was a dream and very much needed after a long day of travel from Seattle. The bathrooms have been renovated but still more is needed, it is showing it's age.

Noise from the hallways can be heard very easily from your room.

Location is very good, Wallgreens is right across the street, Starbucks close by as well as a Publix and total Wine store.

We didn't eat here, we enjoyed a deli for breakfast that was just two blocks away and much cheaper.

We chose to take a taxi to the pier, cost was $12 and we were at the furthest away terminal. The offer a shuttle to the pier at $5 pp.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie_Bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

My son (aged 22) and I stayed two nights at the Renaissance Hotel in FLL prior to our Oasis of the Seas cruise. We initially had a one night stay booked through a name your own price site, ($119 total w/ taxes); at the last minute we heard there would be snow in our area so we booked another night through another site (at an employee rate) no where near as good as the first rate. I'll leave it at that.

There was no problem checking in early on Thursday, nor was there a problem with combining the two reservations so that we didn't have to move rooms. I should mention that both reservations were prepaid; they did ask for my credit card for incidentals, and ended up having me come down again to give it to charge us for the daily internet charge. My opinion is in 2010 wifi access should simply be "free". Enough of the charging for this.

We headed up to the room with the help of a bellman. After checking out the room for maybe five minutes, we headed straight back to ask for another. This room reeked of hotel carpet deodorizer; it was overwhelming. You will smell this carpet deodorizer throughout the hallways as well, although not as strong! For those of you who like fresh air, the windows in this hotel do not open.

The next room we were given was fine. The room --on the fifth floor -- had two queen beds, desk, minibar, full bath, flat screen TV and was in very good condition.

We did not eat lunch or dinner at this hotel. We did, however, eat breakfast here on Saturday morning in their "BUFFET". Do not be tempted to buy the buffet -- we really did know better from a previous visit but it was POURING RAIN outside -- it is horrible. It is $16.99 per person, and not worth the money at all. Yes, they tell you that they will make you fresh eggs, which I ordered. They were ok. Big deal. The pickings are slim, the bread/roll/toast products were cold and hard. For $16.99pp it should be perfect and it isn't.

Walk exactly 1 1/2 blocks to the West and eat at Einstein's Bagel. You'll also pass a Starbucks if you are so inclined.

We did sit by the pool for an hour. It is very close to the main road and very noisy. BUT, there are lots of palm trees and the lounges are comfy. It did look to me like the pool could use a cleaning. My son made use of the Fitness Center, he said one of the ellipiticals was broken. There is a purified water cooler in the gym if anyone needs to know.

We would book the Renaissance again because of its proximity to the port, the causeway to look at the ships, and because of the variety of food options you can walk too. Also cannot beat the fact that the free trolley stops right across the street on fri, sat & sun and there is a 24-hour Walgreens across the street. They have a shuttle to pier ($5 per person), we took a cab ($12).

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank up4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
movedmainer
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

Great Hotel -- Close to everything..... close to water taxi, and several places to eat. Booked room on Priceline -- got 7 rooms for $90 each

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movedmainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#85 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing